We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in the heart of old Chiang Mai”
Review of BaanBooLOo Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BaanBooLOo Village
Ranked #7 of 825 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently had the pleasure to stay at BaanBooLoo. We stayed in two different rooms, firstly the Bao Sao Executive Suite and then the The Artisan Grand suite. We really loved both rooms. Both rooms have their own outdoor area, the rooms are all in traditional Lanna style so you really feel like you are staying in an authentic Thai home. I would probably suggest staying in the latter if you have a child with you because it much bigger. The ambience is very relaxed and quiet, in fact there are no TVs which added to the serenity of the whole place. BaanBooLoo is in old Chiang Rai city, within minutes to shops and conveniences. We really loved the lovely old lady in the convenience store around the corner who continuously spoke to us in Thai even though we didn't understand a word! We used the man around the corner who had a tuk-tuk and always gave us a good price. The staff at BaanBooLoo is what really adds the icing to the cake! Orn and the staff were extremely accommodating, kind and helpful. Orn answered all our questions about where to go, how much to pay, about Thai culture and so much more. Orn is a fantastic cook and she gave us the opportunity to try Thai dishes that we haven't had before, all were exquisite! She also cooked special dishes for me being vegetarian, we really looked forward to breakfast!
Orn and all the staff were extremely friendly with our 7 year old son. We felt comfortable leaving him to run around the place chatting to the staff. It really felt like we were staying with friends and our stay at BaanBooLoo has made our trip to Chiang Mai all the more enjoyable for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 410 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

These guest houses are beautiful and BaanBooLoo was a wonderful experience all around!! The breakfast is so delicious and everything is tailored to your preferences. The details of the common space and the guest houses are so beautiful and they doing a great job of preserving traditional Thai culture.

We arrived late at night (11 pm) and Adi came and picked us up and then offered to pick up some food since he thought we might be hungry. We had some delicious street food and went to bed content after a long long trip.

Adi, the owner, is awesome and he helps you plan what sites to see and what restaurants to go to, and gives great recommendations. He has a garden started and tries to use renewable/low impact resources when possible (rainwater, garden, etc).


Definitely RECOMMENDED to stay here.

Ashley from Colorado

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My friends and I were lucky enough to stay at BaanBooLoo during a 4 day break from our month long study tour of Thailand. This guesthouse is situated in the 'old city' in a lovely quiet area of Chang Mai close to restaurants, temples and the night market. The buildings are authentic and charming and furnished with lots of interesting pieces. The owner Adisak and manager Orn are amazing hosts and nothing is too much bother for them. The best part of staying at BaanBooLoo is that you are treated like 'one of the family' and included in many activities. During our stay we had great fun participating in the songkran festival along with staff, their friends and other guests. We were taken to the market to buy beautiful fresh fruit, vegetables and meat and then given a Thai cooking class by Orn which was fabulous. Special mention to Lek who is such a lovely person and Louis who provided many hours of entertainment. We had a great time during our stay here and would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Baan Boo Loo for three nights at the end of March 2013 and we had a wonderful experience. We stayed in two different rooms which were both charming. The Lanna style treehouses are truly traditional housing with all the comforts. The location is great and makes it easy to visit the Old Town. The hostess, on top of being charming and kind is very accomodating and a wonderful cook. You feel like you are visiting family.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is quite comfortable and has an outside bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 834Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed there in a two different rooms over the week. and fell in love with the place and the people. It's located bang in the middle of the old town, walking distance to the temples. the nearest, Wat Phro Singh being only 150m from the gate. Fab rooms - we had the blue room and the red room with the outside bath and shower. Both luxurious and air-conditioned, camoflaged by a rustic Thai exterior. You get a real sense of awe when you walk through the door for the first time. The use of reclaimed wood throughout is amazing and really natural.

The other guests (families and really polite students) all seem to fit in and over the week we stayed a few came and went however everyone relaxes into it and the communal patio area was always a great place to meet worldwide travellers.

Orn and Adisack, thank you for your wonderful hospitality, the lovely breakfasts, your advice and learning on Thai culture and for organising our expeditions. We recommend the Elephant day, expensive but a real joy to "own" your elephant for a day. They also arranged a luxury spa visit, a temple tour and a zip line experience for us. We are both in our 50's and boy did we enjoy the adreniline rush on that!

Nothing was too much trouble for them from the free airport shuttle to ordering a takeaway to be delivered. Orn even taught my wife to cook Thai resulting in a lovely farewell dinner on our last night.

We will be back to try the new rooms they were building whilst we were there. It was fascinating to see Thai construction and not a bother in the least.

Room Tip: We loved the blue room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevieblunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

They are the nicest people I have ever had the opportunity to stay with. They made us feel like we're at home, with all the same comforts, A/C, comfy beds, one-of-a-kind tradition Thai rooms, outdoor private showers and excellent coordination for local activities, tours and excursions. They booked a night stay at an elephant rescue for us that we will never forget, getting us a price that was half of what it would've cost booking it in the US beforehand. And everything is always with such a genuine smile. They can show you where the locals go. Hohn took us to a local market for snacks, excellent shopping values and a real treat few tourists get to see.

I can't recommend this place enough, please contact me with any questions as I will be happy to give you recommendations as to what to have them book for you in Chiang Mai. I've been a few times and make sure to book in advance so that I can always stay at BanBooLoo!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband & I spent 2 weeks in Thailand for our honeymoon of which 4 nights were spent at BaanBooLoo in Chiang Mai.

We opted for Baan Khao, which is converted from a traditional rice barn. It doesn't have walls in the traditional sense and it was probably the highlight of all our accommodation for the whole trip. It's almost entirely made of wood, is elevated off the ground with a seating area underneath, and the room has a gorgeous four-poster bed at its heart. The bathroom is screened off with wooden fencing but is still open at the sides and has a lovely waterfall-type shower as well as a massive bathtub. I can't really describe it in a way that does it justice but it was wonderful.

It was very private accommodation, and opening a shutter on the one wall there was gave us a view of a banana tree/bush!! Having open sides meant that we got a few visitors though - the first morning, the neighbour's 2 cats trotted through, but we also saw lizards, moths, mosquitoes, and, yes, on one occasion, a rather large spider! The bed is enclosed in a mosquito net though so none of these things bothered us, and thankfully the spider had gone by the next morning! Obviously there is no air conditioning as there are no walls, but there are fans, which was just fine. We also had use of a tennis racket-shaped electrified mosquito swatter which we recharged every day.

Hosptalitywise, we cannot thank Orn & Addi enough. Both were very friendly and approachable. Breakfast every morning was an adventure - a mix of Thai & western food. We tried new things and yet still knew we had an omelette and toast on its way in case we didn't like anything! Orn cooked a meal for us one night which she delivered to us in the little area under our room so it was very private, and the food was delicious. She arranged an elephant trip for us, as well as a trip out with her brother to some workshop/outlets which were a bit touristy but at the end of it he took us to a very remote workshop of a guy who creates amazing sculptures of elephants.

Perhaps the best thing though was that, as we were set to miss the lantern festival by a day, Orn & Addi arranged for my husband & I to let off our own Chinese lantern and they set off fireworks for us. It was just beautiful, and such a personal gesture. The next day Addi e-mailed us a photo of us. You just don't get this sort of service anywhere else.

BaanBooLoo is a very special place. It's beautiful, very Thai, and is owned & run by the friendliest people who want their guests to learn as much about Thailand & Thai culture as possible. We would go back there in a heartbeat, it was just THAT good. Try BaanBooLoo, you will love it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeafyOfNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 395 in Chiang Mai
851 reviews
3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 825 in Chiang Mai
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#5 of 825 in Chiang Mai
730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#8 of 825 in Chiang Mai
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#15 of 825 in Chiang Mai
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo Village

Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Amphur Meuang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 825 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $168 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your BaanBooLOo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing