We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #57 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Well located in the old town close 2 a couple of major temples and bars/restaurants. Room was good but dark with a very small balcony. Pool was nice at the end of a day of activities. Only issues were limited breakfast and lots of insects. Outside areas nice but keep well protected from mozzies! Overall enjoyed it here and loved Chiang Mai. Must go to 'A Taste of Heaven' to eat, a veggie place nearby. (See review!)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BambiDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    251
    89
    26
    10
See reviews for
100
256
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We were appointed to the room on 3rd floor but it was quite dark in the room, our "balcony" is open to the hall so it feels a little uncomfortable as everyone can walk to our room.
Breakfast was a bit upseting, when compared to the money we paid, the hotels we stayed before in Chiang mai, better options could be provide, we actually ate something else after a small bite of fruits.
Location is good, where is a short walking distance to Wat PraSing, Sunday Market and lots of local eateries, this is a good place to explore the old city by foot.
However, the location also has another problem, where the noise from the traffic during the night could be hear clearly. We kept awake by the noise from the motorcycles at midnight.
The pool was a little upset, it was much smaller than i thought even from the pictures saw from the previous reviews, I actually gave up swimming. We can find a hotel cheaper of similar location and facility in the neighborhood just without the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivianchan733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear lovely guests,

We are a small boutique hotel, so for the pool we have the size of 6 X 12 m. only. The room you have must be in the room 307 or 308 (superior room) that it doesn't have a private balcony. If there are other rooms left, you can ask our staff to change the room and our staffs will definitely find the room you want. However, when we are run out of rooms available, we cannot change the room already booked. For the food, we have enough and decent food to serve all guests. Anyway, it might be below your expectation. Normally, the small road in front of the hotel is really quiet at night, except some Saturday or Sunday nights that might be a bit crowded and you can sometime hear the noise of a car or a motorcycle. It is very normal thing when you stay in the city. Anyway, this thing also below your expectation too. You will be better off to get a high building with closed building design when you stay in the city to avoid the noise. Thank you for your valuable comments and we will improve our services at best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We arrived here early morning our room was ready and the staff very helpful. We booked for 3 days but found the hotel was in a great location that we stay for 10 days. We had trouble finding where all the best restaurants where so i would suggest hiring bikes so you can find everything first up.
The room was clean and a great bed good bathroom. The breakfast was very good sitting out in the lawn . I do have couple complaints which i think the manager or owner should look at( 1) the breakfast staff should be told to stay off their phones when at work as i had to ask for something and the staff member was to busy looking at there phone. (2) I dont think it is a good policy if you lose a key that it comes out of the staffs pocket.
The mountain Biking is very good there you can hire bikes down the road

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrarrowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear value guests,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Normally, we have a policy about using a phone while working. Sorry for what happened. Some young staffs are very addicted to their phone. We will definitely deal with this problem at best and will assure that this incident will not happen again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Ok...so we were told the electricity supply was being upgraded from 11-4pm....no problems we could explore Chaing Mai. Back at 4pm and raring to jump in the pool....which was still closed. Still no power? 5pm? Ok. By the way we had construction work in stereo as the building next door was also being renovated. Drilling and more drilling. 6pm came. Still no electricity? Delayed till 7pm? Getting nervous now. It dark by 7:30. Not happy. The reception team had been dropped well and truly in it, what was annoying was the lack of management presence. Head in the sand approach. We packed our bags (in the dark) by torch light and checked out. Sorry De Lanna Owner you got a bad mark from me. The hotel rooms are good....but your management lacks confidence.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear valued customers,

Sorry for this disappointed event. On that day, we planned with the construtor, who make an electric transition to a new building, to do a transition operation about 5 hours from 11 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. However, it was raining during transition time and they could not work during the rain and also it was taking more time to do the planning job. At the time you talked to our reception about 6:00 p.m., we knew that you were frustrated and I already told my staff to offer you a room discount and explained why this took so long and not yet finish. Sorry for not presenting myself talking to you since I was in the new building to help the machanic to get the light back. Finally, the light came back around 7:40 p.m. after you left our property for 10 minutes. We admitted that we did a wrong plan and what we could you for you is a huge discount on the room. However, since you were not tolerate to wait until the electric light come and decided to leave us. We could do only say "Sorry" for you.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

De Lanna Hotel was a great find for us in Chiang Mai. Location was perfect, right in the middle
of Old City and close to many land marks we enjoyed swimming in the pool and evening cocktails Thai massage venues all close by walking. Rooms was very impressed with the quality, bed was comfortable and had decent linen, bathroom was well equipped shower and bath and plenty of space. Everything in the hotel was well maintained and the swimming pool was a reasonable size. The breakfast buffet was ok and nothing more. Would be happy to stay there again, but they really need to improve the food quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The room is a good size, which is helped as every room has a balcony overlooking the garden & Koi ponds. The mini bar is a really good price & the speakers in the bathroom are a good touch!

The staff are always willing to assist you & the bar staff are very friendly making you feel very welcomed, they even organised a birthday cake for me which was yummy! The location is ideal, quiet but close to major attractions.

There isn't any gym facilities but the pool was lovely & didn't have a problem with Mosquitos. The rooms however were prone to getting Mosquitos but not anymore than other places in Thailand. Just get a mozzie coil! Lovely place would stay again for sure. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank From C to C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

For the price, this is a great hotel to stay in: beautiful courtyard with pool, great interiors, good a/c too. From the hotel, you can already walk and explore several wats and sample oh so heavenly Thai massages (just over the next block). There are lots of street side "Thai cantinas" that serve good food, not to mention cheap too. As the title of this review says, watch out for the mosquitos: the rooms are basically just balconies with doors out in the open. so it is quite easy for mosquitos to get in, especially when the room is being cleaned by housekeeping. Maybe the fact that I was on a ground floor room was a factor. It MIGHT not be much of a problem on the upper floors.

All in all, you'll be surprised at what you get for such a reasonable price...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorbeer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear lovely guests,

Thank you for your comments. In this hot and rainy season, there are a lot of mosquitos out there. We also warn our guests about this by our reception staffs. At the twilight time, the mosquitos start come out. We tell our guests to not leave the door open at that time. Thank you again for your comments and sorry for any inconvenient occured during your stay.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#17 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#41 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing