We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Say La Guest House
Ranked #209 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing place”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place for real vacation. I can touch the peaceful local feeling among the civilize city.Especially on 3rd floor I can enjoy afternoon tea with the view of the mountain and also feel like home at the same time. Love it!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charucharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
9
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Here is the must for Chaingmai if u r a person who like antique asmosphere. U will have a real authentic local experience but the place is located at the heart of Chaingmai. U can easily walk to the nice restaurants, clubs and shopping malls. It's very convenience for me. I stayed on 3fl. and enjoy my own balcony. I love sipping beer at the balcony with the mountain view...I will come back again for sure^^
Ps; the price is very reasonable :》

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ampikadada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanSayLa, Owner at Baan Say La Guest House, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us a review.On behalf of BaanSayla staffs,we are appreciated that you gave us such a good compliment.We also glad that you liked our guesthouse.We are very welcome you to come and visit us next time:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good location.It s very convenient for shopping just 5mins walk to shopping area and a lot of restaurant near by.Especially at night you can find a lot of local food and a lot of place to hang out.The guesthouse decorated in vintage style,it feel just like home.The room is Very clean and have unique vintage style,I ve never been stay in a guest house like this before.The staff are very nice & friendly.I think it s totally worth the money.By the way,I totally love the snack corner that guesthouse provided for Free!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riko2733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location is perfect,you could find bus or tuk tuk very easily. A lot of coffee shop and restaurant nearby, The accommodation was also the best ever stayed(for the guesthouse) We stayed in a private bathroom on the 3rd floor which has a very lovely view, especially at night we always hang out at the balcony, it was such cozy. The room was amazingly clean. The housekeeper changed towel for us everyday. The staff are very helpful and friendly. They also have coffee,tea & crackers for guest which you can enjoy that all day. We definitely recommend this place!!! Perfectly for friend and couple or even single person coz you can enjoy the place, it is very comfy feel just like home

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pooky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The place is on a best spot of Nimman road where you can enjoy hip coffee shops, many kinds of restaurants, spas, shops, nightlife. The guest house is lovely and the service is friendly. The room is nice and clean but pretty small. There are rooms with private bathroom and veranda. Also, there're cheaper rooms with shared bathroom ( air-con or fan) No breakfast is included with room price. There are plenty of restuarants near the place anyway. The old city is a little bit far away. However, you can take CM local red bus and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junemitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

a little far from the center of town, but if you are looking for an artsy area away from all the typical tourists this is a great place to stay, the rooms are very clean and the accommodations are very cozy

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niloufar l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

During my recent visit to Chiang Mai, i stayed in a total of four different places and Baan Say La was my favorite. First of all, the location is great. It is located on Soi 5 right off of Nimmanhaemin road which is the most fashionable street in Chiang Mai. Its lined with coffee shops, restaurants, bars/clubs and artwork and you will rarely see a tuk tuk targeting tourists in this area as you would in the old city.

The feeling of the guesthouse is great and unique as well. I will forever remember the concrete stairs that preserve a cool temperature even while the outside is burning hot. The staff is great as they are congenial and easy to talk with.

The cons would be
1. The shared bathrooms. I didnt mind, but i had a friend that did.
2. Room size a bit small. The room size was the smallest of all places i stayed in Chiang Mai.
3. Noise from bar. The rooms located next to the bar are quite noisy as you can hear them singing. If you stay up past midnight then it's no problem.
4. No breakfast service.

I think this place is best suited for singles or possibly couples, but definitely not families.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edjjhsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Hub Hostel Chiangmai
Hub Hostel Chiangmai
#201 of 840 in Chiang Mai
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Chaiyo Hotel
Chiangmai Chaiyo Hotel
#127 of 840 in Chiang Mai
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yesterday
Yesterday
#96 of 840 in Chiang Mai
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gerard Habitat
Gerard Habitat
#391 of 747 in Chiang Mai
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa 2511
Casa 2511
#479 of 747 in Chiang Mai
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
B2 Premier @ Nimman 13
B2 Premier @ Nimman 13
#424 of 747 in Chiang Mai
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Say La Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Say La Guest House

Property: Baan Say La Guest House
Address: 4-4/1, Soi 5, Nimmanhaemin Rd., Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Say La Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BaanSayla Guesthouse,a unique colonial style guesthouse which located in the best spot of Nimmanhaemin road (the hip street of Chiangmai) where a lot of chic cafes and restaurants are within a walking distance .Once you step into our guesthouse,we will turn you back in time as the guesthouse decorated in retro style.BaanSayla is also proundly present our balcony where you can relax and enjoy the panorama view of the beautiful mountain called Doi Suthep,especailly at night,it is such a very romantic place,guarantee by many couple had come and proposed here!!!.At BaanSayla,we will make you feel like you are at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Baan Say La Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing