We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #67 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

After spending the first four days in Chiang mai at one of the big city highrise hotels we decided to move to somewhere smaller and more intimate......The De lanna was the perfect choice!
Staff were friendly and very help even saw them offering some advice on catching one of the red songteows and cost......invaluable to first time visitors!
Location for us was terrific...nice and convenient without being in a real hustle bustle area ....but we are walkers!
Rooms were great.....beds oh so comfy!
Breakfast had a good range.....just loved the soups they had on offer...something different every morning! Also bacon, eggs etc.. We ordered room service which was delivered promptly. ..lovely presentation and very tasty.
Pool area was nice and always lots of lounges and towels were in abundance. Music around the pool was very cruisie and not too loud and was a lovely place to relax with a cocktail after a hard day of site seeing.
Take some mosquito coils with you as the mossies are fierce but we found burning a coil at the entrance and on the balcony kept them at bay!
I really enjoyed our stay at the Delanna and would certainly recommend this hotel to fellow Travellers looking for a cute boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MitzfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 607 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel! It's very cute and charming with a friendly staff, cozy accommodations, great breakfast buffet and ideal location! It's in walking distance of temples, tons of restaurants, and the Sunday Walking Street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having arrived here fro stays in big 4* hotels in Hong Kong and Bangkok this was a refreshing change and we really felt that we had arrived in Thailand. The hotel picked us up for a paltry 200Thb from the airport and the welcome was friendly.
Our room was on the 3rd floor , clean and had a nice balcony. We had breakfast included and this was a good spread of Thai and Western food.
There is a Tour desk at the hotel who were very helpful and had comparative prices to everywhere else, saved walking around looking.
Great location for most things and staff very helpful. Would certainly stay again as very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hols4evers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The De Lanna is is not a 'Western' hotel by any means, however this simply adds to its charm. Although full of tourists, Chaing Mai is still very traditional in many ways, as is this hotel. Whilst staying here, we received excellent service from all the staff, smiles all round and very easy to deal with. The location is also superb and you will struggle to be as close to everything as at this hotel. The pool is very nice also. Prices are reasonable for a hotel in Thailand and very cheap for a westerner. The only negatives are that the shower is quite hard to get used to and the fruit could do with being covered at breakfast, due to the flies.
Conclusion: If you want to stay somewhere soulless and sterile, go to a western chain. If you want rooms with character in an amazing location. Stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmerhemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear lovely guests,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We now fix the problems of insects or flies by using a container with its cover for our salad bar. We will stay sterile as much as we can and will keep our services top-notch at all time. Thank you again for your valuable comments.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for our first two nights in Thailand largely on the basis that the beds sounded comfortable and, according to the advertising, all rooms came with a balcony overlooking the pool or garden. The beds were very comfortable but we were disappointed to get a balcony area overlooking the backs of other room. This wasn't a very nice place to sit and ruined any plans of reading outside or enjoying a beer as the sun went down.

Still, the breakfasts were good (for Thailand at least) with a limited buffet including a few Asian options. We had one meal at the restaurant and while not the best food we've ever had the two dishes were enjoyed. I particularly liked the fact that they put a decent amount of basil and chilli in the Pad Kapow and topped it with a fried egg. The way it should be unless someone orders it otherwise.

The room was above average but nothing special, the polished concrete decor in the bathroom has seen better days, the staff were friendly enough and the pool area well maintained.

Whether we would return to this hotel would depend on whether we got a room with the advertised view. Without it the room is overpriced in our opinion so we would look elsewhere but in a similar area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear lovely guests,

Sorry for your disappointing about your room's location that effected your balcony view. We have about 6 rooms that might not have the best overlooking our garden and pool views. In this case, if you would have asked our front desk staffs for the room changing, I definitely guaranteed that our staffs will ultimately find the room you like even sometimes it's difficult to exchange the room when it's full. Thank you for you comments and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights last week.Buffet breakfast was good though everyday we had almost the same menu. This time around plenty of China tourists. Too noisy. Room is big enough and quite spacious too. Mine was facing the pool view. Pool abit small for swimming. Service was ok. Staffs are well mannered. Nearby the hotel , there are few hainanese chicken rice shop. Surprisingly the standard is as good as in Malaysia. Not far from Sunday Night Bazaar. Strictly recommended for budget traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Air con broke, quickly moved to different room. Pool was great after a long day adventuring. Food and drinks pricey but very convinient. Arranged all trips and travel through the front desk, very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 393 in Chiang Mai
995 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#37 of 393 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#45 of 393 in Chiang Mai
513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $62 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing