We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Market for the locals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warorot Market (Kad Luang)

Warorot Market (Kad Luang)
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.50*
and up
Private Doi Suthep Temple and Warorot Market Tour in Chiang Mai including Tak...
Ranked #23 of 247 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
singapore
Level Contributor
439 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Market for the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Although Warorot Market is for the locals, there is some discrimination in prices. If you are a tourist, the price quoted is slightly different from that quoted for the locals.

However, if you like to have a feel of the Thai market and buy some local foodstuff and fruits, then a trip to this market is a must.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank dynamic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    314
    105
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
160 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Visit to get a real Thai market feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the place where the locals shop for food and other necessities.

Besides the main building which houses the raw and cooked food stalls, the shops outside the building are also interesting to check out. You can find cheap clothes, belts, fabric etc.

We bought mangosteens, longan to eat on the spot; pork floss, cashew nuts to bring home. This is a real market, a bit dirty, you see 'organised chaos' put into practice.

From what I read the market is big, we only managed to cover a small section. We didn't visit the flower market and the row of stalls selling handicraft from the hilltribes.

Visit to get a real Thai feel which you won't be able to get in other markets.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warorot Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you are in Chiangmai, don't forget to visit Warorot Market, this is the place not included in the normal tour package. A large market which have wet and dry market. You call buy all kind of foodstuff and living goods and even clothes, and the price was cheap. It worth to have a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mylow62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“overwhelming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Much of Chiang Mai is a mishmash of indusrties alongside of each other and this market is very much the same. Meat and seafood stalls stand beside clothing stalls and beside flower stalls. There does seem to be some kind of general organisation in that the bulk of the flower stalls appear to be along the river, but as you venture further in that seems to vanish.

We only spent around 2hrs here navigating the rabbit warrens as best we could so we always knew where the main roads were, as such we didn't really even scrape the surface.

We stumbled across this market while exploring and later it was recommended to us by hotel staff as it was the place locals went to shop and you could get a good look at the real Thailand so to speak. In that it was everything it promised, even some incredible fabric shops and looking at the interesting fruits and veggies was fun too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspowerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you have one market to visit, go to Warorot during the day on a weekend. You will discover the local stuff, not the touristy market like the night market which was very disappointing according to my standards. When Ii visit a country, I want to see the local stuff, not the tourist junk. If you are adventurous enough, you can try grilled worms, crickets, grasshoppers and even something that looked like a cockroach... No worries, you can get the standard stuff as well. If you're looking for clothing, handbags and other stuff like that, go to the second floor. And the biggest surprise, the washrooms are spotless... In such a market, we were not expecting that. Actually, all washrooms we used, everywhere we went were very clean.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lau1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warorot Market (Kad Luang) also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Warorot Market (Kad Luang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing