We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection always looks easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Ranked #118 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection always looks easy”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

C17 has the abiliaty to make each guest feel special. That each of us guests is the only guest.
This is not done in a token "have a nice day" way but as one friend would treat another.
The hotel staff are well trained and well mannered. The breakfast menue is very western in style however local dishes have been made for guests for breakfast if requested.
Everything at C17 functions effortlessly.
C17 states its a home away from home. I would state is more like visiting your overseas family.

Room Tip: go for the dearer rooms .....remember this place is also 150 years old
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shogun787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    57
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
8
54
65
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Tang and the boys were just amazing. Their service, the hotel ambience, the rustic rooms, the riverview from the cafe, the fun-filled saunas, great central location and not to mention the good food all make club one seven a must!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Club One Seven has a lovely peaceful setting behind its high walls and right next the Ping River, which is overlooked from the gym, bar terrace and guest rooms. It makes the most of its small site with a secluded shady pool area and a very well equipped gym.

The guest rooms are very historic with wood panels and four-poster beds complete with mosquito nets. However, at times you feel that the Ping River is taking over, my small terrace was protected from the raging river by a wall of sandbags. The rooms also had a slight musty/damp smell. But the room was well equipped with a fridge, safe, flat screen television, air conditioning and a small en-suite shower and toilet.

Like most places in Thailand there was plenty of staff members of staff on hand to assist confused tourists and Tang the manager, is fantastic, always available for a chat and to give excellent advice on daytrips, taxis and the local area.

A lot of money has been invested in the gym and sauna complex so the guesthouse now feels it could do with a bit of updating. Unfortunately the swimming pool was under repair during my visit in late August. A simple buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order is included in the room rate but there is no full time cook. Yet when I arrived late in the evening, Ken the assistant manager rustled up a very nice plate of egg fried rice to keep me going.

Club One Seven is about a 20-minute walk from the Chiang Mai night-market but within easy reach of by frequent and cheap red taxi trucks, it is a very good base for exploring the city and surrounding districts and above all it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are a better size and some have private riverside terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjreidLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I travelled to Chiang Mai in September 2011 for the first time with my Thai boyfriend. Having worked in the Hospitality Industry in Sydney, Australia for over 20 years I know what is expected from guests.

We stayed at Club One Seven and were totally delighted with our experience from start to finish. At check-in we were greeted by a beautiful young man, Andy. He was very helpfull and showed us to our room and through the Sauna area.

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms (#102). The room was spacious, clean and had a huge window looking out onto the Mae Ping river. This room was on ground level and had a private patio with table and chairs leading onto the river. The bathroom was big enough and also had a window (floor to ceiling) in the shower looking out onto the river. The Bed was great, so comfortable.

We visited the Sauna twice (admission is free when staying at COS) and were also very impressed by the friendly Staff and cleanliness. My boyfriend used the gym and was happy with the equipment available. I used the bar and was equally impressed with the beer.

The Breakfast provided was excellent and they served real coffee.

On our last day, Teerayuth and I were enjoying breakfast when I realised that our flight back to Bangkok was in fact departing an hour earlier than I thought (in 1 hour). In a panic I raced to reception to ask for an urgent car to airport. Andy was on the front desk and without any fuss offered to drive us. I thought Wow, how nice are these guys. We arrived at check-in in plenty of time. Now that's exceeding expectations.

I am returning to Thailand in January 2012 and because of our experience we are returning to Club One Seven, Chiang Mai.

Do yourself a favour if in Chiang Mai and have a relaxing stay at Club One Seven.

Regards,
David Humphreys.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe room. Spend a little extra and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Pretty much flawless service, a 19th century teak house, set in a serene spot by a great river on the southern edge of a bustling metropolis, is about as much as you can ask from any guesthouse or hotel. Club One Seven Chiang Mai also shares its Phuket sister establishment’s super-friendly service, attention to detail, and helpful, attentive, cute staff.

It is not a big, sophisticated, plush place, but it offers a quality of accommodation that is rare and special: a place where you feel entirely welcome, in very comfortable surroundings, where nothing seems to be too much trouble for anyone. My room – reaching up to the apex of the tiled roof four or five metres above the floor - was walled and floored in ancient, dark-stained hardwood; there was interesting old furniture and a muslin-draped four poster bed (in which I slept as well as I have anywhere at all); and all the usual stuff: minibar, TV, safe, air-con. Its most unexpected feature is a complete sauna and steam complex for men, open to the public, with a large outdoor Jacuzzi pool, capable of holding a very large crowd.

The breakfast bar is not lavish, but covers all the simple options of eggs, bacon and sausages; fruit and cereals; pancake and honey; coffee, fruit juice and tea. The delicious fresh coffee is available all day for addicts like me. The breakfast bar doubles as the bar for the whole hotel and the sauna complex for the rest of the day. There is a very modern, well equipped gym; free internet service and excellent information for visitors from the friendly reception staff.

Some will find the location a drawback, in that it’s a considerable walk to the city centre (there are tuk-tuks available, and the hotel has numbers to call), and the absence of any food service after breakfast forces one out in search of sustenance. Apart from the nearby River House (huge Thai menu, good prices; soft, live music; excellent) there’s almost nowhere to eat within walking distance. All entertainment and naughtiness are some way off.

Club One Seven Chiang Mai’s market is gay men. The sauna complex provides a considerable magnet for local people as well as guests, particularly on Fridays and Saturdays. It’s clean and well managed, and full of creative ideas for pleasant experience. The guest accommodation is separate and well secured, but has very easy access to the public areas.

The small site is blessed with two enormous, ancient trees, and the more recent occupants have planted a thoughtful and charming garden beneath them, with several water features, in one of which a well endowed faun waits expectantly. The bar terrace is on the very edge of the River Ping, with a view immediately across the water to grass and trees, though a little downstream the skyline is dominated by a hospital, a Holiday Inn and a condo block, just before the Mengrai bridge. (When I was there, the river was worryingly high, and there were some huge rainstorms; I comforted myself with the fact than the house had stood for well over a century and that 2011 was probably not going to be the year it fell into the river.)

So, it’s a great place. Not for everyone (and if you’re not male and gay, I suspect you’d feel you’d made something of a mistake), but for anyone wanting more than a bare minimum and less that 5-star opulence and extravagance, just perfect. And, in a place like this, the quality of service is distinctly superior to many places where you might spend three or four times as much.

Bed and breakfast in a de-luxe room just under 1500 Baht, or about US$45. Splendid!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I'm generally lazy when it comes to writing reviews on the internet but I had such a wonderful experience at Club One Seven that I felt I simply must write!

There are too many good things to write, but in a nutshell... It's a gorgeous teak house situated by the riverside.. It's quiet and relaxing, has a gym and a pool (although it wasn't functioning when I was there) and the staff were simply wonderful! Khun Tang and all the guys there were so helpful and friendly that it felt like a home away from home.

A big thank you to everyone there... I will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Although this exclusively gay hotel is a long way from the walled city and the gay hot-spots, it does give you a feeling of security. Small but very well maintained. The sauna attracts local people but not the money-boy types. Staff are extremely helpful. There is no street noise. Overnight guests are welcome. We only stayed for three nights and wished we had booked for ten. Plenty to see. In the night market, you have to barter for every reduction, but these people are so much nicer than the market traders of Bangkok.
We were attracted to this "guest house" as we had eaten in another establishment in the same chain (of three) in Phuket. For a gay traveller, single or couple, I would not want to stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: not on the ground floor. Quite dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peww2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.5 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#58 of 381 in Chiang Mai
154 reviews
3.6 mi away
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#114 of 381 in Chiang Mai
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#97 of 381 in Chiang Mai
335 reviews
3.2 mi away
At Pingnakorn Hotel Chiangmai
At Pingnakorn Hotel Chiangmai
#78 of 381 in Chiang Mai
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheik Istana Hotel
Sheik Istana Hotel
#89 of 381 in Chiang Mai
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club One Seven Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club One Seven Chiang Mai

Property: Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Address: 385/2 Charoen Prathet Rd. | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club One Seven Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built circa 1880, Club One Seven Chiang Mai, with its peaked roof and wide veranda porches, are a perfect example of an old-fashioned Thai style teak wood house that sits in a lush tropical garden. There's a real friendly ambiance that makes guests content to just spend time relaxing around the place particularly at one of the favored spots - overlooking the serene Ping River. For those just looking to unwind, read a book and use up as little energy as possible, this is certainly a place to consider. Club One Seven is a full service facility not just a guesthouse. Additional to the guesthouse there is a gym, swimming pool with jacuzzi jets, steam room, sauna, massage salon, internet tv room and cafe. Regular monthly party events are held on the 1st, 7th, 17th and 27th of the month as well as special holidays. Club One Seven Chiang Mai, is one of the more unusual places you will find designed for the gay male community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Club One Seven Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club One Seven Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Club 1 7 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing