We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening's entertainment”

Kawila Boxing Stadium
Ranked #169 of 241 things to do in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Before leaving Thailand, make sure to take in a muay Thai (Thai kick boxing) match. Kawila Boxing Stadium is a great place to see such a show and the venue is open to people of all ages.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

I attended an event here (Team USA v Team Thailand) in Jan 2017 after picking up a flyer in town. The quality of fights was first class and the ticket was reasonably priced, though refreshments (ie. beer) was priced well over the odds. My advice... don't bet with the locals. They know what they are doing. You don't.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Chris_Saunders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

8 - 12 of 39 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2017

I made the mistake of taking 3 friends there to watch what was advertised as Amateur Muay Thai fights. I went here 5 years ago and the quality of fighter, at amateur level was completely different to this. But firstly a little bit about the stadium. It generally has dirty, dark appearance, the ring is surrounded by tacky "lady bars" and their customers......this was compounded by children been employed to sell flowers and wrist ties to visitors to the ring area amongest this unsettling, unpleasant environment.

Of the cards/fights themselves, 4 of the pairs consisted of fighters who really did not look ready to have a school yard fight, let alone fight in a competitive arena. They clumbsley chased each other round the ring and generally looked very inexperienced. Main card was very good, but it did not put for a lost two hours of my life watching the fights that it was sandwiched into the middle of, various mismatches such as a South American stand up boxer pummeling a Thai fighter nearly a foot shorter than him and probably a good 15-20kg lighter. Absolute rubbish.

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

Having read all the reviews about the boxing in Chiang Mai, we really didn't expect much. Turns out it was far more entertaining than we expected. That being said the fighting isn't all that good, particularly the early bouts, but the experience and skill of the fighters improved as you moved through the night. The bill featured young fighters, some female contestants, a battle royal of blindfolded fighters (definitely staged but funny never the less) There isn't a bad seat in the house but we paid hardly anything more for a VIP seat. The waitresses will bring cold beers right to your seat. Beers were not more expensive at the stadium than they were anywhere else in Chiang Mai. If you are a serious kick boxing fan, then this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for something different to do one evening, are sick of the markets and simply want to enjoy a beer and be entertained, then I would recommend a visit.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank VancouverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017

This was an Ok experience. Most of the fighters were teenagers. No one over 22 or 23. It was still some degree of fun, until we watched the main event turn into a betting scam. The last bout was a between a champion and a contender. The contender completely dominated the first round without a doubt. In the second round I noticed multiple locals betting on the champion who was at the time losing. In the third round, the contender who had been dominating all along for some reason ran out of steam, then decided to fall to the ground without even been given a blow and the game was over. It was a poor conclusion to the evening.

Date of experience: January 2017
3  Thank S0by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2016

We were told this is where locals liked to go and watch fights in Chiang Mai. We bought tickets for 400 bhats the morning of and were told we will get reserved seats closer to ring side if we buy early. The ticket said fights start at 9PM. It started at 10PM. Having now seen the ring, it really doesn't matter where you sit. There's 3 rows total including VIP. You can basically see the sweat fly off of them every time they get hit no matter where you sit. There were seven fights the night I went. 6 ended with "KO"s. It felt like at least half of those fights were obviously either staged or thrown, so we felt like it was kind of a waste of money since we expected a real fight. Also in between, the coaches and some fighters come around pressuring you for donations and you're told to order drinks as soon as you sit down. Also, the crowd were all foreigners, so not sure how much of a local's hang out. All in all if you're expecting real fights, try another stadium...or Bangkok.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank youlovelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawila Boxing Stadium also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Kawila Boxing Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing