We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #66 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and found the staff helpful and friendly - esp the bar staff.

We had a ground floor poolside view room which was spacious and clean. Rooms are cleaned daily to a great standard.

Breakfast was well managed, lots of variety and food all very fresh. The hotel also provides free wifi, useful for travellers.

Location wise the hotel is about a 15 minute journey ride to the airport, 5 minute walk to decent bars/ restaurants and a few minute Tuk Tuk ride to the markets - which are amazing. Plenty to do and see in chiang Mai, - temples galore! Quirky shops and eateries and activities such as trekking etc on the doorstep. Would Definately stay here again if we were to revisit Chiang Mai in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karlene86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 592 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Overall we had a pleasant stay for a weekend trip. The hotel is close to various temples within a walking distance. About a 10-15min walk from the hotel, you will find many restaurants and coffee shops. However, many restaurants in that area stop serving food as early as 8pm. There's a 7-Eleven nearby the hotel. The staff told us that the night market was too far to get to by foot, but we walked there slowly enjoying the cityscape and it took us about 40min one way. There are many bicycle and scooter rentals available in Chiang Mai.

The one thing I really dislike about De Lanna is that there's a urinal directly across the toilet in the room bathroom. I find that very odd and disgusting. The room is very spacious and clean. The walls are a bit thin. A group of noisy neighbors living next door one night and woke us up at 3am. I called the front desk and about 20min later the noise was turned down slightly. However, I could still hear them somewhat and it wasn't easy for me to fall asleep again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wingwing7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel. Friendly staff. In the older part of Chiang Mai what was for us very Nice. We booked also a 2 days trip at the elephant nature park! This was amazing!! No elephant rides no elephants who are plating football or doing tricks in the circus but helpen abused and mistreaded elephants. Check elephant nature park in Chiang Mai!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Roelie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Clean and quiet rooms, lovely yard, delicious food, a relaxing place. Very close to the Sunday Walking Street. Staff there are very nice and helpful. We spend five nights there and enjoyed really good time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Xiaoyue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel itself is charming and cute. It has alot of personality. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for the staff. When we arrived our room wasn't ready and when we inquired on when it would be, their answer was "I don't know." OK fine. We stored our bags and went out into the city. When we returned hours later to grab our stuff and go into a room, we found the staff not so helpful. The ladies at the front gave us our key, and that's about it. Didn't tell us where to go, didn't have anyone offer to help us with our bags. So we saw the stairs, and starting walking up cuz we saw the room number corresponded to the second floor. After lugging our suitcases up the stairs, and nice gentleman turned around and was like oh no! not here, wrong place, and proceeded to help us down the stairs and steer us in the right direction. As we were walking back down the stairs, I happened to glance at the front desk, and the ladies who gave us the keys were laughing at us. Ummm, okay? Thanks for your help, and now you're laughing at us? Great, thanks for being so helpful and charming.

Our second bad encounter was the lady who sat at check in who handles and books any excursions that you may want. She told us about a private trekking tour that would cost us about 2200 Baht. We get our own driver, our own tour guide who was very knowledgeable and showed us all these amazing places our tour guide would show us. Great, we were sold. The next day when our tour guide picked us up, he introduced himself to us, told us it was about an 1.5 hour drive to mountain and then that's it. Didn't talk to us the entire car ride. No history, no itinerary, no nothing. Upon arriving at the mountain, he started walking in front of us leading the way, still not talking or explaining where we were going. Perhaps he didn't know where we were going because he took us on 3 different trails until we found one that was open and available. I mean we got to see some cool stuff but he was not interactive. Didn't explain anything to us or didn't try to teach us on any culture or history unless we asked him. Waste of money in my opinion. We would have been better off going on our own or on one of the group tours instead - would have been alot cheaper and alot more of a learning experience.

Don't do the private tour - you will be ripped off.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear value guests,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for what you have experienced here. I did see the CCTV video record of the date you were checking in. Our staff tried to avoid the room near the construction site for you and tried to get a room near a garden and pool view for you and your husband asked our staff twice how long it take to have a room available and our staff told your husband "about one hour" I am not sure when you heard our staff said "I don't know" as you mentioned in the comments. We are sorry that when you got back to have your luggages transferred to the room, there was no one to help you. We are now short of a bell boy staff and at that time he was busy serving other customers. We will definitely improve this and sorry for dissastifaction occurred during your checking in time. For the private tour, I asked the tour operator and she told me that you already mentioned about the tour guide and she refund of the money back to you already and already apologized you already too. I also passed what you comments about private tour to her and asked her to get a better tour guide and make sure that our customers will be happy through all their journey. Thank you again for your valuable comments and we will definitely improve our services to meet our customer's satisfaction.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

A great little budget hotel. A tad worn around the edges, but clean and nice. Good breakfast. Overall, a great value. The compromise is you are a little farther from a lot of the main restaurants, night bazar, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

When our taxi first pulled up to the De Lanna, I was concerned... from the street it initially didn't look like much - but don't let that fool you! This hotel really is charming, from all the stained glass to the crazy little dolls used to let the housekeeping staff know when you'd like your room cleaned. The staff was very helpful, and although the buffet breakfast in the morning was small, it was good with plenty of options. It's located near quite a few temples, but if you're looking for massages/restaurants/touristy stuff, you do need to walk a little ways. If I were staying in Old City again, I'd stay at De Lanna.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbarellie829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 389 in Chiang Mai
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 389 in Chiang Mai
980 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#39 of 389 in Chiang Mai
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#44 of 389 in Chiang Mai
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 389 in Chiang Mai
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $62 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing