We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic time at the elephant park”

Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.37*
and up
Elephant's Heaven: Half-Day Elephant Experience at Baanchang Elephant Park in...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Baanchang Elephant Park: Is dedicated to providing elephants with the highest quality-of-life possible.Our elephant park run by 100 % Thai Owner. Our Park completely owned and rescued 39 Elephants. The program will provide you the wonderful introductions to the lifestyle of Thai elephants including all details involved about them, also you can learn how to control and bath the elephants as if you are a Mahout. By the way, you will be able to ride elephants bareback through the hills around in our park area.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fantastic time at the elephant park”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 4 adults and 4 children. Our guide was Sumit, who was excellent. Our whole experience was fantastic; the lunch was great as were the staff. We all loved meeting, feeding and patting the elephants. We had fun learning the commands and riding the elephants (one afternoon was enough for the adults. Our guide Submit was funny, told us entertaining stories and loved his job and the elephants.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deeley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    213
    42
    22
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Elephant Day!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you are in Chiang Mai, you are undoubtedly going to do an Elephant camp. We had originally been told by friends that Patara was the way to go, but they were booked up 3 months in advance. The concierge had recommended Baanchang - and while I can't compare to Patara (besides the price $80 here vs $200 for Patara), we had a great day! We spent the morning learning about elephants, feeding them, how to ride and command them and the story behind the camp, the rescuing etc (Note: I know people feel differently about the "camps" and "rescuing" and treatment, so take everything with a grain of salt). We then had a great lunch, and got to spend the afternoon riding and bathing. They seem to do a good job, and explain why they use the tools and restraints they do, and don't do the goofy tricks (painting, etc). You don't spend all that much time riding them, but honestly, it's not the most comfortable experience! The bathing didn't seem to last all that long - that was my one let down, I had pictured swimming with them more? It is really cool to be in such close proximity to these animals, and our guide was great with taking everyone's cameras so we have a ton of pictures!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank katzarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

They answered emails promptly, gave us a comfortable ride, and spoke great English. Very good food! Free locker for valuables.

I could have done without the riding. The elephants seemed tired and like they got up and down and up and down all day. Feeding was great, as was bathing, but I was a bit uncomfortable with the riding (both in my bum and conscience). Our guide got very defensive when I simply asked how many times a day this one elephant was used for riding practice and made me feel like questions were unwelcome.

Please don't give any money to places that only use elephants for tourist purposes. This place needs tourist money to keep up the sanctuary, so your payment is more or less a donation, but lots of other places use them without regard to their welfare. Not sure if this is absolutely the best place, but I would recommend it as a good option. I think they really care about the elephants.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gaskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Baanchang Sanctuary”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the highlight of our three week Thailand adventure. The interaction with the elephants was very real and not minimized by hordes of people lined up. We had time to discuss the plight of these animals and how (and why) the sanctuary purchases the elephants. These elephants are purchased and removed from working situations (logging, farming, circus) and provided with top attention and care. The chaining of the elephants will probably cause people concern but the reality of the care for these animals demands it. One of the future sanctuary projects we were told is told procure more land and fence in areas where the elephants could roam free. We saw many elephants walking free and following their caregivers without tethers.

We found the Asian elephants very gentle with clear personalities. Some were almost comical in the ways they would interact with you. One of babies (~3 months old) would wrap its trunk around you in what felt like a gentle hug.

This adventure all ends with a trip to the pond where the elephants you're paired up with get a well deserved bath/scrub. Another good chance to see the personalities of these beautiful animals.

Highly recommend this... Go and enjoy, and know that the money you're spending will be used to bring more elephants to this sanctuary where they are protected, provided regular veterinary care, and have ample interaction with other elephants.

Helpful?
2 Thank LeeSaintJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Baanchang Elephant Park”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the best of all the elephant experiences in Chiang Mai. Forget the others! This Probably ranks as the best we have ever been on. Just the whole experience that you have, learning about the elephants, training with them, interaction with the guide & mahouts, meeting & feeding all the elephants - The trek through the jungle bareback and washing your elephant aft wards all makes for a great experience and fantastic day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing