We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of JJ House

JJ House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
JJ House
Ranked #505 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place seemed reasonably clean. My friend and I stayed here for one night. We went to sleep around half 10 and were kept awake until about 1am by the staff being really noisy and then various drunk people coming in and out of the hotel, then the owner's dog started howling until all hours. The room was not well sound proofed at all. We got up as early as possible and checked out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
2
13
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot and don't expect much out of guesthouses. Mostly they should be reasonably clean, which this one was, but I can't stand it when the people who are being receiving money for services are rude. This is definitely the case here, especially the large, dirty, overly confrontational, smoking woman who sells bus tickets and tours.

They also "demand" that you only buy tours from them. Of course you don't have to and can buy from anyone else, but just the audacity to try that is ridiculous.

A couple of bites in the night... From what, I don't know.

And it's incredibly noisy with people talking, yelling, laughing, and partying despite a sign telling them to keep quiet at night. The staff doesn't care. A big problem is the windows can't fully close and there's zero noise insulation. Poor design too though of course.

Do yourself a favour and spend an extra hundred baht or so somewhere else.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Khhguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

At first we liked this place, fair sized room with a tiny balcony to dry our clothes and get some real light. In the night we felt different bugs crawling around on the bed and on us. We squished what we could see and tried to sleep again but they just kept coming. By 4am my girlfriend had had enough and complained and the manager? Came to look at them. She then put us in the dorm room for the rest of the morning. When we asked for a refund on our stay they said it was too late, that if we'd realised before going to bed it may have been possible but not halfway through the night. She didn't apologise for the bugs, or our lack of sleep, she just passed the buck to her absent 'boss' and said she wasn't allowed to give us our money back because he would charge her.

Bad service from a guesthouse in a very busy and popular part of town. Beware this one. If you're in the dorm it should be fine but avoid the private rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reubenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The place is badly designed and looked after, some basics like toilet paper was not always available even on request. The main problem is the noise: it is unbelievable due to the badly thought-through design (for example, room windows are facing the corridors, so one can't not to wake up when a noisy party returns form a sightseeing tour) and barking dogs - it looked like a couple of them and puppies lived in the house permanently. In the night dogs were sleeping on the same common area matraces and pillows that guests used during the day on the following day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nieszczarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This guesthouse is in a brilliant location to meet other travellers in Chiang Mai! It is very cheap at a double for 200 baht, but expect cheap when staying here. The pillows were ridiculously lump and uncomfortable to sleep on and bed very hard. Staff are friendly, fan room is fine, however in the morning it was obvious to see some flea/ant insects all over one corner of the room and the bathroom. However we informed reception so it may have been a one off and hopefully it's all cleared now. We only stayed one night however due to this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Friendly staff, and very helpful - they helped us find the best value for money elephant and trekking trip. GREAT balcony on the second floor, very chilled, outside with a roof, fans, floor cushions. We ended up coming back from nights out and drinking up there. Rooms are very basic and very small ( we were a room of 3, a double and a single, and the beds were practically pushed together with a tiny gap down the middle). All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and found the place to be basic but fine. The owner was very nice and always helpful with recommendations r.e. trips etc. We booked one day tour and transport to Chiang Rai through JJs. Rooms lacked some privacy, noise from corridors at night carried into the rooms and vice versa. There was a pleasant reading balcony and local dog fights below provided good entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.9 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ House

Property: JJ House
Address: 10 / 2 Moon Muang Soi 9, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Jj House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing