We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and inexpensive...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemongrass Thai Restaurant

Lemongrass Thai Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 2,026 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: No View But Tasty!
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
643 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,243 helpful votes
“Great food and inexpensive...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Lemongrass Thai was too busy the first night we tried to dine there so we passed by again the next day before 8pm and just beat the rush. By a little after 8pm a line had formed but people were seated promptly. Great food, very reasonably priced, giving dinners the option to try several dishes. I agree with all the positive comments on TA, it was excellent food, prompt, friendly service and a fun evening. I love Mussaman curry; Lemongrass' was excellent and their chicken satay with peanut sauce at 75 bhat was a great price and very generous. Wait in line or come early-it's worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    585
    195
    56
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I've been to Lemongrass many times, and it never disappoints! The food is always exceptional, and the staff are extremely friendly. I highly recommend going here with a group of people, and ordering many dishes to share, Thai Style. The snapper dish in their specialties is easily the best thing on the menu. Enjoy

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jessiecaa813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Thai food with a difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had heard for a while that Lemongrass was good but had not got there. It is centrally located in the soi that runs from Macca's in the Night Bazaar down to the rjiver, about 100 metres down on the left. The restaurant is ordinary looking but very busy. No bookings are taken so you have to wait for a table. Joy, an old friend from Sydney recognised me and made sure we got a table promptly her son is the chef and owns the place

The menu had a number of house specialties and was extensive but not too long. We chose the Hor Mky Talay, Pla Sam Rot, Thai Green Chicken Curry and one other dish. All were delicious but a little different. The Pla Sam Rot ( 3 flavoured fish) was in a sweete and sour sauce and topped with crispy fried lemongrass leaves. Not what I expected but the fish was beautifully seasoned and delicious. The Hor Mok Talay was cooked in aluminium foil and also somewhat different from the usual but a really great mix of Thai vegetables and seafood in a beautifully flavoured sauce. The other dishes were also good. None of the dishes were too spicy hot nor were they sweet and dummed down like in many Sydney Thai restaurants. They were just beautifully flavoured.

They restaurant sells the usual range of beers and the somewhat ordinary Mont Claire South African White and red wine. The prices were very reasonable for the quality of the food. The service was good. Will definitely be back. I would rate Lemongrass as the best Thai restaurant of its type in Chiang Mai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Lynch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Great food and great service, good value. Very authentic flavours and worth queuing. Basic decor but great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Monty_boy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location and service. The food was awesome.
The ambiance is not romantic (it's a street cafe). We did not come for that though.
Cant wait to go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Thai Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Lemongrass Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing