We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable, friendly, incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of BaanBooLOo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BaanBooLOo
Ranked #10 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“comfortable, friendly, incredible”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

some friends & i traveled to chiang mai in january 2012 and we stayed at baanbooloo for a total of 9 nights. we loved it here, and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to chiang mai. it is an especially great place for groups/families but there were also couples & solo travelers staying there as well.

communication over email is with adisak, who is the very friendly and knowledgeable owner who lives in london. he was actually in chiang mai while we were there which was great. the baanbooloo website is a bit busy but all of the necessary info is on there. we stayed in the mae lieng & nong noi rooms and all 5 adults & 1 kid were comfortable. there really weren't any problems with the rooms. our non-ensuite bathroom did have some bugs but that's to be expected with a semi-open air bathroom (don't worry, lots of privacy).

all day-to-day issues are handled expertly by orn who runs baanbooloo with the help of her brother and some other fantastic people. breakfasts were great. they were quite variable (eggs/toast/fruit everyday, sometimes sticky rice, pork skewers, fried chicken, buns filled with pork) but always delicious. i think orn would be very open to ideas if you knew you wanted certain things but not others. her brother makes great cappucinos which should not be missed!

the website details all sorts of other things that baanbooloo will help you with. there are market tours, city tours, cooking classes, free airport transfers, free activity booking, and if you stay enough nights, they'll even cook a lovely thai dinner for you. these were really thoughtful touches that made our stay very special.

true, staying at baanbooloo is not cheap but overall i still think it was well worth it. oh, 2 last things. free wifi was great. there was one day where it went out but this was a network-wide thing and had nothing to do with baanbooloo itself. also, there is no pool. there is a lovely garden but if you want to sit out in a bathing suit by a pool with a frothy drink, you can walk down the street to the de lanna hotel which has day passes (including a free drink) for 200 baht.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    24
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
101
179
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in BaanBooLoo for 10 nights in Jan on a family holiday, what a great spot, we were travelling with our 16 month old baby and were understandably a bit anxious!! The gang at baanBooLoo did everything they could to make our trip as smooth as possible, we had a lovely relaxing time and cant wait to go back some day:)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorClan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My friend and I were looking for a cooking class in Chiang Mai. We both know how to cook Thai food, so we were interested in something more than just the basic lessons. ... “Mum's Secrets”
( http://www.dotcookthai.com/index.htm ) sounded exactly like what we wanted. The night before the class, we would arrive back from a trek and since we saw on the website that there is also a guest house connected with the cooking class ( http://www.baanbooloo.com/rooms.htm ), we decided to check out the place beforehand to see if we wanted to go back to the 3sis hotel ( http://www.3sisbedandbreakfast.com/Vacationlodge/lodge.html ) were we were staying and were very happy with or try “BaanBooLoo”, the guest house associated with “dotcookthai”.

We could not quite find BaanBooLoo on our map but set off anyway. We got really close to the place, but in the end did not quite manage to find it, so we stopped off at a little corner store and asked the lady there to please call BaanBooLoo for directions. We were told to wait in the shop. Somebody from BaanBooLoo was going to pick us up. It turned out be Ohn, the manager of the guesthouse and cooking instructor for Mum's Secrets. She came looking for us with her brother - on the back of his bike - in the pouring rain - and walked us to the guesthouse, where we were given a warm welcome, juice, and a tour of the place. The tree house we wanted to stay in, unfortunately, was not available, but because we really liked Ohn, the other people there, the house, and the general relaxed atmosphere, we decided to stay there anyway and booked a smaller room instead.

The evening we got back from the trek, dirty, exhausted and hungry, Ohn was there to welcome us “home”, offered drinks, and showed us to the tree house we had wanted originally. She was holding it for us after the people who had reserved it canceled. She made us a quick delicious dinner - on the house – and for dessert, we had some of her complimentary snacks and tea/coffee which are available 24 hours.

The next morning, we had some wonderful noodle soup for breakfast. Ohn will serve toast and jam on request – but why bother if you can eat her delicious food instead?! After breakfast, we set off for the market, where she showed us around and explained the types of fruit and vegetables that we would use for our all- day cooking class. The previous night, my friend and I had chosen the dishes we wanted to cook – with a little bit of input from Ohn. Apparently we had chosen two dishes that were too similar and Ohn gave us our first lesson in how to put together a proper Thai meal, one that should include all four tastes: sour, sweet, spicy, and salty.

We spent the morning cooking our lunch – both Ohn and her ex- brother-in-law(???), who is a chef in a 4 star restaurant, were helping, teaching, testing, and sharing their (and Ohn's mother's) secrets. The lunch – soup and a snack - delicious! We rested for a while before tackling dinner. The afternoon went very quickly. We were busy the whole time – very much a hands-on experience. Ohn and the brother-in-law demonstrated but then it was up to us to do the actual cooking.

Staying at BaanBooLoo the day of the cooking lesson turned out to be perfect. We had a relaxed breakfast, could freshen-up and rest in our tree house after lunch, had drinks before dinner (in between having made the preparations for dinner (all that chopping and dicing, gutting of fish, carving vegetables into flowers, birds and rabbits...) and cooking it. We finished the preparations around 5 pm and ate dinner at about 7 pm. It was all so delicious and certainly very different from the usual fare.

Different from many other cooking classes, we did have to take notes. Ohn does not have a cookbook with her recipes; however, she did email us the recipes that we made with her later on. I supposed that is because we did not simply follow recipes but cooked by tasting, adding, adjusting until the dish was perfect.

Ohn was around most of the time – chatting, asking us questions, sharing her life with us – the two days we were there felt like staying with family and friends - very easy, comfortable, and relaxed – yet at the same time, Ohn was always very professional and efficient. We especially appreciated the fact that many of the extras (snacks, coffee, tea, drinks plus some other services) were not charged for separately but rather “included” in the somewhat higher than average price for the rooms. This fact made it such a pleasure to stay there – a home away from home - and of course Ohn, who makes this place and goes far beyond what can reasonably be expected!


All of these experiences alone would get BaanBooLoo a 5 star rating, but Ohn also gave us a discount (there was a bit of noisy construction going on while we were cooking), she had her mom clean our clothes (no charge), and to top it all off, the morning of the day we were leaving on the night train to go back to Bangkok, Ohn called the ticket office for us to make the arrangements and then rode her bike to the train station (about a 20 minute ride each way !) to pick them up for us.

What an amazing and memorable experience. Thanks Ohn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uschi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Not only sleep and go as a normal hotel but the true Thai charm make me gave me a new thought of my life. How simple Thai can be? How simple this place can offer? I can just sit here all day reading my book or doing my Yoga. Their garden is my dream garden! simple and real.

It hard to believed that after 2 minutes walk out of guest house, it become city centre. A great food everywhere. To cooked with Orn is a must to do. We took some herb from their garden and get the most beautiful smell of Thai simple ingredients. I have never ever known that most Thai food came from just 5 minutes cook!

Baanbooloo staff explain to me about help local by not stock beer or an drink at their home but encourage guests to talk to local shop and buy something with them that is a growth up together community. I had talk to the old lady at the shop like my own Mom. the fact is she cannot speak any English word : ) A Thai smile hit me hard and she knew that I was stay at the wood guesthouse.

What can I say? I have just want to pack their house and take it home with me : )
I will be back here for sure Chiang mai, Thailand

Room Tip: Every room are different some suit for family some for couple. The open air room is my dream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at BaanBooLoo for 3 nights just after New Years in the Baan Lek upper room. The room was spectacular and we LOVED the open air bathroom. Breakfast was fabulous and VERY filling each morning. We were able to book a trek and city tour through the Guest House and both were fantastic. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay at BaanBooLoo while in Chiang Mai. The Sunday market is also just around the corner, so if you can, don't miss it.

Thank you BaanBooLoo for a fabulous stay and for the most beautiful, clean, and unique accommodations we had during our trip to Thailand.

Room Tip: The Baan Lek room is beautiful although it is the closest to the alley. It can get a little noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamond0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We staying here over new year 2011/12 with our 3 children and could not have been happier , the staff , especially Pi Orn were amazing and to stay in such a beautiful unique house really made us feel like we had stepped back in time and were experiencing the ''real Thailand'' of days gone by , thank you Pi Orn we will see you again one day !!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uncletravelingmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hämeenlinna, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at BaanBooLoo for 4 nights in December 2011. Our host Orn's hospitality was amazing and we really felt like home at her place. She took care of everything - trips, laundry etc. The cooking course with Orn was one of most memorable experience we have had! Worth trying! If you would like to experience something different than a big crowdy tourist hotel, this is definitively the right choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
642 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,345 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#2 of 806 in Chiang Mai
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rachamankha
Rachamankha
#8 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo

Property: BaanBooLOo
Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BaanBooLOo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing