We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.33*
and up
Elephant's Heaven: Half-Day Elephant Experience at Baanchang Elephant Park in...
More Info
$71.03*
and up
Elephant's Friend Day: Full-Day Elephant Experience at Baanchang Elephant Park...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Baanchang Elephant Park: Is dedicated to providing elephants with the highest quality-of-life possible.Our elephant park run by 100 % Thai Owner. Our Park completely owned and rescued 39 Elephants. The program will provide you the wonderful introductions to the lifestyle of Thai elephants including all details involved about them, also you can learn how to control and bath the elephants as if you are a Mahout. By the way, you will be able to ride elephants bareback through the hills around in our park area.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Chiang Mai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Such a unique experience and a must do if you are visiting Chiang Mai. Our guide was friendly and informative. The well being of the elephants is the top priority and they looked happy! Cant recommend this park enough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,555
    218
    44
    23
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this enough! Definitely the highlight of our trip so far. Importantly this is also a responsible, sustainable park where the welfare of the elephants is paramount. Educational, simply terrific fun and also very good value for money. The day begins with hotel pick up in an A/C minibus. The park is about 45 minutes out of Chiangmai. The guide was very knowledgable, friendly and passionate about the welfare of the elephants. As the morning went on we fed the elephants bananas and sugarcain (as well as getting hickies from a particularly friendly baby one). We then learnt basic commands and got familiar with handling and riding them. Lunch was tasty and plentiful. The elephants are very patient throughout. We then went on a ride through the jungle and gave them a bath and scrub. Overall a wonderful day with these majestic creatures. Guide and mahouts great too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jandg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Without a doubt the best day of our trip”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Baanchang was recommended by our guesthouse and we were very conscious that we wanted to visit somewhere that treated the elephants with the level of respect they deserve. We found the right place.
We were collected from our guest house and taken to the park were we got changed and started to feed the elephants. The elephants were all healthy and clearly very well looked after. All of the manhoots knew their elephants very well and obviously cared for them. Our tour leader was very honest about the stories surrounding elephant care which was refreshing.
We learnt commands for the elephants before walking them through the jungle towards the lake where we washed and played with them.
A great day for couples and family's, lunch and showers available after the experience.
There are so many elephants experiences that do not offer the level of care that baanchang do so I would encourage guests to research this properly.
The gentle giants at baanchang were beautiful, we will never forget our day with these incredible creatures. Thank you Baanchang we will never forget you.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gentle giants”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A wonderful experience to get up close with so many elephants. Then to trek on the back of such a gentle giant...Must do experience. Lunch provided as part of cost, plenty to eat and drink. Rated as our top experience while visiting Vietnam, Thailand.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing day with well treated elephants!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

During our 6 days in Chiang Mai we wanted to visit an elephant experience, but with the criteria that the elephants must be cared for very well. As animal lovers we did hours of research before choosing our experience and we finally booked with Baanchang elephant park. We were not disappointed. After being picked up from our hotel in a a/c van we drove about an hour to the park. The one day experience consisted of feeding the animals in the morning (Bananas and Sugar Cane) and then spending some time getting to know the elephants learning how to ride them and hearing a bit more about each elephant and how they came to the park. We then stopped for lunch which was also of good quality. In the afternoon we rode the elephants to a small lake where we would wash our elephant 'Genika'. This was the best experience for me. To see the elephant run into the water and enjoy it so much as we washed her it was an experience neither of us shall forget and one worth the 2400baht pp alone. Another couple of points worth mentioning are that it is clear to see the mahouts (elephant guides) greatly care for thier elephants and each had a bond with them. Also our guide Tom was very good and took any questions we had. He also took a lot of photos on his camera and posted them on the parks facebook page. We were originally sceptical as this experience is a lot cheaper than the top rated park on trip advisor but this is an experience we thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jess-Dave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing