We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good facilities-wise; average to poor service-wise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #59 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good facilities-wise; average to poor service-wise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this small boutique hotel mainly because of its location in the old city, the relatively new facilities and the quaint decoration. Rooms, toilet and bed are nice, modern and comfortable. But service staff needs more training, esp the reception staff and the lady at the tour-counter next to reception looks really disinterested even when we made some enquiries.

We had a very good experience with whom we think is the owner of the hotel at a Travel Fair when we bought the hotel's vouchers earlier in the year. A pity that it was about the most friendly service experience we got from De Lanna.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobydoo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your comments about our reception staffs. We will definitely improve our services. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    254
    89
    29
    10
See reviews for
103
259
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We decided to stay at De Lanna after reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor, and unfortunately it was a disappointment for us. We booked our first night through latestay.com, and De Lanna lost our reservations because apparently they had "new staff working" that day.The hotel was fully booked and after we declined their offer to stay in their staff room (more like a storage room) for a night, De Lanna made arrangements for us to stay at a nearby hotel for the night.

We stayed the remaining 3 nights at De Lanna and the service/room was mediocre at best. We stayed on the 2nd floor and noise is a huge problem for us. We were able to hear people walking upstairs, people opening/closing the doors to their room and people talking in the hallway. The layout of the hotel is that every hotel room faces the courtyard/restaurant...while it seems like its a cool concept because you can overlook the small pool, there is loud music coming out from the restaurant EVERY NIGHT. We were also able to hear the constant clinging sound of dishes/utensils throughout the day and especially at night when they are restocking their cabinets.

Service was mediocre - While some staff were very helpful, most are just so-so at best. Im not sure if some of the staff are new, but they always need to ask others for guidance and support. They have a conceige person working there, but she will only help you if you book a tour from her. We booked a full tour from her and she was friendly enough. When I asked her about booking a spa for me, she refused to because the spa wasnt part of the tour package. She told us we would have to search for the spa's telephone number and she will have to charge us for the call.

***Beware - the staff will make a photocopy of your passport (which is quite normal in Asia). HOWEVER, be aware the hotel staff do not know how to discard personal information. We were given a piece of scrap paper from the hotel staff to write on and on the back of the paper were photocopies of other guests personal information/biodata information from their passport.

If you want any type of sleep - stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pebbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Sorry for any inconvenience occurred during your stay. The loud music from the restaurant has always been adjusted. However, it might not be enough for your expectation. Since the hotel is designed in opened area, some noises from outside might be reach your room easily. We will try to improve our facilities and services to reduce noises in the near future. Thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent at the hotel 6 nights. One morning, very early, I woke up becaude breakfast area's radio screamed. Few mornings and nights few younger visitors made lots of noise and no one, absolutely no one from staff did anything to stop that noise.

The staff, except one, did not know, what means custom service. They seemed to be hurry all the time but nothing happened and no one got any service.

I was very very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WORLDISMYHOMEFINLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear value guest,

The hotel is designed in an opened area. There's definitely some noises from outside to your room. We have to apologize for the noise of music from our restaurant in the early morning. However, for making something unpleasant to stop other guests talking at night in the public area might not be appropriate for our staffs to do so. Anyway, we will try to notice other guests that talk loud at night to know about this in a proper way. Thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

I was extremely impressed with this hotel and for the price it's an amazing deal. The rooms are really nice, location is perfect and the breakfast is great. Staff are helpful and friendly and there are pharmacies and a 7 eleven about 2 minutes walk away.

Highly recommend this place and chiang Mia in general, beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad85c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

My husband and I are traveling through Thailand and Chiang Mai was on of our stops and we stayed at De Lanna Hotel. What a fantastic hotel!! The staff was sooooo friendly and wonderful! And the locals were just as great! Def a great location and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sipple13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Lovely little hotel, beautifully decorated, clean and near the centre of the old town. Good breakfast and some good dishes for dinner too. Very relaxing central grassy area, surrounded by koi carp pools. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrave, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We booked a honeymoon suite for ten days and loved our stay. We were grateful to the staff and management who helped make our stay enjoyable and our wedding day memorable.

Our suite was the last one on the ground floor and the pool directly outside. It was private and quiet. Our room was kept immaculately clean and the staff very conscientious. The attendant/porter at the fron of the premises was always helpful and assisted us with transport, orientation, and translation. On the day of the wedding the staff were wonderful and helpful as we came and went with our entourage.

Visitors need to be aware that the hot water is solar powered as so varies. We found that there was usually plenty of hot water by mid to late morning and always in the afternoons. We only got caught out on our first morning and I think that was because it had been overcast the day before.

The meals were nice although we did have a couple of moments where their poor English and our poorer Thai resulted in some small confusion. Some staff took extra effort to note our prefered refreshments - a gesture that was appreciated. Breakfast was a fairly standard selection of cereals, toast, fruit, yogurts, and hot foods. As for the evening meals we only ate in a couple of times and the meals that we did have there were lovely.

Intavarorot Road can only be approached from a particular direction so we found that during the festivities it cost us more to get back to the hotel because of the one way streets. TukTuks and taxies do not pass by as frequently as other streets so it is often necessary to walk around the corner to hail one. However we were central to everything.

We loved our stay and plan to book there again.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is very spacious and the end one is quite private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#39 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#12 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#41 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing