We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cook until look good!"”

Gap's School of Thai Culinary Art
Ranked #58 of 91 Food & Drink in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed December 23, 2016 via mobile

This was an amazing way to get to know the secrets of the thai cuisine. We made a short trip to the market and went straight to the cooking school from there. Everyone had a stove, wok and ready prepared ingredients to make 6-8 dishes. 4 were for lunch and the other ones for take away dinner. We had curries, soup, stir fry, fish cake and many more. You get a cookbook and with this you'll work. You'll also get explained what you can use as substitutes for stuff you don't get at home.
One thing is made clear - cooking has to be experienced. Your dish is done when it looks and smells good - no time indicator!
It works! "Cook until look good!" A great day in a lovely semi-open-air kitchen

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Caffeineaddictontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Lots of thai classics cooked and definitely more food than one could eat including take home

Instruction was educational and entertaining

The kitchen/instructor wasn't really setup for gluten free, which both of us were but did their best to accommodate. Many of the dishes had been prepped with soy sauce which was a problem. Did their best to accommodate.

Definitely learned thai classic dishes which was great.

A tad pricey at 900 baht per person

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

We had a very good time with Jo, the Thai chef :)

WHAT WE LIKED
- Jo is very friendly and funny
- He explained us well the Thai cuisine: ingredients, how to mix them and technics.
- We cooked 8 dishes. 5 for the lunch and 3 for the dinner. They were all very different: deep fried, curry, soup, sauce, stir fried, cooked with steam, sweat, sour, spicy and salty.
- He focused the teaching on the interesting part: the technics. Everything was already cut so we did not spend ages cutting all ingredients.
- In the morning the chef took us to the market and we could ask him some explanations about unknown food.
- Very good English (previously lived in Australia)
- Good value!

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Matthieu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

What a great way to spend a day! The teacher is good, easy to follow his instructions. Location is nice and we had a small group of only 7 people. We got to eat everything we made for lunch and after that we made some more to take home for dinner. You get a cookbook at the beginning so you can write down your own notes and try again when back home.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Nardje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

Jo, our chef, was fun. He took us to the market where he showed us some ingredients. Back to the house, he made us taste some and taught us how to cut them for thai food. Don't worry about not finding some ingredients un your country, he will give you some alternatives. We cooked our lunch AND diner and we also had a recipe book. I also liked the fact that we were a small group (4). I only wished we could have practiced more but considering all the cutting involved for one dish, it would have taken ages!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Nicolas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gap's School of Thai Culinary Art also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Gap's School of Thai Culinary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing