We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good price, witty name (plus bug spray!)”
Review of Thais That Bind

Thais That Bind
Ranked #485 of 2,102 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, witty name (plus bug spray!)”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I saw the reviews for this place and wanted to try it, but my friend thought I just picked it based on the witty name. After much convincing, she let us try this place.
The food was delicious and fresh, like everything else we tried in chiang mai.
But the highlight - we forgot to put on bug spray and were having some bug issues, and the owner or manager came over and brought us some bug spray to get through the meal.
Summary: Witty name, delicious food. Similar to what we had in our other thai restos in Chiang mai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoy great food after your visit to wat chedi luang”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I first visited the restaurant after ring caught out by heavy rain on a visit to wat chedi luang. The staff were really friendly and I was surprised to find such good food at a central location beside the most visited sight in the old city. The laab moo was really well-prepared and the garlic black pepper pork left me wanting to order more but regretfully there is only so much food one person can take. I will have to save my stomach for my next visit to Chiang mai. Definitely worth a visit to Thais that bind.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toffeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“I'm bound to return”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is an unassuming little restaurant just near the two wonderful wats: Wat Chedi Luang and Wat Phan Tao. I can honestly say I had the best khao soi and mango sticky rice I had anywhere in northern Thailand, and at much lower prices than some places. The service was cheerful and friendly, too - exactly what we were looking for. No pretentious westernisation, just good honest simple food, beautifully presented and delivered. Recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spopey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nice Khao Soi Moo”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to try a curry dish, and this was a great place to do so, I really like
liked it. We also got a salad (average) and my wife got s pad Thai, which read good, but bit the best one out there (we ordered non spicy and no fish sauce)

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Have the Kao Soi ”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a Sunday night when the Ratchadamneon Rd night market was in full spin.

The service was excellent- something other places in Chiang Mai just didn't have.

Had a mango fruit shake, and the Chiang Mai noodle curry- Kao Soi. So delicious and fresh!

Wish I had discovered this place earlier, rather than on my last night here.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thais That Bind also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Thais That Bind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing