We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #57 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent at the hotel 6 nights. One morning, very early, I woke up becaude breakfast area's radio screamed. Few mornings and nights few younger visitors made lots of noise and no one, absolutely no one from staff did anything to stop that noise.

The staff, except one, did not know, what means custom service. They seemed to be hurry all the time but nothing happened and no one got any service.

I was very very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WORLDISMYHOMEFINLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear value guest,

The hotel is designed in an opened area. There's definitely some noises from outside to your room. We have to apologize for the noise of music from our restaurant in the early morning. However, for making something unpleasant to stop other guests talking at night in the public area might not be appropriate for our staffs to do so. Anyway, we will try to notice other guests that talk loud at night to know about this in a proper way. Thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    251
    89
    26
    10
See reviews for
100
256
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

I was extremely impressed with this hotel and for the price it's an amazing deal. The rooms are really nice, location is perfect and the breakfast is great. Staff are helpful and friendly and there are pharmacies and a 7 eleven about 2 minutes walk away.

Highly recommend this place and chiang Mia in general, beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad85c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

My husband and I are traveling through Thailand and Chiang Mai was on of our stops and we stayed at De Lanna Hotel. What a fantastic hotel!! The staff was sooooo friendly and wonderful! And the locals were just as great! Def a great location and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sipple13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Lovely little hotel, beautifully decorated, clean and near the centre of the old town. Good breakfast and some good dishes for dinner too. Very relaxing central grassy area, surrounded by koi carp pools. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrave, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We booked a honeymoon suite for ten days and loved our stay. We were grateful to the staff and management who helped make our stay enjoyable and our wedding day memorable.

Our suite was the last one on the ground floor and the pool directly outside. It was private and quiet. Our room was kept immaculately clean and the staff very conscientious. The attendant/porter at the fron of the premises was always helpful and assisted us with transport, orientation, and translation. On the day of the wedding the staff were wonderful and helpful as we came and went with our entourage.

Visitors need to be aware that the hot water is solar powered as so varies. We found that there was usually plenty of hot water by mid to late morning and always in the afternoons. We only got caught out on our first morning and I think that was because it had been overcast the day before.

The meals were nice although we did have a couple of moments where their poor English and our poorer Thai resulted in some small confusion. Some staff took extra effort to note our prefered refreshments - a gesture that was appreciated. Breakfast was a fairly standard selection of cereals, toast, fruit, yogurts, and hot foods. As for the evening meals we only ate in a couple of times and the meals that we did have there were lovely.

Intavarorot Road can only be approached from a particular direction so we found that during the festivities it cost us more to get back to the hotel because of the one way streets. TukTuks and taxies do not pass by as frequently as other streets so it is often necessary to walk around the corner to hail one. However we were central to everything.

We loved our stay and plan to book there again.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is very spacious and the end one is quite private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

At first glance the De lanna offers affordable luxury with good and modern amenities. Breakfast was good and offers a nice selection (compared to similar hotels we stayed at in Thailand) and the hotel really is "boutique" with 35 rooms. HOWEVER, soundproofing in the rooms is pretty much non-existent. The French doors to the balcony (which overlooks the pool and yard) have a gap of a centimetre at the base and between the doors, so the noise gets through easily. You can hear the broom from the staff sweeping the paths on the ground floor, you can hear the music from the restaurant, which resonates in the yard at night (and which plays past 22:00) and in the morning I was awakened to he sound of clinking dishes from the guest having breakfast in the yard. And despite the fact that it appears that the whole structure is made of cement, we could hear the steps of the guests on the floor above walking normally (not even stomping or running) in their room.

In fact i really am surprised that this issue was never raised in previous reviews on T.A. since it is not a room-specific matter.

It really is too bad, it is a really nice hotel but you can add all the bells and whistles you want, if it's noisy enough that you can't get a good night's sleep, they don't amount to much. I am unsure whether I would recommend the hotel or not, but be aware that noise may be an issue to you and plan accordingly (earplugs) As there are many hotels in this category, at similar prices, in Chiang Mai, I personally will look at other options on my next trip to chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seabass747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear valued guest,

I apologize for any inconvenient occurred during your stay. Since we use teak wood with colour glass to make balcony doors for your room. Time by time, teak wood might be shriking (normally in winter season). That's why there is a gap between door and ground. We will definitely improve this issue. Thank you for your valuable comment.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
152 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

De Lanna Hotel is a compact, nicely designed hotel with a resort feel. There are three floors and two blocks all facing a swimming pool and garden. The trees and plants add green and breeze to the environment. The rooms are tastefully done, the furnishings are modern industrial amidst a backdrop of wood. The third floor rooms have high ceilings with lovely lamps. The beds are firm with lots of cushions and pillows that add warmth to the room. The TV comes with many cable channels, but if you're in Chiangmai for Lanna culture, you would be better off wandering around the walled inner city of Chiangmai (where this hotel is located).

Breakfast is good, and many guests like to sit in the garden (tables on the grass) by the pool. Staff are very pleasant, but in general, you barely need to interact with them (unless you want to ask questions) because when you go in and out of your room, you do not have to pass by the reception. So there's a lot of privacy as if you were staying in your own apartment room in a resort complex.

A tip as regards returning to the hotel from wherever you have been: tell the driver the hotel is near Wat Phra Singh, which is an important & beautiful temple in the old city section of Chiangmai. It is deservedly well-visited temple with an adjacent Buddhist school (where you can eat at the cafetaria very cheaply and perhaps converse with novice monks who want to practise their English).

Another tip: Explore the neighbourhood south of the hotel. Look out for the Chiangmai City Art & Cultural Centre: you can't miss it because of the "Three Kings Monument" (a hunky sculpture of King Mengrai, the founder of Chiang Mai; King Ramkamhaeng of Sukothai; and King Ngam Muang of Payao). Also, you will find lots of vocational schools and more importantly, social enterprises (like shops that sell merchandise handcrafted by prisoners, and massage done by women who served time briefly behind bars). You're right in the area of Lanna culture, ethical consumption and social responsibility ! Great location, yes. And if you're a shopper, spend a Sunday in Chiangmai because the street where De Lanna Hotel is located will be closed off in the evening to become a pedestrian shopping street where locals ply their arts and crafts for sale. Buy the fresh strawberries & roasted soya beans or mango with sticky rice.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms face the swimming pool, so the main issue is whether you wish to be on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#17 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#41 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing