We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot, hot, hot”

Royal Park Rajapruek
Ranked #20 of 247 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Ratchaphruek Flower Gardens are a must-see when visiting the Chiang Mai area. The expansive gardens are incredibly picturesque. Bike rentals are available and, for less active travelers, an electric bus is available to take you around.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hot, hot, hot”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were there in the early morning and thoroughly enjoyed some of the pavilions mentioned already by the reviewers here. But the heat was affecting us and we wished there were more trees to cool the place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    216
    75
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Picturesque Floral Park”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a great place to spend a few hours taking in the various gardens and views. The admission is very reasonable and it is only about 10 kilometers from the city of Chiang Mai. We negotiated a fare of 180 baht for two people to ride a tuk-tuk from the city. Once there you can walk around if you want some exercise or take the tram. Bring a good hat for the strong sun on clear days and walking shoes. We found this place to be well worth the trip as it is spacious and does not feel like a tourist trap like so many other attractions in Chiang Mai. We went in mid-February which is towards the tail end of the flower season and I am not sure what the place is like at other times of the year.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank erawan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podimore
Level Contributor
284 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Fantastic morning out”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip out here. We travelled independently by motorbike and the journey was straightforward, especially if you have access to Google maps. The site was large but we managed to walk comfortably round but you could easily use the tram. The highlight was undoubtedly the orchid house - we have seen many orchid gardens and this was the best! The grounds are superbly laid out and the Royal Pavilion is beautiful. The outer areas of the park are slightly less good but in our opinion the orchid area is worth the entrance fee alone. The organic market "mae hia" a few km from the gardens on the way back to chiang mai is brilliant. Some of the best local food we have seen on our travels. Recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A good day out of the city”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The park is huge and there's lots to see. It seemed to be quite busy when we first arrived but it's so big that everyone just seemed to spread out and it never seemed busy after that. We just wandered around although it's also possible to take a hop on-hop off train around the grounds. We found the variety of different gardens interesting and although some of them looked to be a little run down in the main they are well maintained. When we visited there was an orchid show on in addition to all of the orchids on display inside the orchid pavilion - we took a lot of photos. We really enjoyed it as a change from the sights in the city.
There are some food stalls scattered around the park, we ate lunch there and it was OK but they are a little bit on the 'fast food' side of things rather than good street food. I would definitely recommend the local made ice lollies though - we had one coconut and one banana flavour and they were a great way to cool down!
We hired a motorbike to get there and found it easily - go south along the canal road and you will see a sign off to the right (same turning as the night safari I think), it is at the end of this road. The entrance fee is 100 baht per person.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very big and beautiful garden!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We went there in December 2013, the garden is big with different species of flowers! You can spend 3-5 hrs there, if you like to take photos.

If you go there, no need to visit another garden, it is the biggest and the most beautiful one!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank funnyexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Park Rajapruek also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Royal Park Rajapruek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing