We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel near Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Ranked #42 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Targoviste, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Hotel near Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good, small hotel situated outside the river square of Chiang Mai but near the night market ( 10 mintes walking). Near the hotel are also a lot of restaurants and disco's Helpful staff, but not so good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaNlDeRxEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    234
    56
    15
    1
See reviews for
80
252
57
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I arrived in Chiang mai at 4 am the day of our check in having caught a much earlier bus than we had planned to, the official receptionist was unsurprisingly not on duty but the night guy sorted out a room for us and took us up, next morning the staff at the breakfast station made up a tray for me to take up to my still sleeping husband and the receptionist caught me on the way past and she apologised for the inconvenience but we needed to change rooms as the room we had bought for the night on arrival was a higher price than what we had booked - we had expected this anyway but I was impressed when she brought the key to the door of our room and told us our new room was ready and we could move whenever we wanted, later that day we used the pool which was a good size and the gym which had 4 or 5 cardio machines although sadly no weights. The breakfast we had was very tasty, tea or coffee, fresh juice, cake and fresh fruit were all brought out and then there was a choice between full fry up (Thai style), eggs and toast (scrambled or fried), cereal, and the usual breakfast things.
Sakorn residence is situated about 10-15 mins walk from the centre of chaing mai, hotel provides map of chaing mai and will chase travel for day trips etc if running late- also for 3 out of 4 of our excursions we were the last pick up and the first drop off which was nice.
Hotel is near enough to let you fully involve yourself in all chaing mai has to offer but also far enough away that the noise of a busy town won't keep you awake. Big thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ransome14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sakorn Residence is a small hotel across the river in Chiang Mai. It is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Chiang Mai, but within walking distance of the famous night bazaar. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. There is a swimming pool, a fitness room and private parking space. Perfect breakfast and the only downside is the noisyness of the building itself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico_Jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

As a family of 6 this was a great option for our trip to chaing Mai. We spent 5 nights and everything was a positive. Staff were helpful and accommodating, rooms clean and well serviced, and it is on the fringe of the old city being 100 baht in a tuk tuk (without haggling) to the thapea gate. We also found the restaurants on the river, 5 mins walk, to be a highlight of our trip

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had five nights in this little gem of a hotel. After a week in busy Bangkok, the location of Sakorn Residence just outside the city centre was a glorious respite. The room was clean, comfortable and had a little balcony for catching the cool evening breeze and drying swimmers. A short walk to lots of lovely restaurants and cafes on the river, and a slightly longer walk to the night markets. The staff, especially Fon, were incredibly warm and helpful. They had tons of local knowledge, organised day trips for us (don't miss Flight of the Gibbon and BaanChang Elephant Park!), and held on to our luggage on checkout day. Breakfast in the poolside pavilion was lovely and, if you need a really good coffee, there is a good coffee shop on the grounds. Very reasonable prices. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

As a couple we travelled around Thailand for 3 weeks in June 2012 but decided on 3/4star properties as they were so cheap we paid about £20-25 per night. Chiang Mai was our second stop and we stayed for 4 nights in Sakorn Residence. It is a bit of a walk to the main centre of Chiang Mai but we didn't mind that. I read a review before I went about needing a torch however I didn't use the one I took. There are a few bars quite close that do live music on a night which was good (couldnt be heard at the hotel).

Room was nice, comfy bed, clean and suited our needs. Friendly staff. Pool area was quiet (don't think anyone else used it whilst we were there).

Free wifi included as well as breakfast which was nice. We also ate in the restaurant one lunchtime and that was lovely.

All in all a good stay (out of peak season) and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyDw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

6 wonderfull nights in Chiang Mai in Sakorn residens ended. the staff is always smiling and helpfull - recomended! good value for money. feels like home. very good restaurants just 5 minute walk from the hotel. safe and quite environment - you'll not be disappointed

Room Tip: delux room are huge - no reason to take it if only 2 people are checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#44 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.0 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#49 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#12 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Property: Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing