We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Ranked #49 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We needed a room for one night and stumbled on the Sakorn Residence. It's off the beaten path across the river from the main part of town. For us, that's a plus because it's quieter. It's near a footbridge so you could walk to the Warorot Market in a matter of minutes. There are several good restaurants nearby as well. Room options include a King Room (36 sq. Meters); a larger King Room (45 sq. Meters), a twin room, plus 3 options for small apartments. In addition, there is a beautiful pool and a small fitness room plus WiFi. Each room has a small refrigerator.

We liked our stay here so much that we'll consider coming back next January for a month!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Sakorn Residence & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 557 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

This is my fourth winter in Chiang Mai and the fourth place I’ve stayed. I can say without hesitation that Sakorn Residence is a superb choice in a terrific location at a great price. I’m more than halfway through my two-month rental period and I felt it’s time to write a review.

First of all, the apartment is located just across the Ping River, very close to the footbridge. If you’re looking at a map or if you are familiar with CM, Sakorn Residence is a few hundred feet behind Wat Kate. So you’re still close to everything without being in the center of all the noise. This is a residential neighborhood and incredibly peaceful at night, yet there are many restaurants, art galleries, 7-Elevens, markets, laundry services, massage services, etc. just a stone’s throw from here.

About the apartment itself, there are too many positives to mention and a few very minor areas where there’s room for improvement (nothing is perfect, right?), but I’ll try to list those that come to mind immediately:

1. My apartment is a deluxe one bedroom unit. The layout is excellent, with a large living room, kitchen area, large bedroom and a huge, double bathroom. The bathroom is double because there’s a door separating two distinct areas: One area has a sink, toilet and full bathtub; the other area has another sink, another toilet and a large glass-enclosed shower stall. Perfect arrangement for couples or families
2. All furniture and fixtures and countertops are of the highest quality wood and granite and marble; no shortcuts were taken during construction just over a year ago.
3. Tons of storage space for clothes and other incidentals including an enormous wardrobe, a desk that runs the length of the bedroom, end tables, cabinets, many bathroom counters, and more. I’ve never had the luxury of this much storage space in a hotel or short-term rental apartment.
4. Great water pressure and plenty of hot water
5. Two strong, quiet a/c units
6. Restaurant on-site that’s open 12 hours/day.
7. Air conditioned coffee shop/pastry shop on-site
8. Two night guards: One at the main gate and one in the lobby area
9. Huge, beautiful swimming pool, elegantly designed (see photo)
10. Food service at pool
11. Modern, high-tech elevator even though this building is only five stories
12. Two balconies: One outside the bedroom and one outside the living room, both with great views (see photo)
13. Caring, efficient, friendly owner who’s always on-site, with a terrific staff that goes out of their way to know your name and to greet you every time you arrive or depart.
14. Flat screen TV and DVD player
15. Dishes, cutlery, drinking glasses, cutting board, knives, microwave, water boiler
16. Maid service
17. Excellent lighting everywhere
18. Car and motorbike parking
19. Very quiet facility: Rules enforced about noise and no smoking
20. Wi-fi everywhere with multiple routers on all levels
21. Computer in lobby, including printer, for those guests without their own computers
22. Exercise room with modern equipment
23. Spotlessly clean everywhere; no bugs, too
24. Very reasonable cost: I’m paying 26,000 THB/month (approx. $28/day U.S.) for my large apartment; the smaller units are significantly less.
25. And I saved the best for last: Sakorn Residence really feels like home.

A few minor suggestions:
1. An extra towel rack in the bathroom would be nice
2. You should bring your own washcloths if you use them
3. Bring or buy kitchen sponges, dishwashing liquid and dish towels for the kitchen

Often I don’t trust many TripAdvisor reviews because the reviewers are friends of some establishments’ owners or might be the owners themselves. However at this apartment no one asked me to write a review and, in fact, I’m not sure if the owner even knows about TripAdvisor. So you can believe everything I’ve written here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joel1950dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This was a great hotel coz the air conditioner was lovely and cold. free internet, excellent staff, pool, gym and roomy rooms.

A genuinely good play to stay. Breakfast is like most thai hotels in this price range: an egg, some bacon, fruit plate and 1 slice of toast cut into half. unlimited coffee.

Rooms had a kettle in there to boail water.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Unfortunatly I had already booked another Hotel in advance, but a friend of mine stayed here and I went to visit a few times and it was beautiful.... This is a really great place to stay if you want a central location but still have the need for peace and quiet. It is a new complex with beautiful furniture and very clean. The owner and its employess were very friendly and if you stay longer they make you a better offer. American or Thai Breakfast is incl. and the swimmingpool was a welcoming and peaceful place to cool off. The price is usually bewteen 1000 and 1500 THB which is a very good price for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xvs650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Brand new serviced apartment and hotel. The rooms are very nice with marble floors and granite counter tops. The grounds include an exercise room, pool, coffee shop, and restaurant. The staff is very friendly. The owner and her daughter always seem to be there managing the operation. The site is close to restaurants and a short walk to the famous Night Bazaar. I enjoyed my stay so much I plan on returning for 3-6 months later this year. The only negative is that a new hotel is being built next door so there is some construction noise, but this ends at 5 pm. One other item of note is that some of the rooms did not have screens, at least when I was there since they ask the long term residents to purchase them. Go to their web site at www.sakornresidence.com for more info.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChiangMaiRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank RAQUEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sternchen19998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 388 in Chiang Mai
906 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#68 of 388 in Chiang Mai
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 388 in Chiang Mai
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#73 of 388 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#25 of 388 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#85 of 388 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#24 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $34 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing