We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
14
16
7
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
14
16
7
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 44 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a nice, clean place. Downtown. Especially at the Wat-site, the rooms are very silent.
Good food too.
And at great price.
Definately a go-again-place !

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

DO NOT STAY AT LE BATEAU IVRE!!!

Worst experience ever at Le Bateu Ivre. Paid more for wi-fi (was not true). Then the owner blamed me for internet not working & yelled at me without letting me speak. When I got angry back, he threatened to call immigration and make problem for me. I asked for discount because wi-fi did not work and I needed wi-fi for work... he refused and kept yelling at me and saying it was my problem not his. I went to 5 other guesthouses -checked my internet at them all and had no problem... if the problem was with my computer, then why did I only have a problem at his guesthouse and not anywhere else.

I've been traveling for 5mo and have never had a problem like this... it literally ended with a screaming match with the owner. I am one of the sweetest people you'll ever meet; this was just ridiculous. To top it all off, he had taken my passport from me the night before (never had a guesthouse do that) and he refused to even let me see it before I paid the full amount, I refused to give him any money until I had a receipt and saw my passport and he aggressively ripped my money from my hand.

Dmitri-the owner of Le Bateau Ivre is a jerk... and treats his customers as though they are jerks... perhaps why I did not see any sign of any other guests. I do not want anyone else to experience this, so just avoid the place (and Dmitri) like the plague.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kimberry37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelshadDavid, Owner at Hotel The California, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dmitri no longer owns or runs this hotel and the wifi is free and fast. Nonetheless, I apologize for your experience, and hope that, if you're ever back in the area, you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Good Things:
1. Price, paid 350 bht for a double bed in a good size room.
Had to share a bathroom, but not a problem. There were two bathrooms and three rooms on the floor. If you want to pay a bit more (500bht) I think you can get an ensuite.
2. Laid back and nice atmosphere.
3. Amazing food in the restaurant. Not only did they serve bacon ( a rarity in a lot of SE Asia) but also prosciutto.
4. On the road of the Sunday night market !
5. Staff was very courteous. Not very talkative (except for the slightly odd owner), but very helpful. The owner speaks French which obviously has it's uses.
6. In a more trendy (ie yuppie area). Good place to find information on proper yoga and massage courses. Also decent area of restaurants.
7. It's right by the Wat Chedi Luang ! (And a bunch of other beautiful temples)

Slight Annoyances:
1. Noise. If you face the street you'll be treated to music from the U Chiang Mai. The actual volume and type of music isn't bad, just that there is a subwoofer. You can get rooms that face onto a side street or the temple. You'd probably get talking from the monks, but it wouldn't be as bad as the street.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibbyBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews