We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Ranked #47 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Big rooms”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel s ideal to explore chiang mai from . The rooms are big and clean and ideal to cool down while it is really hot outside. The breakfast was ok although not very adventurous and the pool is tiny and also the gym. On the plus side the staff were excellent and it is good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstiYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    244
    57
    16
    2
See reviews for
84
261
57
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Sakorn Residence. We had a really big room with a big king size bed, a big balcony, a nice bathroom with a big shower and a safe and fridge in our room. The hotel is located just outside the Old Town. It's a ten minute walk to the night market, and only five minutes to some really nice restaurants. The hotel has a small but nice swimmingpool. Perfect to cool down after a hot day in Chiang Mai. For breakfast, you have to choose from 5 set menus instead of a buffet, but they were all nice. They have their own restaurant with nice food for good prices. The staff is really really friendly and helpfull. We arrived in the morning, early check in was not a problem and was free. They helped us with a lot of arrangements and they gave us a lot of information about Chiang Mai and the tours that we wanted to do. Their English was very good. We would definately recommend this hotel!. I read some complaints about the noise in the hall, but it is not too bad!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 508 on the top floor. We had no noise problems and hardly any noise from the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located in a quiet side road close to the Ping River, and within walking distance of "the strip" of good restaurants with live music.

Rooms were very clean, spacious and newly refurbished. Staff pleasant and efficient.

Excellent value for money, with secure off-road complimentary parking, and fast complimentary WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_CNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is great, the rooms are perfectly clean and huge. The location is great, far from the crowds but within a walking distance from the city.
I forgot my wallet in the hotel and the staff found it and shipped it to my hotel in Bangkok. When I received the wallet, the contents were all there, untouched.
Excellent staff, I can´t thank them enough for what they did.
The staff is excellent, always helpful and super kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chango O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

No, this is not a five-star hotel . . . but who needs stars when one has a modern, meticulously clean, comfortable and practical room . . . with a choice of hearty breakfasts, a small pool, and an absolutely lovely staff eager to please? We left our luggage at the hotel while on an excursion elsewhere for two days; when we returned, the bags had already been transferred to our new room. Such thoughtfulness is rare at a hotel. The location, near the river in a quiet residential neighborhood, is charming. We often walked to the Night Bazaar, but longer jaunts required a tuk-tuk. What would I suggest? Some tea and coffee sachets to go with the coffee maker in the room and extra pillows . . . but I am carping. Our six days at Sakorn were terrific.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We.had 6 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment this was very clean the beds huge and comfortable, the lounge chairs not so comfortable and while the kitchen had crockery it had no cutlery or bottle or can openers and had to get this from reception each time as they only had 1. The staff were very helpful at reception. The break fasts were very dull but the coffe shop did great coffee and the curry house next door served great food. Sakorn was handy to the river and the restaurants there. Transport is so reasonable nothing was too far away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Sakorn Residence is one of the hidden gems of Chiang Mai. Tho the hotel itself it not flashy to look at, it offers everything that you could wish for from a mid-range hotel, and it is all done well. The rooms are large and spotless, with big, comfortable beds. All the rooms have a balcony, which I enjoyed, especially in the evening. The free breakfast is chosen from a number of choices on a static menu, and after my 13 day stay I began to wish there was a bit more variety, but everything was very well prepared. The staff were also open to special requests, like mixing and matching various elements from two different breakfasts, extra toast, etc. The staff were as friendly and helpful as they were on my first visit. This hotel is also bargain priced, which made staying here all the more enjoyable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and when in Chiang Mai, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a hotel at the front of the hotel, overlooking the pool, which I found much nicer then the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosBound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 386 in Chiang Mai
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#66 of 386 in Chiang Mai
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,313 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#17 of 386 in Chiang Mai
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#39 of 386 in Chiang Mai
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Property: Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing