We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Ranked #41 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff were what really made this a great experience for us. They were always so friendly and ready to assist us with anything we needed. Front desk was manned non stop whenever I went past, which was from 7am to about 11pm at night. The room was huge. We stayed in the deluxe room and it was massive. Great balcony views (make sure you get a room facing the pool) and very clean bathroom with two toilets two sinks a shower and a separate bath with a shower attachment as well. This hotel is located so perfectly. It's tucked away in a side street and just far away enough from the main areas that they are within walking distance, but you don't hear any of the noise late at night. Front desk gave us a map and showed us a few different places that we could walk to and check out. They even called a tuk tuk for us when we were checking out. Fantastic service and a fantastic room. Would love to come back here for another visit to Chiang Mai.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    234
    56
    15
    1
See reviews for
80
252
57
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent nearly a week at Sakorn and found the rooms comfortable and quite spacious.
Pros : pleasant staff, clean spacious rooms and bathrooms, fridge, cable TV, good comfy beds, quite location.

Cons: For the price the breakfasts were limited and became somewhat boring. WiFi unreliable/ non existant in one of our two rooms. The location, although quiet, is somewhat of a walk from the places of interest, such as markets, old town etc. Sakorn seemed to attract primarily older guests, making any child friendly credentials doubtful.

A good accommodation choice, depending on your needs

Room Tip: Rooms at the front receive more sunlight and attracted fewer mosquitos through open balcony doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gecko6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I had a very comfortable stay at Sakorn Residence - very large room and nice bed. The staff are friendly and helpful and while the hotel is quite far from the old town it is in a nice peaceful area close to some shops and bars. The breakfast got very boring after a couple of days but other than this it's a great place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahDB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington Hills MI
Level Contributor
199 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This met the needs of our family for our two night stay.
Spacious clean rooms that came with a large bathroom containing separate tub and shower. .
The pool area was nice-though actually not warm enough to brave the water.
They also had a small workout room on the property.
We knew in advance that it was located away from town, which was fine. It was quiet at night. Also, no problem getting a tuk tuk when we wanted to go into the town.
The breakfast was very limited and did not offer much for vegetarians-that was the only drawback. Still a good solid place-with a few restaurants located nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chickie-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in the Sakorn Residence for 6 days and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was big, clean and comfortable and had everything you would want. The wifi was free, as was the breakfast, and there was air-con, cable tv, a fridge and a hot shower and bath. The service is excellent and the staff were very helpful when sorting trips and transport. The hotel is located about 15 mins out of the old city but it is in a really nice area which is full of boutique shops, coffee shops and restaurants and the walk into the old town takes you past some nice wats/temples. Would definitely stay here if visiting Chaing Mai again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 132DanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We chose this hotel following great reviews about it. Overall, the stay is pleasant enough although I personally wouldn't rave over it. Sakorn is nestled within a quiet residential neighbourhood outside the town area. Located off the main road, its a 5 minutes walk down to restaurants and bars along the Ping River. We found some other convenient amenities within a short stroll nearby as well - a pharmacy, cheap laundry, a place to massage, a small Italian restaurant in a corner and restaurant serving Indian food next door to Sakorn. This place is ideal for those who prefer somewhere quiet and away from the busy town area, and who don’t mind walking a bit. For those who prefer food, amenities, public transport and shopping right outside your doorstep, its better to pick the hotels that are right smack in town.

Pros:
1. Good value for money. The room is wonderfully spacious and clean, with a large comfortable
bed and plush pillows.
2. The bathroom is big and comes with both a bathtub and a separate shower area.
3. Staff are friendly and helpful, and speak a decent amount of English.
4. The breakfast served was pretty good with a decent portion accompanied by fresh fruits and savoury daily. Free flow of hot tea, coffee or cocoa drink.
5. Free wifi.
6. A small but clean swimming pool. The water is quite cold during the cooler months though.

Cons:
1. Quite a long walk (15-20 minutes) to the night bazaar. For families with old people or young children, it is quite a distance and a hassle. Plus, traffic is quite heavy on the roads.
2. Tuk-tuks and red cabs hardly pass by so its a 5 minutes walk to the main road to hail one.
3. Limited menu choice for breakfast. The same 5-6 selections are offered daily.
4. No complimentary coffee or tea offered in the rooms.
5. The cafe only opens for breakfast and there isn’t any convenience store or cafe nearby to get food from at night if you don’t wish to head out.
6. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, we encountered a foul sewerage stench emitting from the bathroom on our 2nd night there so it was quite unsettling. The stench wore off after two nights but the cause is still rather puzzling.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front as the rooms behind face a steel structure with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatLip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
215 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This little gem of a hotel was a brilliant find. We paid £140 for five nights and it was a bargain. Set about 20 minute walk from old centre of Chiang Mai so nice and quiet but easily accessible to all the sights that the city has to offer.
Our room (number 212) was spotless, spacious and had a great view over the lovely little pool area. The room had a safe and a large fridge which was handy along with a reasonably priced selection of soft drinks and beer.
There is also a little gym as well if you feel the need to work up a sweat while you are there!! There's also an onsite coffee house and the restaurant serves food but only for a limited time during the afternoon so we never had the chance to try it.
Five minutes walk brings you to the riverside bar and restaurant with a nice view out over the river and we also loved Street Pizza, a brilliant little find tucked up a side alley with the best pizza in Thailand!!
We found the staff friendly, attentive and funny. They were helpful and conscientious
The only downside to this lovely place was the set breakfast menu options which were very limited, especially if you are a veggy like me. A buffet style option would have been preferable.
All in all this was a great choice and we can heartily recommend this fantastic little place.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view if possible, our room 212 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 375 in Chiang Mai
846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 375 in Chiang Mai
584 reviews
2.0 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 375 in Chiang Mai
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#12 of 375 in Chiang Mai
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Property: Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing