We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day with nature...”

Maetang Elephant Park
Ranked #47 of 247 things to do in Chiang Mai
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
singapore
Level Contributor
443 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great day with nature...”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a wonderful time not just with elephants as the name of the park suggests.

Not only did we see the elephants performing, painting and playing ball, we had the opportunity to see the elephants bathing, feed them bananas, touch them, have our photographs taken with them as well as take a ride on them.

Lunch was served in the Elephant Restaurant... no elephants in the restaurant though. :)

Next we were taken on an oxen cart ride. This was pretty interesting as this was our first time on such a ride. The ox brought us to an area where we could alight and shop for traditional clothes and souvenirs. Be prepared to bargain if you do not want to pay too high a price.

After shopping, we are brought back to the village and our next adventure begins with the bamboo rafting. This was a slow ride on the river and we thoroughly enjoyed the 'back to nature' time.

A great experience indeed!

p.s. be prepared to tip though...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dynamic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    174
    84
    33
    84
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best elephant park in Thailand!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is not only an elephant park -- it's an elephant rehab. They obviously LOVE their elephants and take really food care of them. You have a TON of choices in Chiang Mai for elephant parks, but having been here three times and every time it's better!

They have a full day program where you and up to 5 other people get a private lesson on how to be an elephant trainer. I wanted to do this on my last trip, but just didn't have time. The next time I go, I'm definitely going to sign up for that program.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flagstaff928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a must do if you are planning on going to Chiang mai. It is cheaper to catch a taxi here than joining a tour. The elephant camp costs THB1500 per person and it includes an elephant show, lunch, elephant ride and oxen cart ride. I thought the it will be about a 10 minute elephant ride but it went for more than 30 minutes. Its a great experice and you get to feed the elephants.
We also tried the bamboo rafting which was another great experience. It was so peaceful and the scenary was beautiful.

Well worth it and I'll do it again!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nimstar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howrah, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A family of elephants”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Maetang Elephant Park is totally different. Touch them,smell them, fell their power and talk to them because they are friendly. Select the one you like most and give him a banana, he will be a friend for life because elephant never forget.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jake602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A day to have with elephant”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent 1 full day with elephants. From Chang Mai it took about 1h30 by car. When you arrive at the farm you feel the tranquility of this countryside. On morning we learned to get on / get in and drive the elephant. The lunch was good, and after preparing the food for elephants, we ride them bear back on the countryside (2 pers.by animal). We spent around 2h to give them food and wash them on the river. Staff members are competent and very friendly. It was an amazing and unforgetable experience. We recommend this tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irene145432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maetang Elephant Park also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Maetang Elephant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing