We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Finlay's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finlay's Cottage
Ranked #113 of 865 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is great.
Ratte and Keith have really done a nice job of providing a very comfortable guesthouse.
Pros
Air con works well
Garden is peaceful
Bathrooms are immaculate
Location is good
Breakfast is tasty
Cons
Bed was a bit hard (standard for se Asia)
Garden room was a bit noisy if people were having breakfast. Not a huge issue, maybe upstairs is more private?

Overall a great experience. Helped us with everything and lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    20
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
66
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Finlay's Cottage for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. Much like the other reviews say, Ratee is a great host, super friendly and helpful (she recommended a great value Thai massage in the temple grounds near the house-120 baht!) There is a very laid back vibe which is great as you are made to feel at home.

The communal areas were always kept spotless and the garden was a nice place to chat to other travellers and share tips and experiences. Luxury it is not, but for the standard of guesthouses we have stayed in on our travels it was one of the best by far.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfy, well priced, good based location in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The people in charge here are wonderful: from the breakfast, to assisting with travel plans for the day, to making calls for transportation, to simply just loaning an umbrella for the impromptu showers. There is wi-fi. The bathrooms were clean, but keep in mind they are community bathrooms; showers on the main floor. Breakfast was great, they had a bunch of pamphlets to help plan your day.

Sleep Quality is average because I'm a light sleeper and the beds are hard, and I was able to hear the kids next door.

Really felt like home when I came back after Chiang Mai adventures.

Room Tip: Downstairs will be closest to the showers and where breakfast is enjoyed. Upstairs room where I stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5feetsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked Finlay's Cottage for 4 nights and loved our stay. The guesthouse is very well located for exploring the old city, we managed to walk pretty much everywhere we needed to. The lady - I think her name was Ratti - was lovely and kind enough to book our cooking course and white water rafting. Breakfast is included - a choice of bacon, eggs and toast or muesli and fruit. The room was absolutely lovely and shared bathroom area was always clean and available. Closely located to local night market Warorot - which is worth a visit. Nice and cheap and less touristy than the Sat and Sun markets. We left our bags there during the day we checked out as we were getting a night train and when we came back we had a couple hours to kill before our train. The owner offered us DVDs to watch and we were also offered towels for another shower before we left. The accommodation itself is good, very pretty and comfortable.
You're definitely safe here from all the horror stories you hear of accommodation in Chiang Mai becoming inhospitable if you don't book tours with them
Can't think of anything bad to say - STAY HERE =]

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisdorcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed as a couple from june 29 to july 30

Starting from the booking of room till we checked out the response was good.this place is close to the old city ,we walked from the rail station the day we arrived(was about three km).Rathi who stays there was friendly enough to book tickets for us at a discounted price(dinner at cultural centre,bus to Pai,motor bike rent) .you will be picked from the guest house for dinner and For mini van to other places booked through Rathi.
The place is very convenient ,you got to walk few min to reach the main road which has good restaurants,there is also a veg restaurant near by.Morning breakfast was filling and good with home baked bread,eggs and fruit.
We took a room upstairs with ac which had a view of the small garden(there is a toilet upstairs which is common to three rooms,there are 4 showers down stairs).wifi,fresh towels and water is provided.
Laundry and bike rental are nearby

I would definitely recommend this place for the reasonable cost ,good service and the accessible location .

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PavithraYedendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The staff was amazing. The location was decent. The owner was very helpful when we had to switch the dates of our booking. The woman who makes breakfast is just really helpful and made us the most amazing breakfasts. It's got a nice little garden where we hung out in the evenings. I only wish it had en-suite rooms as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manasis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at Finlays for 4 days and it was just lovely. The hostel has a cute little garden where we sat and had the BEST breakfast ever thanks to Rathi! We were well looked after and enjoyed our stay here very much. Location was good, 2 min walk to city gates and awesome night market. staff were helpful when recommending tours/restaurants etc. Would definitely love to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#123 of 386 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#41 of 386 in Chiang Mai
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaidee Bamboo Huts
Jaidee Bamboo Huts
#252 of 865 in Chiang Mai
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
X-Kingdom Guesthouse
X-Kingdom Guesthouse
#140 of 865 in Chiang Mai
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stay With Me Guest House
Stay With Me Guest House
#118 of 758 in Chiang Mai
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plearn Hostel
Plearn Hostel
#43 of 865 in Chiang Mai
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay's Cottage

Property: Finlay's Cottage
Address: 4/1 Soi 4/A Thae Phae Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 865 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay's Cottage is an original Thai wooden house and is a perfect base to explore Chiang Mai. Centrally located near Tha Phae Gate in the heart of the city, all the major temples and historical sights are within easy walking distance. The Walking Street market is 5 minutes away, the Night Market 15 minutes walk away. Free breakfast and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Finlay's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing