We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Amazing”
Review of BaanBooLOo Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BaanBooLOo Village
Ranked #8 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the BaanBooLOo Guest House for 4 nights as part of our Thailand Honeymoon in November. We truly loved the culture and atmosphere of Chiang Mai and BaanBooLOo was the perfect accomodation to meet our needs. The grounds are stunning and all of the rooms are unique in their own way. I loved our "living room", which was an open air deck with a bookself, hammock and other lounge pieces in the midst of the gardens. You don't feel like you are at a "hotel", you feel like you are home. And while the grounds and rooms are beautiful, it is the people who work at this guest house (Adisak, Ohn, Rhin - spelling may be wrong - sorry!) that truly make it feel like home. On our last day in Chiang Mai, Rhin taught me and another female guest how to do a traditional Thai dance. He dressed us in traditional Thai clothing and even did our hair. We then performed this dance before dinner for all the other house guests. This same night, we had an amazing feast, prepared by the staff, and lit lanterns (since we and some others were just missing the big lantern festival). The whole experience was beautiful. If we ever have the pleasure of returing to Chiang Mai, rest assured we will be staying at the BaanBooLOo!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambenson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 401 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at Baan Boo Loo for four nights in late October. We were allocated the Poh - Lieng Room, which in our opinion was absolutely stunning, beautiful wooden pillars, teak furnishings and carvings and our own private balcony. The balcony was probably my favourite feature as it looked out over the other traditional buildings and from the hammock you could hear the quiet goings on of the surrounding houses and temples. I can't honestly remember it being noisy at all, it struck me at the time just how lovely and peaceful the place was and after a hectic year of work it was just what we needed. From the balcony you could sit and watch the chickens potter about the gardens and admire all the beautiful orchids growing.
The team were so friendly and helpful, making recommendations from where to get the best massages to tracking down the local delicacy Khao Soy (highly recommend giving this dish a try when you're in Chiang Mai).
Another great aspect of this guesthouse is the fact that it is in the old city and walking distance from the Sunday Walking Markets and lots of other attractions.
Baan Boo Loo might not be for everyone as it is a traditional style rustic guesthouse, but for us it was the perfect way to start our holiday, we felt like we were in another world, and we will hopefully have the chance to return one day with family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seeberger1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed at Baan Booloo guest house for 3 nights in November. I loved it as it is a traditional Thai place to stay which is what I wanted. It is not like an international 5 star hotel, but that is what I liked as with so many of these 'chain' hotels you could be anywhere in the world. There are different villas to stay in. I stayed in the Sticky Rice Villa for 2 nights and the Rice Barn for 1 night. It is a very comfortable place to stay and immaculately clean. However, you need to understand that it also has a rustic feel. For instance you can hear squirrels scrabbling about and there is a rooster that gives a 5 am alarm call. Best thing to do is take ear plugs, just in case. This is something that I do wherever I go! The grounds are beautiful and the staff very polite and welcoming. They picked me up from the airport and the owner gave me a lift back. It is also well located, being near many temples and the amazing night market is a 5-10 min walk away. I was travelling alone and always felt safe. I was in Chiang Mai to volunteer for a week at the Elephant Nature Park (do go, at least for the day, it is an amazing place) and the staff phoned the office to arrange for them to collect me from the guesthouse.
This is a great place to stay, although it is not cheap. However, it I felt it was worth it and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

You will love the atmosphere the moment you step into the compound. There is a cosy familial village feel to the place. All the rooms are all built in the That traditional style, and the room ( Baan Khao) we stayed in was previously a rice barn which had been transported here from the paddy field and rebuilt for guests to enjoy the experience. There are cats and chickens just roaming freely and you will wake up every morning to the sound of roosters crowing. Actually an over eager roster started crowing at around 4am yesterday morning, but that is the charm of escaping from city living and experiencing the simple life.

Baan Boo Loo is an oasis of calm and tranquility that helped us totally relax for a couple of days. It was a fantastic experience for us to enjoy living in a traditional Thai house instead of a regular hotel. We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday and the staff made this day very special. We had initially arranged for a birthday cake to enjoy after dinner last night, but the staff had other plans. When we came back after a day of trekking at Doi Inathanon, we found a drawn bathtub filled with rose petals .. What a pleasant surprise! We then had some wine and a cooked dinner with my favourite green curry chicken....All complimentary and on the house!

I would like to thank K. Orn for arranging our tours and also the birthday dinner; and K. Veera, our driver who, despite some language differences, made our day especially fun by being his warm jovial self and taking good care of us.

I would definitely recommend Baan Boo Loo and will be staying here again when I am next back in Chiang Mai

Room Tip: Baan Boo Loo has no air-conditioning and is probably the closest experience to actual village living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bolahboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had four days here. Just fantastic. The owners Adi and Orn make this place special. We felt like part of the family. The location is perfect. 1 minute walk from the most important Wats and Temples. In the centre of the old city.The accommodation is true to traditional Thailand - something that Adi has spent time thinking carefully about. He cares and it shows. Although traditional it has all the luxuries of a five star hotel. We had outside bath and shower , comfy beds, two perfect sala to sit and read on. Breakfast was superb, simple, and prepared fresh from their herb garden. Trips were arranged for us using local knowledge - Doi Suthep, Elephant trekking, spa days. All perfect. Indeed when the taxi for Doi Suthep couldn't meet our needs Adi took us instead and gave us the guided tour. You can learn about local customs, Buddhism and just spend time chilling and relaxing around the dinner table. The little details made the difference from VIP pick up at airport to the provision if mosquito spray and local restraunt recommendations. Very cheap and top quality. Just fantastic in every regard.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianandjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The treehouses at Baan Boo Loo are secluded, quiet, and beautiful. The location allowed for easy access to everything we wanted to see in Chiang Mai over a three night stay, and our host, Ohn, suggested several great places to eat and sites to see in town and the surrounding area. They arranged a day trip for us to see some of the wats in the surrounding area with the driver who picked us up from the airport at a very reasonable price, and Ohn took us to an out-of-the-way market and led us in a cooking class one night for dinner (again with a good price). For the market/class, she forwarded us all her recipes online so we didn't have to worry about keeping track as we cooked. We ate a fabulous dinner another night at the guest house prior to our departure, and the breakfasts each day were filling and delicious. Our only complaint was that we had a negative experience with a different driver (not their usual one) they helped identify for our transportation to our next stay in Sukhothai, but this was no fault of the exceptional staff at Baan Boo Loo. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved the Baan Lek room! It had a nice outdoor seating area, and the room itself could be opened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

On arrival, we were collected by the hotel staff. The staff was polite and pleasant. We received warm welcome by the staff on arrival of the guest house.
Although we stayed only for three nights, we had managed to experience most of the local culture. I specially thank the owner of the guest house to organise everything for us in order for us to visit most of the places in such short space of time.
I would definitely to visit and stay in the same guest house again. I also would recommend anyone to stay, especially one would like to taste of the local culture.
The location is also centrally located to other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hktig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 392 in Chiang Mai
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 801 in Chiang Mai
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 801 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 801 in Chiang Mai
106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amata Lanna
Amata Lanna
#13 of 801 in Chiang Mai
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo Village

Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Amphur Meuang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $158 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your BaanBooLOo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing