We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, little price!”
Review of Finlay's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Finlay's Cottage
Ranked #125 of 938 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Reviewed December 23, 2012

First night we stayed in a double room upstaires. The room was very nice and spotless clean but the matress was awfull. You could feel the springs. The two next days we stayed in a twin room and the matresses were much better! Free WIFI works in the rooms as well.
Bathrooms – not attached - are very, very clean!
Breakfast you can choose from eggs, bacon and toast or muesli and yoghurt. And always fruit to go with (banana and mango) We don’t drink coffee or tea so they provided water then and would provide some juice for us the next day. And infact they did! What a service!
The lady is very friendly and Keith let us know about the sunday nightmarkets, otherwise we would have missed them and they were great!
You are staying in the center of Chiang Mai but the B&B is in a very small street so you don’t have the hustle of the city. Great location!
And for that (cheap) price you can’t wish for anything more! I surely recommend it for people on a low budget! And for anyone else who want to have a plane Thai experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Applewoman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in aircon room. Very small place but plenty of showers + toilets so no waiting. Very clean, breakfast good and only 5 min walk to old city, off the main roads so quiet. Nice place, very homey. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is great.
Ratte and Keith have really done a nice job of providing a very comfortable guesthouse.
Pros
Air con works well
Garden is peaceful
Bathrooms are immaculate
Location is good
Breakfast is tasty
Cons
Bed was a bit hard (standard for se Asia)
Garden room was a bit noisy if people were having breakfast. Not a huge issue, maybe upstairs is more private?

Overall a great experience. Helped us with everything and lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Finlay's Cottage for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. Much like the other reviews say, Ratee is a great host, super friendly and helpful (she recommended a great value Thai massage in the temple grounds near the house-120 baht!) There is a very laid back vibe which is great as you are made to feel at home.

The communal areas were always kept spotless and the garden was a nice place to chat to other travellers and share tips and experiences. Luxury it is not, but for the standard of guesthouses we have stayed in on our travels it was one of the best by far.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfy, well priced, good based location in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The people in charge here are wonderful: from the breakfast, to assisting with travel plans for the day, to making calls for transportation, to simply just loaning an umbrella for the impromptu showers. There is wi-fi. The bathrooms were clean, but keep in mind they are community bathrooms; showers on the main floor. Breakfast was great, they had a bunch of pamphlets to help plan your day.

Sleep Quality is average because I'm a light sleeper and the beds are hard, and I was able to hear the kids next door.

Really felt like home when I came back after Chiang Mai adventures.

Room Tip: Downstairs will be closest to the showers and where breakfast is enjoyed. Upstairs room where I stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 5feetsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked Finlay's Cottage for 4 nights and loved our stay. The guesthouse is very well located for exploring the old city, we managed to walk pretty much everywhere we needed to. The lady - I think her name was Ratti - was lovely and kind enough to book our cooking course and white water rafting. Breakfast is included - a choice of bacon, eggs and toast or muesli and fruit. The room was absolutely lovely and shared bathroom area was always clean and available. Closely located to local night market Warorot - which is worth a visit. Nice and cheap and less touristy than the Sat and Sun markets. We left our bags there during the day we checked out as we were getting a night train and when we came back we had a couple hours to kill before our train. The owner offered us DVDs to watch and we were also offered towels for another shower before we left. The accommodation itself is good, very pretty and comfortable.
You're definitely safe here from all the horror stories you hear of accommodation in Chiang Mai becoming inhospitable if you don't book tours with them
Can't think of anything bad to say - STAY HERE =]

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parisdorcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed as a couple from june 29 to july 30

Starting from the booking of room till we checked out the response was good.this place is close to the old city ,we walked from the rail station the day we arrived(was about three km).Rathi who stays there was friendly enough to book tickets for us at a discounted price(dinner at cultural centre,bus to Pai,motor bike rent) .you will be picked from the guest house for dinner and For mini van to other places booked through Rathi.
The place is very convenient ,you got to walk few min to reach the main road which has good restaurants,there is also a veg restaurant near by.Morning breakfast was filling and good with home baked bread,eggs and fruit.
We took a room upstairs with ac which had a view of the small garden(there is a toilet upstairs which is common to three rooms,there are 4 showers down stairs).wifi,fresh towels and water is provided.
Laundry and bike rental are nearby

I would definitely recommend this place for the reasonable cost ,good service and the accessible location .

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PavithraYedendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
945 reviews
1.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 393 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#174 of 393 in Chiang Mai
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay's Cottage

Address: 4/1 Soi 4/A Thae Phae Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 938 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $13 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay's Cottage is an original Thai wooden house and is a perfect base to explore Chiang Mai. Centrally located near Tha Phae Gate in the heart of the city, all the major temples and historical sights are within easy walking distance. The Walking Street market is 5 minutes away, the Night Market 15 minutes walk away. Free breakfast and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Finlay's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing