We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SK House 2
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Vista Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Roseate Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sumit Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Lamchang House(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Mali's Room(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Bua Raya Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveler rating
176
165
64
26
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
165
64
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfan roomold citysun deckelephant sanctuaryswimming poolnice poollaundry serviceper nightnice guesthousebars and restaurantscooking classroom was largestayed here for nightstuk tuktoursbaht
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 456 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel is very clean and well presented with a perfect location inside the old city on a quiet street with hardly any traffic making it very peaceful. The staff are very attentive and extremely friendly and always welcomed you with big smiles, they knew our names from day 1. We booked our tours through Nick who was very helpful and spoke perfect English.

We would also highly recommend booking the jungle trek through the hotel, they operate their own trek with their own guide. Our guide ' Dear' was absolutely brilliant he guided us through the jungle expertly and had us trying all sorts of leaves, berries and remedies he found in the jungle. At the end of the days we would sit around the fire and he would cook up a feast of Thai food. If you can, do the 3 day tour as this gives the full jungle experience. Our trek was so good due to a really good group of people and a brilliant guide, we didn't see any other tourists on the whole trek.

Due to the hotels location towards the north gate, the local amenities were considerably cheaper that staying in the busy ' tourist' area near the Night Bazaar (though this is only a ten min walk). Massages can be found for 140 baht (over 200 elsewhere) and manicures for just 150 baht.

The hotel offered everything we required and helped us with whatever we needed. We fell in love with Chaing Mai and that was partly due to our stay at SK House 2 and we are already planning our return!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank benandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have stayed in this place many times and will keep coming back. Once you get to know the staff, they become like a family away from home. They will do anything to help you, and make the guest house feel like a home away from home.

The food is fantastic, the bar is great and the rooms are spacious, clean.The swimming pool is more than spacious enough for a swim, and the sun roof is very relaxing and peaceful (ALL THIS for 400Baht!!)

I would never even consider staying elsewhere any time I am in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesKahan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked through Agoda and had 2 rooms for about 900 baht each per night for 7 nights.The rooms were very basic and were only serviced every other day. This meant that you only got drinking water every other day as well. The bathroom was fairly large, however the shower curtain was too short and the drains run slow so the room got soaked when the shower was used. No matter what, the towels all smelled musty, even when we supposedly got new, clean ones. The good points of the hotel included the fact that it was quiet, it had a pool, the good selection of tv channels, and the central location. The bad points included nowhere to sit around the pool, not much streetscape, wifi only in the restaurant, staff asking for tips all the time, and pretty mediocre food at the restaurant. If you're only looking for a place to sleep for a few nights, this place is fine. But it was no 'home away from home' for us. For the price there are other guest houses (without pool) that probably give better value and a more pleasant experience. In terms of guest houses in Asia, this is in the middle of the pack.

Room Tip: No elevator, so the higher you go, the further you haul your belongings.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

With my girlfriend we found SK house on internet with lots of good reviews. We came there from Bangkok where we get scamed a bit,nervous from Kosan road presure...in SK house 2 our holidays finally began. They picked us up from train station and from our first step in hotel we felt relieved, we got very nice, comfortable, clean and big room with big bed,nice furniture. With nice stuff, especially Jun&Nick we organised our stay in Chang Mai very quickly, it was really good,trekking was great, but one day cooking class with "The best Thai cooking school" was something special and authentic, really recomend! Stuff helped us if needed with lots of advices not just to sell their trips, but also for your own discovering beautiful and original Thai city. Thank you SK house 2,you were our best stay in Thailand.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lukacad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Front desk staff women not very nice. Pretty rude! Tour and travel people very helpful. If you stay here price is alright for what you get. Make sure you bring your own towels there's smell like pee. Towels and bedding mildewed. No wifi in rooms only in dinning area not very strong. Hot water is not hot try room temperature. Overall hotel is clean. But you really need to bring your own towels!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ammcginnis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews