We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveler rating
412
280
60
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
280
60
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towntuk tuknight marketfree shuttlepool areaquaint hotellanna styleclose to the airportfried ricesmall gymwat phrathe hotel offersrelaxing staythai foodloved this hotellarge roommini bar
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 766 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is good at traditional Thai style and service is as friendlt as most other Thai hotels. We were coming with 2 kids (9+13) and staying 3 nights through the weekend. Indeed being somehow misled by the photo on their web about the size of the pool which is absolutely small in all standard.

The location is in old town but hardly imagine convenient to restaurant and food stall or alike. It is good for anyone who like privacy in the old town but not recommend for family with teenager.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoTsanginHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a really great hotel, with a relaxed atmosphere and great style. The rooms are nice and spacious and the pool area charming, which makes it possible to mix sightseeing with relaxing times by the pool. The breakfast was very fresh and delicate, incredibly good coffee, with the possibility to order Thai and Western dishes. The restaurant serves good food for dinner as well, even though the restaurant is not the most lively in town. They make their own ice cream, which was very popular with the kids (and the adults),

The service was impeccable.

There are many TukTuks waiting just outside the hotel, so it is easy to get around if you do not want to walk. They might, however, try to take you around to tourist attractions that are not worth the visit, like Monkey shows (horribly sad), the "long neck" villages (felt degrading) or shopping areas outside Chiang Mai (very touristy). They are not pushy in any way, so shouldn't be a problem if you know what you want.

All in all I really recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarolineAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights over the weekend on their special package rate which included one free dinner for two plus one hours free Thai massage for two and free Internet (which incidentally worked perfectly). We were also upgraded to a poolside room which was clean and spacious.

The hotel itself is a traditional wooden Thai construction with about 24 rooms. This makes for a very cosy atmosphere with friendly and personable service. Food in the Canal Restaurant was excellent and if we had been staying longer we would probably have had more meals there. Breakfast was great too, all v fresh, if a little limited, but beautifully cooked omelettes.

Staff were always eager to help, arranging good cheap taxi service to see the elephants (and you don't have to pay for the rip off full day excursions either) and tuk-tuks into town (driven by one of their staff!).

Would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Chiang Mai.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Food great, staff fantastically helpful, and was really close to the event we needed to attend, but don't stay if you need internet connection... explanation for bad wireless connection reception was the weather was hot...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wiutyksjaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a 4 day stay at the Rim and were really impressed with all aspects of this boutique hotel. The staff were helpfull especially with answering questions and booking transport. The hotel is stylish and rustic. We loved the Lanna touches. Our room was a good size with a balcony and an impressive bathroom. I also enjoyed the breakfast with its individual menu and the best tasting eggs. The pool is really beautiful and overall a great place to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews