We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Lanna Kingdom Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Mai
from $64.45
More Info
from $48.34
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
from $64.45
More Info
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveler rating
786
40
5
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
786
40
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr pop elephant sanctuary day tour golden triangle long neck village tree house driver mr pad thai lunch mud bath white temple hidden temple thai culture private tour doi suthep excellent tour tour company highlight of our trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 836 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

Our tour guide, Alex, was AMAZING. Right on time, spoke perfect English, intelligent, great conversation, made us feel safe, I couldn’t recommend him more.

The Sanctuary: What an amazing adventure for our honeymoon. We booked a full-day, small group tour and it was nothing short of spectacular. The Mahouts (elephant trainers) are one-of-a-kind and treat you like family (hugs on the way out).

The facility is clean and provides you with everything you could need: water, snacks, full attire (crocks, hats, top & bottoms), a towel & shower.

The Pad Thai lunch was also mouthwatering good.

The activities were hands-on. Cutting banana trees, chopping sugar cane, mud bathing with elephants and washing them down, feeding, making/giving them vitamin balls.

The elephants are cared for through a one-on-one relationship with a Mahout. They are extremely happy, playful (especially 3-year old Lanna), fed, well-respected by staff, and thoughtfully taken care of.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank MrMonticalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019 via mobile

Our itinerary consisted of: being driven up the mountain to the Doi Suthep Temple, Wat Phalad Hidden Temple and then traveling to the Lanna Kingdom Elephant Sanctuary where we also had lunch. It was a full day tour. Booking the tour was very easy and responses were prompt.
Ken, our guide, had personality plus, very informative, considerate, and so appreciated all the pictures he took of us at the elephant sanctuary. We couldn't have asked for a better
guide. Thank you for making our day special!!
We were picked up at our hotel promptly at 9 a.m. and began the slow winding drive up to the stunningly gorgeous Doi Suthep Temple. Ken was kind to ask if we wanted to take the lift up to the top or walk 304 stairs. We chose to take the lift up and walk down.
The complex was breathtaking in its beauty and was a pilgrimage destination. The city view from the mountain was picturesque.
The Wat Phalad Hidden Temple was situated in the middle of a jungle. It was almost like being in an Indiana Jones movie set.
Now on to the elephants! The sanctuary housed 5 elephants ranging in age from 2 to maybe 40 years of age. One former circus elephant had a big brand on its back..sad. We dressed in khaki tops and pants, a hat, and crocs upon arrival. We enjoyed a delicious lunch of pad thai before we interacted with the elephants.
We were able to feed the elephants bananas and be amongst them. Later, we mashed food to make a healthy protein and vitamin ball to feed them which they thoroughly enjoyed. Along with the workers and our guide, we walked to the watering hole where we got in the water and rubbed mud and bathed these gentle giants. (We were forewarned to bring extra undergarments so don't forget!)
It warmed our hearts knowing that:
These elephants are not ridden and the goal is for them to live in peace in their natural habitat.
Money was being used to rescue future elephants.
They use organic food to feel the elephants which comes from the hill tribe people
Educating the public was important to help protect these endangered elephants.
Absolutely a wonderful tour!!!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank minnesotans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

We spent a great day with guide Mei and trainee Buun visiting the White and Blue temples, the Black House, as well as the golden triangle. Mei went out of her way to make sure we had a wonderful day- even making a small detour to show us the location of the cave rescue of the soccer boys. We ended up finishing the tour an hour longer than arranged, but Mei didn't rush us, and in fact encouraged us to take our time.
We would highly recommend Mei and Lanna tours.

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank BazAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018 via mobile

We know we didn’t even mention the word ethical and rescue elephants in our review title, but that anyway comes across from other reviews and on their webpage. What was incredible is the atmosphere of pure fun that Rita, Mr. Pop (the owner) and the team created. Not mentioning the dear elephants, ranging from 3 years old to 49 (if we remember correctly). It was amazing to be next to such majestic, but gentle creatures.
The program consisted of the usual offering for these types of tours: feeding them, watching them eat/drink, posing with them, making medicine for them, bathing them, etc. Every single moment we had a gigantic smile on our face, captured through dozens of pictures that the Lanna Kingdom Elephant Sanctuary team helped to realize.
Thanks also for the great chat in the car ride back to the hotel Rita! We had a great half day with you from beginning to end!
For those who are concerned: the good treatment of the elephants seems legit here. We didn’t see any whips, hooks or anything similar to “control” the elephants’ movement.
Very-very highly recommended!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank FloopySandlet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2018 via mobile

We had a family of 7 with two kids < 10 and two adults > 65 and everyone had a memorable experience! We did the half-day morning tour which was perfect as we had an afternoon flight to catch. The guide picked us up on time at our hotel, and Mr.Pop, Alex, and the Lanna team were knowledgeable and kind. We loved meeting, feeding and bathing Baby Lanna and seeing all of the elephants roaming happy and free.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank psdboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews