We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #53 of 361 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The service at this hotel was great and the rooms were clean. I really enjoyed that the glass partician between the bathroom and the bedroom could be opened allowing you to talk more easily with someone laying down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    215
    75
    21
    7
See reviews for
84
225
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

quiet and well situated hotel,
really clean and lovely garden and swimming pool
good breakfast
kind personel
we were 2 families with the bedrooms with terrace : perfect to discuss at night with the children sleeping inside!
we will come back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tanlamotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

1. After a harsh one day tour to Chiang Rai , I got out of Chiang Mai at 7 am and back at Chiang Mai at 9 pm and change to this hotel.Hotel nearby has no 7-11 or little cafe or restaurant after 9:30pm. Then, I asked for the front desk, they just said that hotel restaurant will be close soon...try to go there and eat quickly. Food in this hotel is good.
2. I was coughing and asked for bottle water in room temperature in the hotel restaurant ..NO ICE water....but the waiter is dreaming.....I repeated my order of water and food by pointing to the menu...he still seems dreaming....finally he opened a COLD bottle water for me....I ate fast...but seems it is nearly to their closing time, they started to took away my dishes very quickly and prepare the bill for me....
3. When I get back to my room, I started to take all my things out and prepare for a shower, suddenly my back got wet ! The air conditioning is dripping water like raining ! I called upon the front desk, they sent someone to my room, and say...they can't fix it.Then, they switched me from room 203,a bigger room to room 305…which got the mattress on the floor and I needed to kneel down for opening my languages which is really annoying !
4. I asked to call for a taxi to Mandarin Hotel for dinner, they quoteme the prices is 300 bahts and which Mandarin Hotel just quote me at 200 bahts....
5. My previous guest house is just around HK $ 220/ night in Chiang Mai which I stayed for 2 nights is much better than this hotel which cost me over HK$ 650/night !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear a lovely guest,

Sorry for you bad experience here. The waiter that took your order is a new guy and his English is very poor. Actually he came here as a bus boy and not supposed to taking any orders. This is our poor restaurant management that the restaurant's supervisor were not there at the time. The new guy now is out for his lack of ability to meet our services standard. For the room, there's sometimes has a problem and our receptionists work quickly to solve the problem; however, we have 2 room styles, one with the lifted wooden floor and one with standard floor, you might not like the one with lifted wooden floor and we are so sorry for that. Actually if you don't like the room you were moved in, you could ask for the new room and our receptionists will certainly make your request comes true. Our hotel location is not really far from 7-11. It's about 150 metre or so from the hotel to 7-11. However, at that time our receptionists wanted to recommend you to try our food and it was better for you to get a real fresh food rather than get a frozen or junk food from 7-11. We are so sorry for what made you feel really bad about our services and property. We will definitely keep up in improving our services to serve all guests at our best.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Professional and comfortable in every way - very comfy beds, thoughtful service, decent choices at breakfast, fast and stable wi-fi. Have been returning to De Lanna every year or so. Sending my friends there too. Never disappointed.

Room Tip: Great location, friendly service, comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

De Lanna is a nice hotel, with attractive if somewhat uneven decor. Lovely pool and garden, with huge koi in the pond. Location is on a side street around the corner from Wat Pra Singh, with shops nearby. Easy walk to Thapae Gate in about 20 minutes. Friendly staff speak English well. Breakfast buffet enjoyable, especially sitting in the garden by the pool. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Freddd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a lovely and unique place to stay. Exceptional service, beautiful courtyard and pool area, quaintly decorated rooms that were spacious and very clean. It's within walking distance of food and shopping and there is a convenience store and coffee shop within a block or two. Breakfast was of good quality with plenty of selection.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony/porch overlooking the courtyard are great for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed twice at this hotel in between trips out of the city, and felt this was a great base for our stay in Chiang Mai. The staff were very friendly throughout, even making us a special breakfast box on our last day as we left to catch a flight really early. We were also able to leave bags here for a few days which was helpful when we went out of town. We ate here on a few occasions and the food was really tasty. I thought the hotel was really nicely laid out with a central courtyard with a refreshing pool and some seating areas on a grassy area beneath trees. Around the outside of the courtyard were some pools with massive carp in, which were impressive! Our room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated and was a nice space to relax in after a few hours visiting the local sights. The location was perfect for us, near to some of the main sights (temples, cultural museum, sunday walking market) and in what felt like a relaxed and safe neighborhood. We found some nice relaxed bars close to the restaurant and the busier bars etc are only a short (and fun) tuk-tuk ride away. I would certainly stay here again, and recommend to anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which was nice as it opens out on to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamesirelamd1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#33 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#35 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#26 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#17 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 361 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing