We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware when booking, may become victim of fraud”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oriental Garden Chiang Mai
Ranked #397 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Be aware when booking, may become victim of fraud”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here in 2001 and booked again knowing how close to the night market it is. Upon arrival, we were told we booked the Oriental House, not the Garden Guesthouse/Restaurant, as the owner has 2 hotels, and as in the above name, has combined them to one under false pretentions. I have attached the photos of his other hotel (Oriental House) and address so if booking online, please look at address before paying so you can see by the address which you were booked into if you choose to book, as the Oriental house has shared baths, was filthy, dirty sheets, etc. The photos in the website are of the Garden House. I had booked through Agoda and was given a refund upon complaint and wish to spare any others of this problem.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank katiekato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
6
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have never written a bad review but this is nessacary. We booked through booking.com to stay at this guesthouse for 2 nights when we arrived they looked confused and said the computer was broken and they did not know we were coming and the room wasn't ready (this was after 3pm) so we went and got lunch and came back. The room was not clean an old dirty blanket on the bed with no top sheet, Mosquitos and other bugs everywhere the toilet was discusting the toilet was broken and overflowed with faeces on the floor. We asked to get the toilet fixed and cleaned or to change room the man at reception again looked confused and said no other rooms available so we left and found a gorgeous guesthouse 100 metres up the road! Take my advice don't stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Set in a small cute, garden on the Loi Khro road, very close to the night bazar and the bustling, touristy area of Chiang Mai, the rooms are quiet as they are set in the back of the garden cum restaurant. the plants are lovely and there are interesting artefacts, creating a nice ambience. The rooms are now showing their age and I faced some plumbing problems, but despite that it was worth it. The staff was very helpful and cheerful, specially Mr Ya ku. The restaurant has a well large range of dishes to choose from and is also very reasonably priced. The food quality is very good. There is free wi fi in the rooms and the bath rooms are ensuite. The rooms are marginally cheaper, if you dont use the aircon, but given the humid weather in June/July,it makes sense to pay that little extra. The Loi Khro temple next door is also worth a visit. All amenities like laundry, massage, restaurants, bars, etc are right next door....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazygurpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochristi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The restaurant of Oriental guest house is a place to relax without luxury.
Just minutes away from Le Meridien, this is what Chiang Mai used to be.
A large Chang beer for 85 Baht, a young coconut for 50 baht or a very nice complete fish with lots of vegetables well prepared for 179 baht or a nice beef with black pepper plate for 79 baht and some rice for 15 baht is what you find here, no air condition or fancy service but nice food or drinks at a very fair price.
By the way they have also some guest rooms, laundry service or travel arraignments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 768Kowloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice garden restaurant. Room had enough space and natural light coming in. Good fan kept mosquitoes away when sleeping. AC I didn't even need. Good location.
- My water heater didn't give water warm enough
- Hard mattress

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSanSSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here twice now, it is a good cheap place to stay. Very close to Night Markets, and the entertainment area. Nice food and staff are very obliging, snooker table, just to sit outside have a drink and watch the passing crowd, is a good way to relax. Have cable TV, Wi-Fi hot water. Will sure stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zappa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Oriental Garden Guest House is a nice place to stay. When you enter the building you have no idea that there is a very nice garden behind it, which actually is an outdoor restaurant. Completely hidden in the back there are several guest houses.

The rooms are basic, but everything you need is there and it is clean. The rooms are cheap and still have cable TV, fridge, and hot water shower.

The location of the guest house is excellent. Many things nearby on foot. The night bazar is just around the corner.

If you are Dutch like me, then you might enjoy the Dutch specials in the restaurant. The Kroketten and frikandellen tasted like home. Of course I tasted their delicious Thai food too. Good value, because the dishes were bigger than I expected.

The service in the restaurant is a bit slow when it is busy, but take your time and relax, you are sitting in a beautiful garden.

I was happy to find out they have free wifi for guests, and it actually worked too!
In the evening I had a drink in their bar and played pool with a few other customers.

Well... what else to say? I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to other travelers looking for budget accommodation in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wealthytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Khum Jao Luang Boutique
Khum Jao Luang Boutique
#304 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#38 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vipa House
Vipa House
#241 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Lanna Hotel
Royal Lanna Hotel
#259 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Lanna Lodge
#495 of 733 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Garden Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Garden Chiang Mai

Property: Oriental Garden Chiang Mai
Address: 69 Loikroh Road | T. Changklan, A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing