We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and relaxing place near Ping River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Ranked #118 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Amphoe Koh Sa-mui, Surat Thani, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and relaxing place near Ping River”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

It was our first time staying at Club one seven Chaingmai. We were very happy to stay over for 4 nights and had great time there. Staff are very friendly and location of this place is excellent. not far from the city and easy to get around. The sauna was good and the GYM is nice. We would come back again if we visit Chaing mai for sure. The manager also welcomed us very well with warm greeting. Thank you to all staff there.

Room Tip: room on the second floor are nicer with good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ratchatapong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    57
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
8
54
64
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I would agree with all those who have written that the staff are very personable and helpful. The manager is especially good. However, I don't have many good things to say about the B & B itself. It is overpriced for the market and what you get. It is too far from the center of the city to walk but not far enough to have any sort of country feeling. As noted previously, the rooms are extremely small and dark (my suitcase was on the floor and I had to step around it to get around the bed) and there is only one layer of wood between you and the world. I heard trucks on the outside street all night. The breakfast is okay and dinner is passable but they often did not have what was on the menu. If you didn't go out the back door of the "hotel" to the breakfast area and walked through the front, you had to go through the sauna area. Not a pleasant feeling really. The pool is really a large spa and not appealing in the least. Most damaging to me is that part of the owner group was there when I was in early February. They made no effort to speak with their guests - why are they in the hospitality business then? When I asked the manager why they didn't say hello, he stated that they wanted to be anonymous. As they stuck out like a sore thumb, they could hardly be anonymous.
Should you choose to stay here, you can get some local flavor by walking down the street to an outdoor market that occurs two or three items a week late in the day/early evening (check with staff) and at the little massage place across the street (totally legit) you will have one of the best Thai massages in your life.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFranciscoKaycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent several nights here incl. New Year's Eve. The house is a 130 year old renovated teak house with decks, on the river at a beautiful spot. The staff were friendly, efficient, service was impeccable. New Year's was wonderful. The sauna was fun tho' not as busy as others in town. The place is a short tuktuk ride from central Chiang Mai and a bit far to walk but not impossible.
The room was lovely and breakfast was excellent.

We really enjoyed this place and would come again. Met many travellers from all over.

Room Tip: Get a room with River view. Higher up is better. Some lower rooms have a bit of moldy odour from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank strider4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I made a reservation for a week and checked out after two days. Room decor is lovely, but the rooms are a bit cramped and dark. My room had a small terrace overlooking the river which was lovely during the day but too many mosquitoes in the late afternoon and evening. Staff were very, very helpful. The gym is good, but the rest of the club area is a bit messy and it was very quiet (but it was early in the week) . Main reasons I checked out early: the food is terrible. I even bought in my own fresh fruit for them to serve me at breakfast. Two sleepless nights. Old teak houses CREAK. My room was downstairs and whenever anyone moved in any of the upstairs rooms I heard them. Soundproofing between rooms is also poor - the two guys the room next door to me were having a REALLY fun time! Poor location. By the river is nice and it is quiet, but it is also far from everywhere else and taxis and tuk tuks are not ray to get. One time one of staff had to give me a lift on his motorbike.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusInNepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review, July 23, 2015
Thank you for your comments. Since you have stayed with us we are under new management and we have spent a lot of time and money upgrading our facilities. If you are ever back in Chiang Mai I would hope you would give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My partner & I stayed 4 nights & really liked it. We changed rooms after 2 nights into a beautiful private large room overlooking the river with our own terrace on river bank. Large 4 poster bed was comfortable. Staff friendly & helpful & breakfast is freshly cooked & included in the very reasonable room rate. Beautiful garden setting & pool. The sauna area is very clean & while not busy we still made friends.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smilingjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

When my husband and I booked four nights at this hotel, we didn't realize that it was "boys only." It didn't make mention of it on their website that we noticed, and they didn't mention it in their confirmation email. But when I stepped out of the cab, a female, they immediately said to the cab driver, "are you sure you're at the right hotel?" yes of course were sure. "well we are boys only. No women allowed." so after traveling for 27 hours, and waiting for 30 minutes at the airport for a taxi, we got back into the cab, and found accommodation elsewhere. Stressful, until our cab driver took us somewhere he knew. (for which I'm sure he got a cut of something). Anyways, this place is great, maybe, if you're a gay dude.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cdnslhincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review, July 23, 2015
We sincerely apologize for the confusion in your booking. Yes, we are a men's only accomodation. We have clearly marked that on our website and booking agency websites as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Earlier in the year I visited Club One Seven Phuket and liked it very much so decided to visit the Chiang Mai sister property. The staff here very very friendly and helpful and attentive. I had a minor issue with my room and this was promptly dealt with by the staff. I had one of the deluxe rooms which looked out over the Ping River which was very pleasant and there was a verandah between my room and the river which was very pleasant to sit out in. The room was of a very good standard and was well maintained. The property is located quite some distance from the old town- I quite enjoyed the walk into town on many occasions but while tuk-tuks never seemed to be located outside the property I usually just walked down to the next hotel and always got one when I wanted it. I will return here for another visit in the near future.

Room Tip: The rooms are on two levels and I picked a deluxe room on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teegeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Nordwind Hotel
Nordwind Hotel
#122 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.6 mi away
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
1.7 mi away
Karinthip Village
Karinthip Village
#178 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#80 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#112 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#45 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club One Seven Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club One Seven Chiang Mai

Property: Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Address: 385/2 Charoen Prathet Rd. | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club One Seven Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built circa 1880, Club One Seven Chiang Mai, with its peaked roof and wide veranda porches, are a perfect example of an old-fashioned Thai style teak wood house that sits in a lush tropical garden. There's a real friendly ambiance that makes guests content to just spend time relaxing around the place particularly at one of the favored spots - overlooking the serene Ping River. For those just looking to unwind, read a book and use up as little energy as possible, this is certainly a place to consider. Club One Seven is a full service facility not just a guesthouse. Additional to the guesthouse there is a gym, swimming pool with jacuzzi jets, steam room, sauna, massage salon, internet tv room and cafe. Regular monthly party events are held on the 1st, 7th, 17th and 27th of the month as well as special holidays. Club One Seven Chiang Mai, is one of the more unusual places you will find designed for the gay male community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Club One Seven Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club One Seven Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Club 1 7 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing