We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't procrastenate, just book...ASAP.”
Review of BaanBooLOo Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BaanBooLOo Village
Ranked #8 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived at BaanBooLOo on 27 December 2012. We'd been looking forward to this place for so long after so much planning and research on Tripadvisor for places to stay in Chiang Mai. It's a traditional Lanna Thai house and is famed for its hospitality. We were not disappointed. This place is ridiculously good.

The moment we walk through its front gate I feel like I've stepped into something special. It's incredibly peaceful despite it's proximity to the centre of Chiang Mai (it's literally a street or two away from Wat Phra Singh).

Orn greets us with a genuinely warm smile and takes us to our house. She tells us not to worry about checking in..."just sit down and relax and we will bring you some fruit and tea". Can't argue with that.

Already I love the feel of the place. We booked into the Baan Lek house (taking the upstairs king suite for us and downstairs bunk room for the kids (7&9 years).

Like everything at BaanBooLOo, the house is peaceful. Incredibly peaceful and has a beautiful aspect across the grounds. We drop our bags in the room and by the time we make our way out on to the deck, fresh tropical fruit and icy cold fruit juice awaits us on a tray adorned with pretty flowers. All around are green trees and local bird life. I've been here five minutes and already feel relaxed and as if I've been staying here a month.

After settling in we join Adisak (the owner and designer of BaanBooLO), Lek (takes care of the organic garden project amongst other things) and Orn (easy-going manager/amazing host/world of knowledge...) in the community area where you dine and talk and drink and just admire the surrounds,and spend a good amount of time talking to Adisak about all things BaanBooLOo, the King of Thailand, Buddhism, and why the place is so important to him. They have a way of making you feel like you're the most special guest that has ever stayed here.

That evening our kids invite themselves to join a French family and Orn to learn how to cook authentic northern Thai food. That's another thing about this place - we are completely comfortable letting the kids explore and introduce themselves to other guests. It really does feel like you're one of the family, and that's the philosophy of this place. We're not guests in the traditional hotel sense. We're invited to stay with the family (the staff) and experience what life is like in a traditional Lanna house.

We could only book a couple of nights here due to availability (and we booked several months in advance). But even after we leave, Orn invites us back to join her, the staff and a few select guests for a traditional new years' eve celebration, and Adisak comes and meets us at our new hotel across town at 6.00am in the morning to drive us to Doi Sudepth so we could see the temple at sunrise and offer alms to the monks. That was another incredible experience in itself.

BaanBooLOo isn't a place to stay, it's an experience. The kind of thing you'll talk about forever after you leave. It's the place that will bring the biggest smile to you face when you look back through photos and the one spot that you'll genuinely walk away from wishing you could stay longer. A massive thanks to Adisak, Orn, Lek, and the lovely two Burmese staff (whose names I never managed to get) for making our stay one of the highlights of our five weeks in Thailand.

Room Tip: We were a family of four (7 & 9 year old girls), so we took the Baan Lek house (both floors). Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackFromMyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 401 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

It says a lot that a year after staying in BaanBooLoo I still remember it vividly and can safely rave about it.
It is a traditional Thai guesthouse. Don't think I have ever felt more at home and more at peace during my 45-day journey throughout Asia than when I stayed here. I stayed at the Bao Sao Suite. I think they consider it the Honeymoon Suite though I was alone. A lovely outdoor bathtub and shower (very private though). It is just delightful.
Adisak, the owner and Ohn the manager where the most welcoming people ever. As I was a woman alone they went to great lengths of checking up on me and when I got lost in town and called them they even came to pick me up!
Took a cooking class with Ohn that was as informative as it was fun. Nothing beat eating what we had cooked under the treehouse. It felt I was with family.
The grounds are so serene and since BaanBooLoo is located in a small street away from the main bustle, you feel like part of the neighborhood. There is a lovely Wat a few blocks away.
Truly a place worth visiting and staying for a while.

Room Tip: There is no bad room here. They are all very Zen-like and peaceful. No TV's or phones by the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewPili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon last March. It was a fantastic place to stay to get an authentic Thai experience. Adisak and Ohm were very welcoming, friendly and wanted us to have a real Thai experience. Adisak took us to a temple on our first morning and gave some food to the monks. We decided to have a cooking class with Ohm - firstly she took us to a market to get the food. The amount of different foods there is amazing and the meat market, well that's something else! We sat on a decking at the end of the garden to eat our meal and then lit a lantern up into the sky, it was very romantic. Our outdoor bathroom was great fun and overall it was a very pleasant, interesting and relaxing stay. Adisak and his family have succeeded very well in creating a lovely place for travellers to enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aust_n_Dred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a great experience it was staying at BaanBooLOo. You can read in all the reviews below how Adisak and Ohm are superb hosts, and they are - from pickup to drop off providing tips and options in conversational manner, never the hard sell.

The rooms all look great (we stayed in the Grand Balcony room) - which we where given at a heavily discounted rate as there was only two of us - they don't have modern facilities, but you should know that if you are looking to a place like this. The rooms where priviate for the most part, beds were a tad creaky. Slightly awkward. Yep.

Breakfast was provided every morning, and the mixture of Thai traditional and western was great.

If you want to treat yourself - BaanBooLOo is worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lxlxlxlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our stay at the BaanBooLoo was memorable for many reasons, but chief among them is the genuine care and help given by Adisak, Orn and their staff. This was topped of by them lighting a kite with us in the night sky to celebrate our family. It was a moment my family will never forget. We also took a cooking class with Orn and learned some Thai cooking secrets to bring home with us. Finally, the grounds of the BaanBooLoo are stunning. As an earlier reviewer noted, it is indeed an oasis in the city. Adisak has taken so much care in designing and building a place to meet his high standards. And if the guests don't like something he's done he's completely amenable to changing it as he did while we were there. A GREAT place to stay in a lovely region of Thailand.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agraziano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the charming Baan BooLoo a few weeks ago and loved it. We were warmly welcomed everyday and Ohn (sp?) and the owner Atty (sp?) were so kind and attentive. Our room and outside sitting areas were very nice and we had an outside bathroom which was fun. We felt so at home and relaxed while there. We really liked the location inside the old city walls by the main wat. It is a residential area so you can escape the mayhem of the busier areas but still just a few minute walk to the main street. If you are looking for a more authentic, personal and unique experience do not hesitate looking into this wonderful guesthouse.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kims286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

you can not describe it with words usually found in descriptions of commercial accommodation, It is perhaps not for everyone's taste to stay among ancient timbers, sleep, eat and bathe partially in the house partially in the in the most beautiful garden, it was to ours. Have you been to Jim Thompson's house in Bangkok? You can live like he did for a few days here, woken by the cocks crow in the morning, falling asleep in the gentle buzz of the garden, all in the middle of wonderful Chiang Mai. And if it would not be sweet enough, the personal care and friendship of Orn and Adisak tops it off. Do not miss it!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andras U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 392 in Chiang Mai
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 801 in Chiang Mai
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 801 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 801 in Chiang Mai
106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amata Lanna
Amata Lanna
#13 of 801 in Chiang Mai
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo Village

Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Amphur Meuang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $158 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your BaanBooLOo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing