We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine mid-range in best location”
Review of Lux Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lux Hotel
Ranked #113 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine mid-range in best location”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for several months in 2013, central location within city moat near Ta Pae gate. Some noise, as you'd expect in the heart of town, but easy to get used to. Rooms very functional,attentive staff, good value. Recommended. Parking down Nader.

For some reason the staff stopped responding to emails beginning June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    55
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
35
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can only agree with others who have said what good value this hotel is. It's bright and clean and the corridors have nice touches like decorative items on side tables and framed photos of old Chiang Mai on the walls. My room was a good size, well-furnished (including a cane sofa) and the water pressure in the bathroom was excellent; I didn't have to adjust the temperature of the shower once, which is almost unheard of. No breakfast but in this excellent location near the Thapae Gate there are numerous cheap places to eat. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I should have gotten a hint when I sent them two emails to reserve a room. When I received no reply to either message, I finally called them to reserve. First room they sent me to reeked of tobacco; I returned to the desk and the clerk very pleasantly offered me other choices. Second room did not smell bad and although the main room seemed clean, the bathroom walls, window and doors looked like they'd never been cleaned. I complained to the clerk and she very pleasantly said they'd clean. Of course, nothing improved. The toilet and sink looked clean but walls were smeared with fingerprints and a lot of stains. The air conditioner remote control was unreadable and the a/c did not seem to work correctly. Lastly, if you go here, ask for a room away from the motorcycle repair shop.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from motorcycle repair shop. Always check air-conditioning and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diannawiegner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great small friendly hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai. Inexpensive, good location, secure parking, for 700 baht per night it's hard to beat.

Tip: try to get a room at the back of the hotel, some of the soi dogs in the area get pretty vocal at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bsacbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on accident and are very happy we did. Rooms are very large and have everything you need. Air conditioning, wifi and is in a great location. Price is very reasonable. They helped us schedule a tour to go on the zip line and to the temple in the mountains.. Free coffee and crackers =) I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekguy1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great boutique hotel that's walking distance to the market, old walled city, etc...
Very clean, very new and really comfortable rooms.
Would love to stay there again!

Just walk around and visit the market for delicious cilantro enhanced sausages and other cheap but very delicious delicacies.
Also the hotel is just a short ride away from the big mall and the night market.

Very pleasant staff too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timibanzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling the world
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. Overall very nice hotel in good location. had free wifi, coffee in the morning,aircon and tv.
Problems: staff spoke very little English and there were cob webs in the shower. (Bathroom could use a good scrubbing)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
#80 of 383 in Chiang Mai
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#76 of 383 in Chiang Mai
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viangluang Resort
Viangluang Resort
#116 of 383 in Chiang Mai
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vipa House
Vipa House
#242 of 383 in Chiang Mai
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#109 of 383 in Chiang Mai
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#101 of 383 in Chiang Mai
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Hotel

Property: Lux Hotel
Address: 137/5 Moonmuang Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing