We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Selection of yummy food”

Khunchurn Thai Vegetarian Cuisine
Ranked #370 of 2,102 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Large Selection of yummy food”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

After an hour search for the joint, we were greeted to an outdoor buffet. Lots of choices, lots of selection and what does anyone else want ? As food is so particular, I won't go into much detail except I loved the variety of soups.

I have not paid so will see if grumpy owner is here. My only suggestion is to provide better direction with the map companies. We needlessly paid an extra. 100Bht getting there.

Helpful?
Thank NickInTofino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    33
    18
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“really good”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

one of the best and cheapest dinners we had in chiang mai. we went there multiple times. unfortunately there is some construction going on and the place looks terrible at the moment (jan 2014) and not like on the pictures.
if you look for vegetarian food in chiang mai you might also want to try "Anchan" which was a little more expensive, but also very good and in the same area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outdoor vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Location:

This place is situated in a small lane off busy Nimmanhaemin road. Although it is situated inside a house but it is surrounded by a garden. So the restaurant is in an outdoor setting with wooden chairs and tables and no air-conditioners.

Customers and staff:

There was a lot of Asian guys eating there and a few Europeans. The staff speaks a little bit of English and are quite friendly. Incidentally, the so-called 'unfriendly' cashier is the owner or a relative of the owner. Delivery of food can be quite slow so you have to be patient.

Food and price:

I liked the special ginger rice with an additional seaweed soup. Taste is quite good but the prices are comparatively more expensive than the rest of Chiang Mai.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thai-vegetarian Buffet, outdoor setting”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

They are relocating from their current location by the end of jan 2014 to the old Chaing Mai cultural center Wualai road. Good opportunity to taste Thai vegetarian cuisine for all , except kids who don't eat much. From 11-3pm- Buffet lunch only .Closed on 16th of every month.
I was not ravenously hungry, because I had brunch at Pun-Pun, but everything I samples was tasty and fresh .Must try @ 129B/person

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayurabng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overrated, unexceptional food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place was disappointing.

Khao Soi - The yellow noodles were all dried up and stuck together and kind of hard to pick them up to put in the bowl, and the broth was less hot than desirable.

Salad - Meh, the leafs were fresh but I didn't like any of the toppings or the dressing.

Drinks - I chose to get the drink labelled 'strawberry' which was just like water with a little bit of strawberry juice mixed in it.

Other items - macaroni, it was okay, but nothing interesting for sure. Fried rice with veggies also pretty boring.

Good things - fried pumpkin and fresh pineapple were both tasty but not really exceptional enough to justify eating at this buffet.

$4 is not a high price but I could eat at Minder vegetarian buffet at in Taipei (supposedly a much more expensive city) for the same price and much higher quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wbjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khunchurn Thai Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Khunchurn Thai Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing