We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, lovely garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Free Bird Cafe

Free Bird Cafe
Ranked #7 of 98 Dessert in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Thai, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our beautiful location is on the North side of the moat that surrounds the quaint "old city" of Chiang Mai. It is a perfect place to sit, enjoy the breeze, sunlight and people watching on the main road.The interior is attractive, colorful and bright with our student's art work and long share tables to encourage customers to sit together and make new friends or private tables and a small sofa in the kids corner where there are plenty of books, toys and art supplies to keep the kids happy while parents enjoy their healthy vegetarian or vegan western or local style breakfast, lunch, smoothies or coffee and dessert.We serve many Burmese and ethnic foods that you can't get anywhere else so it is fun to try something new! We also have a fun and funky little Pre-Loved Charity Shop in the cafe where you can not only donate your old clothing, household items, books and more but purchase goods and support our charity at the same time. We have loads of English language novels, travel guides, hats, shoes, scarves, jewelry, men's and women's clothing and more. We also sell organic spirulina, triphala and natural skin care products from local vendors.Please come and check us out today! You can park cars, motorbikes and bicycles along the side of the building.
Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a nice place to relax and enjoy a healthy lunch. Beautiful garden and second hand clothes shop also on site.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Limitless77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    70
    25
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service, good cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I first visited Free Bird Cafe because I was attracted to its mission of supporting Thai Freedom House, which gives assistance to Burmese refugees.

The location is lovely, with tables and lounge chairs set up in a grassy courtyard. It's quiet and peaceful, great for working or just relaxing for awhile. The food is quite good; everything tastes fresh and has a nice flavor. And the smoothies are excellent, best I have had in Chiang Mai.

The servers are friendly, attentive, and accommodating, rounding out a quality experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaseyH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good cause”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I visited today, 8th sept. I had noodles in curry sauce (60 baht) and banana, peanut butter and chocolate smoothie (80 baht). Food tasted fine and good value considering money goes to charity.

It is outside but with cover for rain. Lots of ants everywhere but this goes with the garden environment.

There is a shop with donated items, books to read and free wi fi. Everything is vegetarian. (not sure why someone said there's the best burgers in town - there's no meat in sight)

Overall a good place to chill out, have a smoothie or coffee, quick bite to eat and catch up emails or read a book. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Friendly owner but so-so fusion food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let's be honest here. The cause is good, the garden chilled out, the owner pleasant and friendly, but the food and service are just not quite there. The Shan fusion food is salty, the curries bland, the salads lacking in imagination. Others have told me the smoothies are great but the power was off on the day we visited so I cannot comment on either the coffee or the smoothies.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Delicious food, charming off the beaten path atmosphere, and the money you spend here supports a GOOD cause! So glad I made the effort to find this place. Also, very inspiring to learn about the help this agency is providing to children. A great way to have a wonderful meal and enrich your travel experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EnviroGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Bird Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Free Bird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing