We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lux Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lux Hotel
Ranked #105 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Pattaya
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tremendous value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can only agree with others who have said what good value this hotel is. It's bright and clean and the corridors have nice touches like decorative items on side tables and framed photos of old Chiang Mai on the walls. My room was a good size, well-furnished (including a cane sofa) and the water pressure in the bathroom was excellent; I didn't have to adjust the temperature of the shower once, which is almost unheard of. No breakfast but in this excellent location near the Thapae Gate there are numerous cheap places to eat. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    54
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
35
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I should have gotten a hint when I sent them two emails to reserve a room. When I received no reply to either message, I finally called them to reserve. First room they sent me to reeked of tobacco; I returned to the desk and the clerk very pleasantly offered me other choices. Second room did not smell bad and although the main room seemed clean, the bathroom walls, window and doors looked like they'd never been cleaned. I complained to the clerk and she very pleasantly said they'd clean. Of course, nothing improved. The toilet and sink looked clean but walls were smeared with fingerprints and a lot of stains. The air conditioner remote control was unreadable and the a/c did not seem to work correctly. Lastly, if you go here, ask for a room away from the motorcycle repair shop.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from motorcycle repair shop. Always check air-conditioning and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diannawiegner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great small friendly hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai. Inexpensive, good location, secure parking, for 700 baht per night it's hard to beat.

Tip: try to get a room at the back of the hotel, some of the soi dogs in the area get pretty vocal at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bsacbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on accident and are very happy we did. Rooms are very large and have everything you need. Air conditioning, wifi and is in a great location. Price is very reasonable. They helped us schedule a tour to go on the zip line and to the temple in the mountains.. Free coffee and crackers =) I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekguy1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great boutique hotel that's walking distance to the market, old walled city, etc...
Very clean, very new and really comfortable rooms.
Would love to stay there again!

Just walk around and visit the market for delicious cilantro enhanced sausages and other cheap but very delicious delicacies.
Also the hotel is just a short ride away from the big mall and the night market.

Very pleasant staff too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timibanzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling the world
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. Overall very nice hotel in good location. had free wifi, coffee in the morning,aircon and tv.
Problems: staff spoke very little English and there were cob webs in the shower. (Bathroom could use a good scrubbing)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 evenings while in Chiang Mai, as it was recommended by a local expat. After checking out a few budget options that were less than stellar, this one stood out because it was clean, the rooms were large and bright, and the location was perfect for us. We were within walking distance of most of the foreigner hot spots, as well as local stuff like the night market for great and cheap food cart food at the southern gate. We could walk everywhere we wanted. I'd definitely recommend this place to someone who's willing to spend just a teeny more than the budget places and who wants a lot more than what a typical budget place has to offer.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room first, as is the way in a lot of Thailand. Also make sure your wifi works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#141 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#224 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thai Akara - Lanna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#97 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chiang Mai C.M. House
Chiang Mai C.M. House
#120 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#100 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Hotel

Property: Lux Hotel
Address: 137/5 Moonmuang Rd, Chiang Mai 50200 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing