We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The California
Ranked #202 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel was nice, clean, the location was prime and the staff was fantastic.They were so helpful in helping us decide of attractions to do. Omg the owner was hilarious. He had us rolling our entire stay. He also went above and beyond our expectations when he took the day off and took us on a motorbike tour of Inthanon national park.

Room Tip: ask for the room with a view of Wat Chedi Luang Worawihan temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

David the owner was a fantastic man very helpful,funny and easy going, great location sunday night markets right out the front bar prices were good food great . i stayed here with my girlfriend for 4 nights and had no problems what so ever, clean comfortable rooms with good prices,walking distances for many attractions ,bars and restaurants with live music.i will definitely return to chaing mai and when i do i will stay here again, if you are feeling brave try the cobra and scorpion whiskey it definitely packs some sting.highly recommend this place,thanks again david
cheers Dirk

Room Tip: top floor with own toilet and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diggler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stopped here for drinks because everything else on Ratchadamnoen was closed (a Monday night, I believe). So it was the only place open.
Prices on drinks were fine. They have free wifi (spotty - I couldn't get it to work).
The guy working the bar was a little strange. Uncomfortable.
But, that said, drinks were cheap, and it was the only place open. So we had our drinks and headed home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent location in the old quarter of Chiang Mai, the sunday market is right out the front. The owner is a lovely french man who is very helpful for booking tours etc. Breakfast is included and the rooms are clean and quiet with clean shared bathrooms, air con and flat screen tvs and was cheap to stay at. I would definately recommend this place! Food is great as well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jacquihawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This guesthouse was a pleasant surprise - recently under new ownership and there were some nice upgrades. For 350 baht, I stayed in a smaller but CLEAN room with air-con and a flat screen wall-mounted tv. The bed was much more comfortable compared to a few other guesthouses in the area. The room was quiet even though it faced a busy street. The only down side was the shared bathrooms but the owner mentioned changing things around in the future to incorporate private bathrooms in the room. Laundry was a bargain and the building felt very secure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toecracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelshadDavid, Owner at Hotel The California, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly working to improve the hotel, and hope you'll have a chance to visit us again one of these days. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place is great if you are stopping over for a night or two. I've been back twice as the location is good, the owner is genuinely nice, and the rooms are clean. Hard to beat the price in that location. It's also fun on Sundays to see the sunday night market happen outside your window! Even with that commotion the rooms are nice and quiet.

Room Tip: The largest room with the large facing windows is nice to have and surprisingly quiet even with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a nice, clean place. Downtown. Especially at the Wat-site, the rooms are very silent.
Good food too.
And at great price.
Definately a go-again-place !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Estia Chiang Mai Hotel
Estia Chiang Mai Hotel
#119 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pat's Klangviang
Pat's Klangviang
#122 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Bear's Home
Little Bear's Home
#100 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
Uncle Bear's Home
Uncle Bear's Home
#232 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.6 mi away
The A-RAK Bed, Bar & Hostel
The A-RAK Bed, Bar & Hostel
#112 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The California

Property: Hotel The California
Address: 141/8 Ratchadamnoen Road | T. Prasing A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Le Bateau Ivre)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The California 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Hotel the California (Such a lovely place) I am a fun-loving ex-pat living out my retirement in the best city in the world. I am excited to show you all that this city has to offer! We have completely new remodeled hotel All our rooms are accommodated with: - Cozy queen size bed. - New large Private bathroom. - Free Cell phone and local SIM card to use during your stay in the hotel (with on 1000B deposit) - Complimentary Coffee and Tea maker in all rooms - Air-condition - Satellite LCD TV - Complimentary WiFi - Private, new and clean bathroom - Large refrigerator - Two complimentary water bottles - Very friendly staff. The hotel description: - Great, famous and only Chines restaurant in old City at the ground floor. - Famous cool bar at the ground floor. - Tour and Travel agency at the ground floor. - Motorbike and bicycle rent at the ground floor. Location: - Great location in the center of the old city and in center of many things. - Next to very old and very famous Chedi Luang temple. - Much nightlife activates just 1 to 10 minutes walking distance. - Vis-a-vis from hotel [U Chiang Mai] - Close to many famous sights. - Excellent transportation. - Situated in the heart of the Sunday Market (the waking street). - Located in the center of many restaurants, cafes, and shopping areas. - 6 minutes walk to Tha Pae Gate or Chiang Mai Gate. - 15 minutes walk to Night Bazaar. - 8 minutes walk to Saturday Market. We have Travel and Tour Agency in the house and we can get u any tour and any ticket with special discounts to our house-guest also we will give you great and free advice and where to go and what to see and how to get there any time. This is some information it could be helpful to u: There is Tuk-Tuk or Taxi rate for about 120B ( about 04 US $ ) from the Airport, the Train Station and the Bus station to our Guest House [downtown] and vice versa. This is our address in English and in Thai, u can printed out and give it to the driver and just tell the driver to take u to [ U Chiang Mai Hotel ] and we r just cross the street. u can't miss us. I hoped this information are helpful to u all. Hotel The California 141/8 Ratchadamnoen Road T.Prasing A.Muang Chiang Mai 50200 เกสท์เฮ้าส์ เลอ บา โต้ อีพ 141/8 ถนนราชดำเนิน ตำบลพระสิงห์ อำเภอเมือง จังหวัดเชียงใหม่ If u have any other issues or concerns please don't Heisted to ask. i am looking forward to see u all. Best regards David ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing