We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable friendly staff and beautiful hotel”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #30 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable friendly staff and beautiful hotel”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel, pretty rooms, good location (10/15 minutes walking to the center, but nice and quiet!). But the staff made our staff just absolutely perfect. Always smiling, friendly and willing to help.

The best hotel we had in Thailand!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    253
    48
    8
    3
See reviews for
136
354
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the rim for 5 nights whilst in Chiang Mai. First impressions on arrival -the hotel itself is very pretty, a very nice boutique type hotel. No problems checking in, staff were lovely and helpful and managed to carry my massive case over to our room.

The Room - On first look it looks quite stunning, a very nice room, really good size - was massive actually. Everything was clean and tidy. The only thing we didn't like, and this was our personal tastes, is the decor in the bathroom. It's been given a distressed type look, which doesn't quite fit in with the modern suite and the rest of the room. I wasn't overly keen on that look really - but that's our preferences. We had a little balcony which over looked the walkway to the pool which was nice. TV had plenty of channels with a mix of a lot of languages. We initially though the bed felt really hard when we first laid on it, but actually didn't have any problems sleeping annd were really comfy.

The Staff - All the staff we dealt with were really helpful and friendly. Can't fault them really. They answered all our questions. They booked us a table at a restaurant and organised a tuk tuk for us on a few occassions. They also helped us out when we left something at the cooking school we'd been to and organised for it to be brought back to the hotel which we were really greatful for.

Food - Breakfasts were really good. You ordered what you wanted off a menu. I don#'t eat a lot in the mornings but what I did have was really good - esp the pancakes! I get the feeling you could keep ordering more if you wanted to. I don't think there was a limit on the amoun you could order. We only had one other meal at the hotel as we prefer to go out and try diff restaurants. We had lunch on our final day and that was really nice. My boyfriend had a ham and hceese toastie which was massive and he said was really good and I had a chicken fried rice which again was very nice.

General Hotel - The hotel has been done out in a really nice decor, all the dark wood and there's lots of plants etc around and it feels very secluded, which is great given it's on quite ab usy road. We only ever heard the road noise at breakfast as that faced onto the road, but it wasn't a problem. The pool isn't massive but is nice enough for a dip and a bit of a swim to cool off. There's some nice loungers and comfy chairs round the pool to sit and chill out. Everywhere was really clean and tidy.

The Location - When we booked this hotel I'd read comments about it being a bit far away from things but we like walking round so didn't think it would be an issue for us. It took us about 20 - 25 mins to walk from hotel to the Tha Pae gate end of the city. Now on it's own that's an ok walk, but when you've been walking about all day it can seem quite a trek back at the end of the day! We ended up getting tuk tuks most nights when we went out for food as most of the foodplaces were over that side of the city/ Tuk Tuk cost around 100 thb to the Tha Pae gate wall. Less if you were going elsewhere within the city walls. To get over to the riverside area cost us about 250 thb I think.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends with the caveat that it would involve a fair bit of walking. If I returned to Chiang Mai, I personally would probably choose somewhere else as we would prefer to be a bit nearer places to eat without having to keep paying out for tuk tuks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Rim is a great place to stay when you are in Chiang Mai. Right on the edge of old town it is a jewel of tranquility and peace. The room and bathroom were spacious and the interior was luxuriously Thai. Our room was closes to the street but we did not hear any traffic and slept very well, in fact we never slept better anywhere on our four weeks trip.

The pool area is a nice place to relax and refresh after a day of sightseeing. It's not huge but enough to enjoy a break there. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

One day we rented the hotel's van for a trip to Bo Sang - the umbrella making town. The driver was very knowledgeable about manufacturing showrooms a long the way and we enjoyed the stops he suggested.

We also enjoyed massages in our room and the massage therapists were very professional. One of the best massages we had in Thailand.

All tuk tuk drivers knew the Rim (which is a great advance but just in case take a biz card of the hotel with you). It's only a 10 minute walk to the main road of Old Town and it takes about 10 to 15 min tuk tuk ride to the riverside restaurants (Riverside, The Gallery or the old tea house).

We'd definitely stay at the Rim again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

For some reason our Thai travel agent booked us into two separate hotels in this city. This was fairly close to the weekend Night Market (which btw the hotel van will transport you to, free of charge-reservation required). Anyway, it appears to consist of several private homes melded together to make an eclectic mix of Thai architecture. Rooms were comfortable with nice detailing. Restaurant was pretty decent, but, fair warning, do not have the hamburger! Many nice detail touches abound, and the staff is very helpful and friendly, free internet too! Loved the robe the hotel provided so much I purchased it. The clientele, during our stay, was also an interesting mix. However, have to say I preferred the location of Rimping Village Hotel to this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We landed early in Chiang Mai on a cool (for Thailand) December morning. Rather than start our adventures early, we decided to drop our packs off at the hotel. We were welcomed with a cool towel and a refreshing drink. I've never been to Thailand so I REALLY wanted to stay in a place that had great architecture and Rim didn't disappoint. Imagine our surprise when we could not only check in early, 9 am, but they upgraded us for free because that was the only room available! They even apologized for needing to take a couple minutes to get the room ready.

The room was clean and huge, we had a patio right off the pool and an amazing bathroom and there were delicious treats waiting for us. Our room was cleaned satisfactorily each time it was cleaned.

Rim Resort is on the rim of the old city (if you didn't get that by the name). So catching red buses and tuk-tuks weren't a problem for us. It was within walking distance to many Wats and the woman's prison (which you can get excellent foot massages at for 150 bht for 1.5 hours!). But we opted to take red buses to the night market since we walked around all day everyday when we were there. We definitely had our share of bargaining with drivers though, I think they thought we didn't mind spending more on transport since we were staying in a pricer hotel (but at $89 USD per night it was still a bargain in my mind).

Breakfast was included in out nightly rate and I was really happy with what they had to offer. Once again the warm Thai personalities came through when 1) I left my favorite sweatshirt at breakfast the first day and they still had it for me then next morning and 2) they gave us a honeymoon cake on our last breakfast with them (we didn't mention being on a honeymoon, but I guess we must have looked really happy).

Rim Resort, we will be back the next time we are in Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dainasaur84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is a very great choice for those of you on a budget but still wanting something special. The price is so reasonable and I thought it was actually better than the Rachamankha (which we also stayed at). The rooms are spacious, clean and full of local character. The bed is on the hard side but we actually slept really well on it. They have all the amenities you need for a perfect holiday. The food and service are also exceptional. The staff were even happy to let us order a special meal that was not on the menu which we enjoyed near the pool. Just one note...the pool water was pretty cold so my son was not too happy to get in but in the middle of the day it is perfect. To be honest we spent most of our time around the pool just being lazy and enjoying the nice cocktails on offer....so we didn't really do much swimming. We also used their baby sitting (though they call it baby sister) and we were very impressed. Our two year old was singing some Thai songs after several uses of one of their sitters. On my return to Chiang Mai I would gladly choose this hotel again!

Room Tip: Go for the chaba deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vs2008vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Rim. We had a second floor room with no view.
The room is decorated in dark wood, and can appear to be dark and gloomy, but is well appointed and very clean. The beds are hard, so be warned.

The staff are excellent from the moment that they met us at the airport to the second that we left.

The pool is small but very tranquil set in the middle of the courtyard of the hotel. This is a basic hotel but very comfortable. The breakfast was included for our package, and was very good, the only negative being that there tea selection was limited. The lunch and dinner menu offered a wide variety of choices server. We spoke with a couple from France who had just been walking by and stopped into the restaurant and they declared the restaurant to be the best that they had eaten at in Thailand. We happen to agree. The kitchen tends to tone down the spice for tourists, so if you like it spicy just ask. Kudos to the food and beverage manager and her staff.

Taxis and Tuk Tuks for some reason are more expensive at the hotel, walk a block away and you can usually save half the cost.

If possible take a day and go into the Mae Sen Valley, we hired a car and driver and went to the Elephant Training Center, Tiger Farm, and Orchid Farm.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#34 of 386 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Property: The Rim Resort
Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing