We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A rare piece of paradise in today's busy world!”
other travelers have booked this property
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
The Great Room at Lanna Hill House Spring salt water pool and jacuzzi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
The Great Room at Lanna Hill House
Spring salt water pool and jacuzzi
Aerial Photo of Lanna Hill House at the end of the dry season
Courtyard perfect for dining
View of the house from the lake
Terrace bedroom
The sala overlooking the Mae-on valley
View from the sala hill
The courtyard terrace
Living area including 50' TV with a large selection of satellite channels
Master Bedroom
Twin room
Oppy, our manager and chef, Oh.
Villa serviced by six uniformed staff
Welcome drinks, welcome smile
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chiang Mai

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miles R
Dunsfold
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A rare piece of paradise in today's busy world!”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed 2 weeks in this beautiful house and loved every minute! The staff made the occasion all the more memorable, lovely friendly staff who could not do more for us. The food was on another scale, some of the finest Thai food we have eaten and every meal was a different experience, sensational!
Everything was possible from massages on the veranda to sight seeing trips, all wonderful.
As golfers we played a few rounds at the near by Highlands golf course, an early round is a must if you want to avoid the mid day sun, and then back to relax around the salt water pool with a cold beer, perfect.
If you are thinking about booking, don't hesitate. one of the most relaxing holidays we have had in years......thank you to Oppy and her team!
We look forward to the next visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yohan Z
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect house for an "break from the city" vacation!”
Reviewed December 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We went with a friend and his family who has stayed at Lanna Hill house once last year. We heard great things about it prior to coming but after staying for 4 nights, the actual experience certainly exceeded our expectations.

We just love the house design and its spaciousness. It even has an attic with 2 single beds that all the kids kept going to play during the day with a great view of the lake. It has its own garden where it grows its own papaya, bananas and even chilli padi. The staff were great and very friendly and accomodating. The 2 dogs were really friendly as well and my 2 daughters (3 and 5 yeard old) were patting them frequently.

The surroundings are really nice too with a beautiful lake nearby (5-10min walk). People around the area are very friendly and it was refreshing interacting with them. It is quite a distance to the city but the whole point of staying here would be to get away from the city and get closer to nature. Weather is cool and you can smell the scent of trees in the air....very refreshing.

I could go on and on but in short, you have to basically experience it for yourself...=).

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwcyenk
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, excellent and friendly service”
Reviewed December 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

After reading through all the good reviews about this place, we decided to give this place a shot. And we were not disappointed at all.

We booked this place a few months prior to our arrival. The manager Oppy has been very helpful in arranging everything for us before and during our stay here. So everything went very smoothly during our stay here.

I will not talk about the house and the scenery since by now you would have read enough praises about them from all the previous reviews. Everything is true! What I want to write about are the little things that you may not have found out from those reviews.

Such as.....you can watch the English Premier League matches live telecast here. The satellite tv includes all BEIN channels! So grab some beer from the fridge, open up some potato crisps, sit back in the air-conditioned tv room and enjoy yourself!

Also, they have a telescope!!! I used it to look at moon craters and also manage to locate Jupiter! Since the house is remotely located, the night sky is really beautiful and clear from ambient lights. I managed to see a few shooting stars and I also spotted the chinese Tiangong space station flying across the sky with my naked eye.

Last but not least, I want to thank the staff for setting up the table outside every morning so that we can have our breakfast in the cool outdoors.

Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and look forward to staying there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. You have had a lot more luck with the telescope than we have :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RishiMarw...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect stay!”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

House - splendid
Surroundings - stunning if you love nature (water, mountains, clouds, GREEN!!)
Food - beyond compare!!!!! (really do not need to go to any restaurants!)
Staff - super nice and helpful

We were a group of 9 - 7 adults (30s - 60s), a 4 year old and a 1 year old ... we had a wonderful wonderful stay.

Thank you so much to the entire team of Lanna Hill! I will be recommending this place without any reservations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the house, the staff, the food, the surroundings
Liked least: Once in a while if you want to get to the city, its a long drive... but if you dont want to get to the city, this does not matter at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope to host you again some time in the future. LHH.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon L
1 review
“Most relaxing getaway EVER”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was one of the best holidays we have ever had and so much of it was due to this outstanding Property and the excellent seervice. Lanna Hill House was outstanding in all departments - superb food, great comfort, tranquillity, access, hospitality, local area knowledge. We stayed there over Christmas and new year and it was splendid. Every member of staff did their utmost to make our stay as luxurious as possible. If, while you are reading the house details and thinking of staying, you think ... "this is too good to be true": your wrong - it was better than we ever thought.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was unbelievably personable
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write a review. Best, LHH team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy D
Provo, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family of 7 stayed four nights at the Lanna Hill House last week. Our visit was exceptional! The house itself is immaculate and perfectly maintained. The home and decor is nostalgic and charming Thai and we felt like royalty staying in this magnificent home. The staff was so kind and helpful. From a delicious and enormous breakfast spread each morning, laundry service and a crystal clear pool with towels and loungers, to waiting up for us to return and closing up the house each night, we felt truly pampered.

Our last night at the house was my 40th birthday. We had a cooking class and dinner at the house. The food was delicious and we loved the opportunity to help cook (our request). Oppy and the staff went above and beyond any expectations and made me a delicious made-from-scratch mango cake and ice cream. They set up lanterns and candles in the garden and served cake and ice cream outdoors at twilight. Afterwards they had another surprise and prepared two huge floating lanterns and we lit them and let them go together. It was a truly magical birthday experience! Thank you Oppy!!

We would stay at Lanna Hill House again in a heartbeat!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teealx
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Moo Moo Cows”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

It's a fair challenge finding a suitable spot for vacation when you have 3 kids under the age of 4 ! Lanna Hill House turned out to be an answered prayer, we loved every minute of our time there.

One of my favourite spaces in the house is the second floor veranda overlooking the mountain ranges, lake and forests beyond. It's where I'd start my day, before the children would barge through the door and break the treasured silence. It's great for reflection, reading, or just being in the cool of the morning. At night, it's also a great hangout with the wife.

The beautiful colonial architecture complete with generous outdoor spaces aside, what I appreciated about the house was it's location - nestled among local villages and dairy farms. A daily routine before breakfast would be a scooter ride out with our boys to the nearby farms, where we've struck up a few friendships. It's such a welcome change for city folks to observe and help with that which is needed for subsistence.

Other than nearby villages and tracks, the House is also very close to a hot spring park. It's such a pleasant walk, with souvenirs to pick up, massages to be had, and feet to be soaked. The nearby mountain ranges also offer more activities and dining options. We'd be trail walking as a morning activity, passing by waterfalls and pools before getting dropped off at a local restaurant for a yummy lunch. Recently I've seen photos of a newly open elephant park, just to add to the draw.

The House itself is a great stay. Breakfasts always a great spread of all things continental, and dinners a sumptuous menu of Lanna cuisine - which we've all grown to love (we do wish dinner costs just a little less ! :p). The family room comes with state of the art AV system for when we needed a cartoony baby sitter ! The lawns and big outdoor spaces leaves plenty of room for us to roam and explore. The pool would be a regular hangout in the late afternoons.

Every staff at the House is a pleasure to engage with. Helpful with a smile that is uniquely and beautifully Thai. We can't wait to be back !

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing