We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, great location, friendly helpful owner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel The California
Ranked #339 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent location in the old quarter of Chiang Mai, the sunday market is right out the front. The owner is a lovely french man who is very helpful for booking tours etc. Breakfast is included and the rooms are clean and quiet with clean shared bathrooms, air con and flat screen tvs and was cheap to stay at. I would definately recommend this place! Food is great as well.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank jacquihawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 42 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

This guesthouse was a pleasant surprise - recently under new ownership and there were some nice upgrades. For 350 baht, I stayed in a smaller but CLEAN room with air-con and a flat screen wall-mounted tv. The bed was much more comfortable compared to a few other guesthouses in the area. The room was quiet even though it faced a busy street. The only down side was the shared bathrooms but the owner mentioned changing things around in the future to incorporate private bathrooms in the room. Laundry was a bargain and the building felt very secure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toecracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelshadDavid, Owner at Hotel The California, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

So happy you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly working to improve the hotel, and hope you'll have a chance to visit us again one of these days. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place is great if you are stopping over for a night or two. I've been back twice as the location is good, the owner is genuinely nice, and the rooms are clean. Hard to beat the price in that location. It's also fun on Sundays to see the sunday night market happen outside your window! Even with that commotion the rooms are nice and quiet.

Room Tip: The largest room with the large facing windows is nice to have and surprisingly quiet even with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a nice, clean place. Downtown. Especially at the Wat-site, the rooms are very silent.
Good food too.
And at great price.
Definately a go-again-place !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

DO NOT STAY AT LE BATEAU IVRE!!!

Worst experience ever at Le Bateu Ivre. Paid more for wi-fi (was not true). Then the owner blamed me for internet not working & yelled at me without letting me speak. When I got angry back, he threatened to call immigration and make problem for me. I asked for discount because wi-fi did not work and I needed wi-fi for work... he refused and kept yelling at me and saying it was my problem not his. I went to 5 other guesthouses -checked my internet at them all and had no problem... if the problem was with my computer, then why did I only have a problem at his guesthouse and not anywhere else.

I've been traveling for 5mo and have never had a problem like this... it literally ended with a screaming match with the owner. I am one of the sweetest people you'll ever meet; this was just ridiculous. To top it all off, he had taken my passport from me the night before (never had a guesthouse do that) and he refused to even let me see it before I paid the full amount, I refused to give him any money until I had a receipt and saw my passport and he aggressively ripped my money from my hand.

Dmitri-the owner of Le Bateau Ivre is a jerk... and treats his customers as though they are jerks... perhaps why I did not see any sign of any other guests. I do not want anyone else to experience this, so just avoid the place (and Dmitri) like the plague.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kimberry37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelshadDavid, Owner at Hotel The California, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dmitri no longer owns or runs this hotel and the wifi is free and fast. Nonetheless, I apologize for your experience, and hope that, if you're ever back in the area, you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My friend and i stayed at Le Bateau for 3 days we were in Chiang Mai and we absolutely loved the place! The room was spacious, the service was excellent and it was in a great location in one of the main roads in the old city, walking distance from cafes and travel agencies ... it even has a massage shop right next to it! At the back area also is Wat Chedi Luang, where you can experience the daily Monk Chats - Le Bateau is really such a beautiful place right smack in the middle of everything. The staff was friendly and very nice - you can chat with them and ask for tips on what to do during your stay. The only thing is that the bathrooms are shared - but was not an issue for us since it's clean and well-maintained. For the 500 Baht we paid per night, it was worth the money. Will definitely book here again when I go back to Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGA_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Good Things:
1. Price, paid 350 bht for a double bed in a good size room.
Had to share a bathroom, but not a problem. There were two bathrooms and three rooms on the floor. If you want to pay a bit more (500bht) I think you can get an ensuite.
2. Laid back and nice atmosphere.
3. Amazing food in the restaurant. Not only did they serve bacon ( a rarity in a lot of SE Asia) but also prosciutto.
4. On the road of the Sunday night market !
5. Staff was very courteous. Not very talkative (except for the slightly odd owner), but very helpful. The owner speaks French which obviously has it's uses.
6. In a more trendy (ie yuppie area). Good place to find information on proper yoga and massage courses. Also decent area of restaurants.
7. It's right by the Wat Chedi Luang ! (And a bunch of other beautiful temples)

Slight Annoyances:
1. Noise. If you face the street you'll be treated to music from the U Chiang Mai. The actual volume and type of music isn't bad, just that there is a subwoofer. You can get rooms that face onto a side street or the temple. You'd probably get talking from the monks, but it wouldn't be as bad as the street.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibbyBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
931 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,074 reviews
1.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#164 of 392 in Chiang Mai
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The California

Address: 141/8 Ratchadamnoen Road | T. Prasing A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Le Bateau Ivre)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $22 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The California 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Hotel the California (Such a lovely place) I am a fun-loving ex-pat living out my retirement in the best city in the world. I am excited to show you all that this city has to offer! We have completely new remodeled hotel All our rooms are accommodated with: - Cozy queen size bed. - New large Private bathroom. - Free Cell phone and local SIM card to use during your stay in the hotel (with on 1000B deposit) - Complimentary Coffee and Tea maker in all rooms - Air-condition - Satellite LCD TV - Complimentary WiFi - Private, new and clean bathroom - Large refrigerator - Two complimentary water bottles - Very friendly staff. The hotel description: - Great, famous and only Chines restaurant in old City at the ground floor. - Famous cool bar at the ground floor. - Tour and Travel agency at the ground floor. - Motorbike and bicycle rent at the ground floor. Location: - Great location in the center of the old city and in center of many things. - Next to very old and very famous Chedi Luang temple. - Much nightlife activates just 1 to 10 minutes walking distance. - Vis-a-vis from hotel [U Chiang Mai] - Close to many famous sights. - Excellent transportation. - Situated in the heart of the Sunday Market (the waking street). - Located in the center of many restaurants, cafes, and shopping areas. - 6 minutes walk to Tha Pae Gate or Chiang Mai Gate. - 15 minutes walk to Night Bazaar. - 8 minutes walk to Saturday Market. We have Travel and Tour Agency in the house and we can get u any tour and any ticket with special discounts to our house-guest also we will give you great and free advice and where to go and what to see and how to get there any time. This is some information it could be helpful to u: There is Tuk-Tuk or Taxi rate for about 120B ( about 04 US $ ) from the Airport, the Train Station and the Bus station to our Guest House [downtown] and vice versa. This is our address in English and in Thai, u can printed out and give it to the driver and just tell the driver to take u to [ U Chiang Mai Hotel ] and we r just cross the street. u can't miss us. I hoped this information are helpful to u all. Hotel The California 141/8 Ratchadamnoen Road T.Prasing A.Muang Chiang Mai 50200 เกสท์เฮ้าส์ เลอ บา โต้ อีพ 141/8 ถนนราชดำเนิน ตำบลพระสิงห์ อำเภอเมือง จังหวัดเชียงใหม่ If u have any other issues or concerns please don't Heisted to ask. i am looking forward to see u all. Best regards David ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing