We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pottery”
Review of Baan Celadon

Baan Celadon
Ranked #33 of 131 Shopping in Chiang Mai
Attraction details
South West France
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful pottery”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited Celadon as part of our day visiting the artisan area East of Chiang Mai.
First we visited the worshops to see the prep and decoration of various items, the detail and intricate painted designs were fabulous, the guide gave us lots of detail.
We then went to the showroom filled with everything from 'moulded' items from a few baht to pinted and gold leaf decorated large items at thousands of baht.
The problem was that we wanted to buy so much, it's really fabulous stuff.
The staff were excellent in showing us around, we were even given a very refreshing glass of iced lemongrass tea
Highly recommended, combine it with the silk, umbrella and silver artisan places on the same road

Helpful?
4 Thank Bricodust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pottery made here by local artists”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

You will find something special here to remind you of your Thailand experience . More than the trinkets you find at the night markets- truly art. I purchased pottery with elephants on them and had them shipped home so I would not have to carry them. They handled all the details and I am excited to receive them. Next time I go back- I plan to save a bit more money to buy something special. Wonderful place- clean with all the pottery displayed properly. The only negative- I would have loved to buy more!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank billanddeb34683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“For all ceramic shopping”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place was beautiful. I found it a little expensive, but was happy to pay for such good quality. The girls were very helpful and packed it up so well. I had no breakages when I got home so was really pleased. There is no bartering here but you can get the Vat refunded on your way out of the country. You do have to spend 5000bart overall but not in the one shop to get the refund.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank suzi5018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Gorgeous celadon”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were captivated by the colours and designs of the pottery here. Having fallen in love with celadon in Chiang Mai from another producer, we wanted to see what was on offer from other manufacturers. Wow - this is the best we have seen, really top-notch ceramics. The everyday pottery was gorgeous enough, with lovely greens and blues and some quite intricate patterns. But the hand-painted individual pieces - larger vases, pots and jars - were truly exquisite, with thier designs painted in a variety of pure jewel-like colours. The quality is echoed in the price, and sadly we found that our budget didn't stretch to one of these hand-painted objects, but we left happy with two lovely coffee mugs in a leaf design. Recommended as a place to shop for a special present that you don't mind spending a bit more for.

Something that really impressed us, beside the quality of the ceramics, was the calm atmosphere of the showroom, where there is no hard sell but a very friendly sales lady who helped us in our browsing, while never pushing. We ended up swapping children stories, with her taking me out the back to see pictures of her daughter. A pleasant shopping experience!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank spopey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pottery, pottery!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

They have great selections for all price ranges at the showroom. The first quality pottery are beautiful. They also have hand painted pottery. I've never seen this kind of artwork before. Would have loved to buy one. Maybe on the next trip. It worth taking a look at. Easy to find our tuk tuk got us right there.

They also have seconds in another building just need to ask. Service was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Celadon also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Baan Celadon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing