We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Adequate and Homey”
Review of Baan Nam Sai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Nam Sai Hotel
Ranked #157 of 825 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Resthouse type of place with basic airconditioned rooms inclusive of tv with cable, refrigerator and bathroom. Impressively clean inspite of its simplicity. Safety appears to be important since card keys needed at the main door prior to entry into the building where all the rooms are. Sleep not as comfortable due to thin walls and you can hear people talking outside. Staff VERY friendly and accomodating. A short walk out into the main street but since it's an inside road, walking back late at night feels leery. Locals say it's safe and it appears to be since the whole stretch of road is filled with hotels anyway. Very accessible to the local market, the thai cooking schools, restaurants, and massage salons.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 75 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2011

In Thailand, these are my criteria for a fantastic budget hotel:

1) Costs less than 500 baht per night for a double
2) A/C
3) Free Wi-Fi that works most of the time
4) Secure and safe
5) Quiet guests and neighborhood
6) Spacious
7) Bathroom with a flushing toilet, hot water/shower, mirror
8) Clean, with the room cleaned once a day
9) Supplies at least minimal toiletries
10) Walking distance to attractions, restaurants, shops
11) Fridge so I can store food without attracting ants
12) No bugs in the room
13) Friendly, flexible owners.

Finding this magical hotel is often like searching for a Sasquatch. But once in a while it happens. And it happened when we moved into Baan Nam Sai. We actually found it difficult to leave Chiang Mai after living in this little slice of paradise, since we knew it may be a while before we came across such a great deal again. Baan Nam Sai even has cable TV, in house laundry service, a restaurant, and several layers of security doors (in the evening) to add to the list of reasons to stay here. Just know this - the bed is hard. Really hard, but you'll get used it and probably won't find much softer mattresses in Thailand. Also, as with most Thai bathrooms, there is no shower curtain so your bathroom floor gets wet when you shower. But for 500 baht per night, this place is a total steal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elle13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank 木こり
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank りき丸
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: エレベーター無し。3階建。二部屋、宿泊経験有りで、広いです。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cukwi606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
Thank yasuuun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank freevisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
956 reviews
1.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 395 in Chiang Mai
693 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#385 of 825 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Nam Sai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Nam Sai Hotel

Address: 12 Soi 5 Moonmuang Road | T. Sripoom, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 825 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Nam Sai Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Baan Nam Sai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing