We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feed the Animals!”
Review of Chiang Mai Zoo

Chiang Mai Zoo
Ranked #44 of 249 things to do in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Chaing Mai Zoo is a great attraction for all ages. Located at the base of the mountains, the zoo offers a picturesque landscape and a variety of animals to see.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Feed the Animals!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Zoos can be a mixture of wonder and sadness. To see some beautiful creatures close up and yet others in captivity whilst realising that breeding programs, like for the Pandas at Chiang Mai Zoo sustain an otherwise endangered species. What I would say about Chiang Mai Zoo is that it has one major redeeming feature - the opportunity to feed the animals. I have not been to a Zoo where for less than $1 you can feed leopards, jaguars, elephants, emus (bananas!), stingrays (very creepy) and hippos!!! I have never been so close to a huge hippos chomping mouth before!!! For this reason alone I am giving the Zoo 4 out of 5.
The acquarium is not a patch on the one in Shanghai. The monorail is the slowest form of transport I have ever been on, even a horse draw cart would be faster. And parts of the zoo are in a phase of rebuilding or state of disrepair. We used the visit as a bit of a more relaxed, slow paced thing to do in between more high octane activities, and it was a good day, because as I said before, you can feed the animals.
Tip: we avoided the weekend and so there weren't a lot of people around and so we had no queues or delays and could walk straight up to every opportunity to... pay 10-20 baht to feed the animals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ptk_from_dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    828
    508
    258
    240
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Zoo!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I am amazed at people's expectations! This is a really nice zoo. We spent six hours there with our three kids ages 12/8/5 in January. It has one of the coolest bird walk thrus ever with flocks of purple and red parrots flying over while golden pheasants and hornbills feast on fruit. We parked it near the feeding station and watched rainbows of birds fly within feet of us. The zoo is in really good shape for 100 baht/person. We also paid for the bus for the day to save our feet. The kids loved the park next to otters and our whole family played the funniest game of otter hide and seek with the adorable family. Soooo fun! Having seen zoos around the world, I would totally recommend this place for a family. 700 B for zoo including bus in zoo plus 160 B for ice cream 80 B taxi one way.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flekkefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quite boring and in bad shape”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We always try to check out the Zoo if there is one in the cities we visit. The Chiang Mai Zoo is not among the most interesting ones. The only good thing to say about it it that is cheap to enter - 100 baht pr. adult anf 50 for kids. Free for baby :-) They have to do something here if they want it to draw more tourists here. Easy access to the Zoo with Song Thaew for 60 baht from Tapae Gate.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trondav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to spend a day”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent almost a whole day here - arrived about 10.30 and left just before closing time at 5. Hadn't expected to be there that long but it was well worth while. That included visiting the aquarium, which is pretty good in its own right.

The place is very large, with a good number and range of animals and beautiful gardens. I'd have given it 5 stars, but some of the animal enclosures are still old style zoo cages and too small or otherwise unsuitable for the animals in them (worst were civets in tiny cages and a sad, solitary otter in an enclosure with dirty water). However, it's obvious that the zoo has been making and continues to make improvements - we saw a number of older enclosures which were empty and closed and there is building work going on. Most of the animals are housed in settings pretty comparable to Western zoos already, and the place has the space to continue the process.

The real highlight for us (visiting with children aged 9, 12 and 13) was the zoo's relaxed attitude to encounters with the animals. For small fees it was possible to feed a number of different animals. We hand fed elephants (including babies much younger than you'd be even allowed to see in an Australian zoo), giraffes, sting rays and penguins; threw vegetables to a rhino and fed meat (on a long pole, through the wire of their enclosure) to leopards and a jaguar. We had a huge macaw sit on our shoulders and got to feed that too. It was a terrific experience.

The place is not crowded and we had a good, cheap meal at one of a number of small restaurants scattered around the zoo.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge Zoo with lots to see!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Thailand for 3 weeks and visited multiple cities. It was our last not in Chiang Mai, after a 3day trekking trip. We were deciding what to do and since we both love animals the zoo was inevitable. I love Chiang Mai! I'd love to go back there one day. You can feed certain animals, ride elephants, and etc. There is even an aquarium for an extra fee but worth it. The zoos back home cost more than this zoo and don't offer as much. One tip when visiting here, bring comfortable shoes and a camera with an empty memory card!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Zoo also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Chiang Mai Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing