We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pad Thai in town!!”

Lemongrass Thai Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 2,137 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No View But Tasty!
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Pad Thai in town!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed in Chiang Mai for 16 days and usually ALWAYS eat at different places every night but I found Lemongrass and ate my dinner there 13 of the 16 nights. It is not fancy but the staff are kind, service quick, and food very very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennStrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,254
    645
    226
    67
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Came Back For More”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The food is spectacular. We had just a few days in Chiang Mai but ended up eating at Lemongrass twice - once for lunch and again another night for dinner. It did seem a lot more packed when we went for dinner, but perhaps it was because we stumbled upon the restaurant at an off hour for lunch the first time around. Everything on the menu is very reasonably priced and everything we've eaten was absolutely delicious. Their fried fish curry was phenomenal and although it pains me to say it, their curry trumps my own mother's. Hands down, the best Southeast Asian flavors I've experienced in a long time. We also had their lard na, chicken curry, chicken satay, fish cakes, stir fried pork with chills and cashews, and their lemongrass tea, which was very refreshing. Service was attentive but we were allowed to enjoy our meal at our own leisure. The views aren't anything to write home to, but the graffiti on the walls say that I'm not the only one who would continue eating here if they could.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkazama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a little gem”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This little café which is located just down the road from the Night Bazaar is one of the reasons you keep looking on the side streets and alleyways. It presents very basic but the staff give you that instant and famous welcome smile. The food is fresh and tasty at a very reasonable price.
Enjoy this one if you get the chance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent Thai food, no AC :)”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I came to lemongrass two times with friends, once for lunch and once for dinner. The staff is English speaking and quite efficient. Lunch was served quite quickly but dinner took a long time as the place was quite busy, we seriously thought they had forgotten about us :)) The location is convenient and close to the night market, prices are reasonable.The place is an open terrace though so do not expect an AC. I'd say give it a go if you are staying nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must eat!!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We dined here more than once. The food was amazing. Leave room for the fried bananas! Best Pad Thai in Chiang Mai. The staff we're treat and the food very well priced.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Thai Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Lemongrass Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing