We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of BaanBooLOo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BaanBooLOo
Ranked #6 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a great time at Baan Boo Loo. Picked up from the airport. VERY friendly attentive service. Rooms were beautifully finished and decorated. Location was perfect. On the final evening, our 11-year old son helped to fix a traditional Thai dinner. A highlight of the Thailand trip for him!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    24
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
101
183
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Baan Boo Loo. The experience was unique (not your typical hotel), and the staff warm and welcoming. I was invited to dinner my first evening (prepared by students at the hotel's cooking school) and entertained by some traditional Thai dancing (Im not sure how often they do this; I may have just gotten lucky). Since I was travelling alone, an employee and the dancer came to sit with me for a bit so I didn't have to eat my meal all alone. The employee also generously offered to drive me to the night market since he was worried about me walking solo. The owner also helped me attend a cooking class (since her own school was booked up). So basically, warm and friendly service, relaxing atmosphere, unique accomodations, great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed there our first night in Chian Mai. The staff was super friendy to give us instructions despite arriving late in the night. The view in the mornins is amazing as this is located next to a temple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A very charming hotel. We stayed for 7 days in June/July and loved it there. Breakfast was great every morning and they were very accommodating if we needed to be up early. The room was clean and comfy. The staff was very nice and made the experience a great one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am a solo female traveler that stayed at BaanBooLoo Thai Guest house for a few nights in June. From the moment I walked in I felt so welcome--being given a beautiful fresh fruit plate, rose water, and a flower lei. I arrived early but they made arrangements for me to rest in a spare bedroom while my room was being prepared.

Orn was incredibly helpful and gracious and gave great recommendations for places to go. One evening during my stay, she invited all of the guests to have a dinner and watch traditional Thai dancing in the garden of the guesthouse. It was very gracious.

Highly recommend this oasis and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Apologies for the late review. My husband and I stayed here in December 2012 and January 2013 whilst traveling in Thailand, we stayed here for Xmas and it could not have been better. We stayed in the openair room and it was outstanding. The detail in the room and bathroom was exceptional. The staff had thought about everything, there was nothing else you could want. It was so comfortable and the breakfast everymorning was amazing. The staff cannot do enough to help you, they were brilliant. My husband and I have been lucky enough to travel quite a lot, however, this is my favourite place in the world. An oasis of calm after the frenetic pace of Bangkok, we loved it. Thank You.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been to Chiangmai several times and stayed in different hotels and guesthouses. BanBooloo is the most impressive place we ever stayed. Very nice location, just a few steps from the temple and night market. Despite of the location, we were surprised with the atmosphere of BanBooloo, like a jungle in the center of the city. The wooden houses, Lanna traditional style make BanBooloo a unique and relaxing place for holidays. The staffs are friendly, helpful and just made we feel like they are our relative.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruttachuk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 820 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rachamankha
Rachamankha
#8 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo

Property: BaanBooLOo
Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BaanBooLOo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing