We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go if you want to buy some handcrafts or furniture”
Review of Baan Tawai Village

Baan Tawai Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.51*
and up
4-Hour Arts and Crafts Tour from Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Just about an hour outside of Chiang Mai, in Hangdong District, is Baan Tawai village, a community known for its wood sculptures. Visitors can take a look around at markets and interact with wood carvers. Crafts are available for purchase.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go if you want to buy some handcrafts or furniture”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

It's not easy to get there. I rented a red pick up for a half day. I went there with a purpose, buying owl handcrafts. So I knew where to go and what to buy. The village is huge and you definitely need a vehicle to go from one zone to another. Some zones are not within walkable distance. Things are really cheap there. I love those wood furniture but I could not buy them as I do not have a big house. :(

Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleYHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    114
    41
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
435 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Plenty of handicrafts.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Baan Tawai Village is about an hour taxi drive out of town. It was raining when I went which reduced the time I spent there, but it was still worth it. There were plenty of shops, often selling similar items, but with plenty of good quality goods, probably some costing more than in a night market. Foods and drinks were also available.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RonRSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you want to import garish Thai furniture.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I often travel through Baan Tawai (it's near my home). This is a major shopping strip for Thai 'antiques' and furniture. Quite expensive, the many, many, many shops cater to the - I guess - traveller who wants some authentic Thai furniture or 'art-house' piece and is prepared to pay for shipping. I have bought from there and haven't been disappointed, but pricey, and, look around. There are other options.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank EverythingElse2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Artifacs and knik knaks”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had lunch there when we did a cycle tour so couldnt buy too much. Good little eatery upstairs and a quiet wander around- when we buy our condo we will go there for some of the furnishings. The handcrafts are out of this world.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Leave your credit card in the hotel!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Baan Tawai artisans village is well worth spending a half day, or longer, to look around - the variety of furniture, soft furnishings, 'antiques', decorations, toys, collectibles, souvenirs and memorabilia is, seemingly, never-ending. Most of what tourists see at The Night Bazaar comes from Baan Tawai and can be bought for significantly less, subject to haggling ability.
We live in Northern Thailand so have visited here many times - completely furnishing a house with solid teak furniture on one occasion!

There are just so many things you might be tempted to buy, restricted only by what you can carry on board a plane. Even that need not restrict your buying (and spending) fever - there are many shipping agents around who will happily take care of the uplifting, packaging, freighting, shipping and delivery to your home for often surprisingly reasonable charges!

There are several 'zones' spread over a very wide area and how much of it all you want to see depends on how energetic you are. However, the main area is sufficient for most and the 'shops' and walkways are mostly covered to protect against the sun and rain. Always remember, at least for the furniture, if you don't see it - they will make it to order from a sketch or photo.
A five hundred year old Chinese cabinet? No problem!

There are also one or two good, inexpensive eateries around - we can recommend the upstairs restaurant that is plainly visible in the centre. For great coffee and homebaking, however, go accross the main road from the restaurant and follow the first alleyway to the right. Eventually you'll find the delightful cafe run by a young couple whose cakes are fantastic (banoffee pie is a personal favourite) and they also serve freshly cooked meals from a small menu which are also very good.

http://www.ban-tawai.com/

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank awayego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Tawai Village also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Baan Tawai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing