We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great Italian food!”

Prego Restaurant River Front Chiang Mai
Ranked #387 of 2,069 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Thai and Italian food, good view with Ping river...
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Italian food!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I never would have found this place if not for tripadvisor and I am glad I trusted the reviews. From the outside it looks like a place I would have easily walked past. The food was as good as any you would get in Italy and everything I had was made fresh with local ingredients. This is the kind of place where you go to sit and enjoy a meal. No one rushes you and you are made to feel welcome. Located in the old part of the city in an area where there are many little restaurants and cool bars. They also have an extensive thai menu and the couple seated next to me ordered thai food and raved about it. Loved it! Thanks tripadvisor you got this one right!


Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shecky_stardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    37
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver island
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“comfort food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stumbled on this place and stopped in for a beer and ended up staying for dinner and went back again another night. The owner trained in Rome for three years and the Italian food was as good as the thai food - which was very good

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vicriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Italian/Thai good for supper with friends”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This has some of the best italian food in Chiang Mai - a place with strong competition on the food front. The Thai food is also delicious. I have been here with several different groups of friends, and all have been impressed.

It's usually pretty busy so best to come early as sometimes people will have to wait or be turned away - it's not a huge place, although they have recently expanded across the road.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pizza and thai food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My fiancé and I were riding around and found this place. She ordered pizza which was a personal size and I ordered the special that was a thai noodle dish. Both were good meals. Nothing special, but good. The guy that waited on us was very friendly and got us a patio seat and made sure to adjust the sun shade and get a fan going on us. He was attentive to our needs also. It was nice that it was off one of the more quiet side paths rather than a road.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stumbled upon this place while out for a wander. We were not sure given the name but were pleasantly surprised. We had a duck curry and a chicken khan soi. Both were really good. Bit more expensive than eating at a food stall but much cheaper than some fancy places nearby and the food was better at Prego.. We ended up eating here a few times because of the quality of the food and service. So dinner for 2 including drinks and appetizers was about $18. Would be a bit more if you order western dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank urbannomad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Restaurant River Front Chiang Mai also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Prego Restaurant River Front Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing