We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Empire Residence Nimman
Ranked #171 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Overall it's clean and nice. Not like 5 stars hotel but quiet and has its own way. Wifi is free. Breakfast is good. Stayed in deluxe room which is more like studio room. Bed is good. Bathroom is roomy. But without bathtub and not looking for one. Next to Tesco and many shops and restaurants nearby (walking distance)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose_abd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
7
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ok location. Staff are typical of a Thai hotel I.e no initiative, could not be bothered to give good service. Have to ask for everything/anything. Very noisy from nearby bars, traffic, aircraft. Staff don't seem to even know what each room facilities entail. Check I as a couple and get one key card per room ,have to pay B300 deposit for an extra key. Hello. I' m sure there are a lot better options.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnandelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed there for a night and two. Tecso express is next to hotel building. Lots of coffee shop and little restaurant. Parking free. Room condition is old but clean. With hair dryer and clean towels. Coffee and tea making facility. Room comes with breakfast, for THB 1500 it's a good deal. Easy location from the express way. Will return and stay agin for working trip.

Room Tip: Pick upper floor rooms. Facing the inside not the main road as there are few pubs along the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookeatsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overall it was underwhelming The Rooms look nothing like the Pictures Online, The room was not warm or inviting, it had run down furniture and a bit dated. The Internet, forget it! The internet was the worst I have ever experienced at a hotel in Thailand, the Wifi was always connected but could only connect to web pages and email 10% of the time, and even then it was slow. If you need internet for Business, this is not a hotel for you. The Fitness Room was simple but nice. The Staff Was Friendly, even if the house keeping staff talks loudly at 8am in the hallways on their radio's. Being woken up by that does not make for an ideal sleep. The location is the best thing about this hotel, everything you need is in front of your door step, if you want to stay away from the tourist area of course.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed at The Empire with adult family members for about 2 months (May/June '13). It is very new with a fast elevator, decent wifi and modern washrooms. They do charge for wifi, water and electricity but this par for the course up here and quite fair, bearing in mind the very reasonable rates overall. The beds are comfy, TV quality good and the staff are unfailingly polite, helpful and pleasant. The only eating facility seems be be a separately owned resto off the lobby. They serve a buffet breakfast from 6.30 until 10'ish. The quality and choice are average, verging on poor. It is an open style resto, no a/c, and blackflies abound, swarming over diners and the food. Not good. It seems out of sync with the hotel. Lots of decent resto's a few minutes walk on Nimman ( I highly recommend "Smoothy Blues" at corner of soi 6 and Nimman, for brekky). Empire has no pool but a decent gym ( treadmills, universal, weights, eliptical). Underground garage with 24/7 security. There is another hotel next door that allows non-residents to use pool and facilities for about 150 baht/day. We spent long time crunching numbers and for long stay, this is the best hotel, lack of pool considered. Great location, reliable and clean. The north side (facing soi 6 is noisy at nite-sometimes all nite). I recommend the south side for quiet.

Room Tip: South side quieter. Cannot delete the " poor" entry opposite swimming pool- there is no p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I liked the location of this hotel a lot, a 15 meter walk to Nimman, where there are a lot of little restaurants, coffee shops and bars. It was however very noisy. My room was beside the road and there were cars driving by with heavy music on all hours of the night, on top of that the soundproofing towards the hallway is very light as well. The furnishings in my room were fine, quite modern and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger_Mainfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

With the best location in Chiang Mai, this hotel must be one of the best. I was so suprise when I reach the room. It's very big, clean and beautiful but so cheap. There are lots of nice restaurants, pubs, shops and ect. around the hotel. I really love this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mailklang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Yantarasiri Resort
Yantarasiri Resort
#174 of 381 in Chiang Mai
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hug Nimman
Hug Nimman
#124 of 381 in Chiang Mai
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Craft Nimman
The Craft Nimman
#115 of 381 in Chiang Mai
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sanae Hotel
Sanae Hotel
#84 of 381 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayflower Grande Hotel
Mayflower Grande Hotel
#140 of 381 in Chiang Mai
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Residence Nimman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Residence Nimman

Property: The Empire Residence Nimman
Address: 22/3 Nimmanhemin Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Empire Residence Nimman 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Residence Nimman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Residence Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing